We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and excellent location”
Review of Hotel Isis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Isis
Ranked #256 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Hotel Isis is situated in North Amsterdam. Just a five minute walk from the free ferry service, will get you in the heart of the city. The surroundings are quiet and family oriented. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The rooms are clean. I would definitely return to this hotel. I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be close to the heart of the city but appreciates to lodge in a quiet area. Suitable for solo, couple and/or family and groups.

Room Tip: I scored Fitness centre and swimming pool as average since I am not aware that the hotel have these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OMAMO1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 161 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

We mainly choose this hotel for the price.
The location is nord amsterdam, that means that to go to the centre you have to go by ferry.
Quiet area, there is nothing but houses nearby.
Room are clean.
Staff is the farest thing from the "customer service" concept.
Windows do not open, due to lack of maintenance. no hair soap, just body one. towels are for babies, not adult.
Surprise! no room cleaning. the way you leave your room in the morning, is the exact way you will find when back.
The description says "public parking available". It is true. Unfortunately I reported the car glass breaking from a thief during overnight recovery. Then I discovered from the policeman that this is a high dangerous area for parking.
This was not reported in the description. Hope that the staff will remove that "facility".
A lot of money lost thanks to their recommendation. Be aware!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxwashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

After reading numerous reviews about this hotel we gave it a try, considring the price and location in Amsterdam that was a good offer. However the bed wasnt double - twin one, no one told us they have changed this option. As the room was just behind the entrance - we heard noise coming from upstairs when guests were climbing the stairs. The TV option requires a deposit 10eur, no air conditioning, old furniture and wifi was veeery bad... overall we gave 2 stars as we had experience in such quality hotels and it was much more pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katherinem474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was the first hotel as we started our Europe trip, and we were certainly not disappointed. The location, especially, is perfect. It is across the river from the Centraal, and a 5 minutes walk from the docks. It is amazing how the atmosphere becomes so calm and peaceful just 5 minutes away from the ever-busy Dam Street. From the Centraal station, you need to take a 5-minutes ride in a free ferry across to the IJPlein and a 5-minutes walk from there.

The location was nice, with a park in the opposite. There were a couple of eateries and bakeries, and a supermarket around for anything you might need. 10 minutes away from the hotel is a large supermarket. The manager was a cheerful person, and was very helpful with the questions we had.

The room was clean and comfortable, and the bathroom had a nice shower. It was definitely worth the price we paid. Free wifi was a bonus. The only thing to remember is, things close down pretty early in this side of the river, and you may not get anything to eat after 10pm.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d4dpak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Nice clean hotel, basic but everything you need for a short stay. Fridge in room stocked with a few drinks and everything spotless if a little dated. Very good location, five minute walk to free ferry just behind Central Station, perfect away from the busy areas. Keep in mind slightly longer walk if returning to hotel after midnight, but still not to far, maybe 15min walk.

Only complaint was I had requested a double room but we had twin beds.

Overall would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendysteel34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The manager is very nice and helpful. The room, which I have rented, had a bathroom and clean. The only problem is the lack of breakfast in the hotel.
There is a bakery, a small supermarket, and a Turkish restaurant near the hotel, in the same street. Late at nights of the weekend, a lot noise from some people on the street was heard.
The path to the Amsterdam Centraal main station takes about 15 min, including a walk to the IJplein station and then taking the (cost-free) IJplein ferry.
The area, in general, is calm.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vitneskja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Friendly staff, clean quiet rooms and easy access to the free city ferry made this a good value place to stay.
Our only disappointment was that we had to park our car about half a kilometre away in a residential area.

Room Tip: Smokers should ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Joy Hotel Amsterdam
#245 of 338 in Amsterdam
20 reviews
De Pijp
Amstel Riverview
Amstel Riverview
#156 of 338 in Amsterdam
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Floris Hotel
Floris Hotel
#279 of 338 in Amsterdam
114 reviews
I Hotel
#200 of 338 in Amsterdam
4 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#102 of 338 in Amsterdam
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isis

Address: Spreeuwenpark 17, 1021 GS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $78 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Isis 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Isis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing