We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great little restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Phutakun

Thai Phutakun
Reguliersdwarsstraat 11, 1017 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
20 4281887
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 3,335 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

This recommended to us by friends whilst we were travelling in Amsterdam and we weren't disappointed.

It's a tiny little restaurant, crammed full of tables, but that wasn't off putting. Our waiter was attentive & helpful & the overall service was prompt & thoughtful.

The food is delicious & well priced. We had the Thai green and red curries which were both packed full of flavour. They also give you extra chillis if you want to add some extra spice.

I'd definitely recommend if you're looking for a no frills, well priced meal in the middle of Amsterdam.

Helpful?
3 Thank AnnaRH23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    82
    21
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic quality Thai food at a very reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Went here based on trip advisor reviews. The meal was perfect and quite honestly far too cheap for what it was. Fresh tasting perfect quality Thai food. The resturant is very small and there's not much space but don't let that put you off. It feels cosy and homely. The service was excellent.
I will definitely be back if I am ever in Amsterdam.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Z99Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little Thai gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We visited while spending a short weekend in Amsterdam and the food, service, and value for money were all excellent.

We have been to Thailand and very much ejoyed the local cuisine and this restaurant is the closest we have found outside of Thailand to recreate those lovely distinct flavors.

The restaurant is cosy and has a great atmosphere. The kitchen is in full view and you know by the great thai smells, cooking style and menu that you are somewhere
authentic.

Don't miss out and visit this place whether you are a tourist or resident to the city.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank KHyslop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork city
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best Thai meal I've had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

I chose this restaurant as it came recommended by a friend who had lived in Amsterdam for a year. The restaurant is off the beaten tourist track to the point that when we visited it appeared to be only locals and not tourists eating here - that's always a good sign, if the locals like it then it must be a good spot. We weren't let down.

It's a small eatery, we were lucky we got a table as we just showed up around 7 on a Friday night & were shown to a table straight away without a booking. By the time we had our mains brought out the restaurant was packed. Now onto the excellent food!!

We shared a chicken peanut starter, lovely moist chicken and a cracking peanut satay sauce. Then for the main we both had different chicken dishes, one spicy and the other mild. Both were gorgeous, full of flavour and quality ingredients used.

All this food was washed down with a glass of white wine, 2 Heineken and a large bottle of still water. The entire meal came to a staggering €49 which is a total bargain in my opinion, I would expect to pay much more then this back home in other Thai restaurants.

Finally the staff were outstanding, the male server was extremely helpful and suggested different dishes to my wife who isn't a fan of spicy food when she was giving her order. I'd visit again just for the customer service!

In a nutshell - if you enjoy well priced, Asian food served by someone with a smile then look no further when in Amsterdam and you won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
3 Thank PEJACorkcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We came across this restaurant on trip advisor and what a great find it was. It's a small restaurant & doesn't look anything "wow" from the exterior however the food speaks for itself. The service was polite, friendly and quick. Our meals were delicious, really tasty and if we come back to Amsterdam we would without a doubt visit again. If you enjoy thai food, you must visit this place

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank CS_09_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Phutakun also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Thai Phutakun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing