We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view 90 minutes for lunch not acceptable”
Review of Canvas

Canvas
Ranked #1,738 of 3,955 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great view 90 minutes for lunch not acceptable”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

So yeah sure the view of the city is fairly amazing and the open deck is wonderful on a sunny day but if you are thinking of grabbing a quick bite to eat/drink forget about it.

We went for lunch today and to get some drinks and some burgers it took almost 90 minutes and the place wasn't even that busy. There were a lot of people sitting there but barely any orders besides some cool drinks.

When the burgers finally arrived I was not impressed, the bun was stale and I would have had a better burger patty at McDonalds... very unimpressed considering how long we had to wait. The only redeeming factor is the fries were crunchy...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    75
    37
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Nederland
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Situated on top of the new Volkshotel, Canvas is one of the few places in Amsterdam with a great view over the city. The restaurant has good food and is reasonably priced. It's mostly visited by locals. Because it's recently renovated the restaurant is not in all the tourist guides. But I think this will just be a matter of time.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Chilling out with a nice view”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I visited the place with colleagues and I was a bit puzzled by the entrance, as I never thought there could be any sort of bar or restaurant in there. When the elevator doors open you find yourself in a quite groovy place with groovy people. We sat on the terrace, where the view is just amazing from the 7th floor. The food was fairly nice and did not take too long compared to the Dutch average. The music in the backgroud was quite weird, sort of Folk, but bearable and not too loud! Pity it's shutting down to leave place to a hotel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francy_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hipster place but what a view”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My sister and I often go here when I visit her in Amsterdam. It is a laid back bar/cafe. We've never been at night, but it seems like a good place to go for a night of dancing.

The outside seating has nice views over Amsterdam. The food is ok, although the apple pie is very sweet. They have heaps of different drinks, although I always miss that they don't have soy milk for your coffee. It seems like a soy milk type of place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MEKragt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nice venue”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

My wife, daughter and I ate here a couple of times when in Amsterdam. The food was a cut above most of the local fayre and reasonably priced. The 7th floor location gives a great view I'm told but we couldn't see it through the mist not that this detracted from our meals. Limited choice of wine but that is only a minor quibble. If we're back in Amsterdam we will eat here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Duthac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canvas also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Canvas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing