We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Little Place.. Great Food!”
Review of Thai Phutakun

Thai Phutakun
Ranked #73 of 3,900 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Wrexham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Little Place.. Great Food!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The restaurant was a little smaller than I expected but was surprised to find that it wasn't that busy. The food was delicious and reasonably priced... definitely worth a visit. Good service too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jade O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    127
    34
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic little restaurant, great service”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have been here several times and there are two things that make this little Thai restaurant special.

The first is, obviously, the food. It tastes delicious, authentic and fresh. Everything is prepared by two lovely Thai ladies who clearly know their way around the kitchen.

The second great thing is the service. The people who work here are very friendly and are happy to cater to your personal preferences (in terms of spicyness etc). If you eat here, you can be sure you'll be well looked after.

It's only a tiny place, so making a reservation might be wise, but they also have a take-away menu. Prices are reasonable and the location is perfect. I have no trouble recommending this place to anyone who likes good food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Regina_BNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious, reasonably priced”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The food here was very good and I was pleasantly surprised by the prices. I enjoyed a nice change from cooking and eating european food. Not spicy enough for me but I should have asked them to make it spicy. If you want a change from all the stroopwafels and albert heijn munchies, I would definitely make a trip here!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank wanderlust32793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

True Thai food, true Thai hospitality, true Thai price (for Amsterdam that is ;-)
Very central location, great starting point for a nights out.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Hyperhuub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Authentic and full of flavour”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

On a family weekend in Amsterdam we fancied a bit of spice and heat. We we were not disappointed when we booked an evening meal at Thai Phutakun. Typically enchanting Thai service, good atmosphere and lovely food. Thai restaurants often struggle with wines, and Thai P only had one choice for one Red, White and Rose, but both the Red and the White French wines complemented the dishes beautifully. The traditional Thai green and red curries were very hot, but the Beef and fired garlic was aromatic and delicious, as was the prawn and fried garlic dish. Highly recommended.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ComptonScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Phutakun also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Thai Phutakun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing