We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super trendy place, need a reservation, but worth it!”

Izakaya Asian Kitchen & Bar
Ranked #140 of 3,900 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super trendy place, need a reservation, but worth it!”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Was staying in the Sir Albert Hotel, of which this restaurant is a part, so naturally we had to try it out. The food is absolutely fantastic, especially if you like Japanese/fusion. I highly recommend the wagyu/foie gras dumplings, any of the maki rolls (especially the unagi and honeycomb roll and the soft shell crab roll), and the scallop and spicy jumbo shrimp. All of them were incredible, and lead us to coming back a second night in a row. Service is generally excellent, but can be a bit slow on a really busy night; but that's not to say the staff isn't professional and attentive. The only downside is that it can be a bit of a scene, and there's a DJ playing music on Fri/Sat nights, so if that's not your kind of thing, then its better to come during the week (or try to find something outside, where its a bit quieter). Food was pricey, but worth it- what you would expect from a restaurant like that.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    170
    55
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Very nice food. Nice tendry fusion Asian restaurant with delicate taste. Portion are quite small so big eaters be ware.

Helpful?
Thank SeMaRe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic variety in food, great service”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Especially with a group, ask the waitress to suggest a variety of dishes. It's an awesome mix of tastes, perfectly prepared, these guys know their stuff. You won't be disappointed! I recommend the Errazurriz wines from Chile: both Cabernet Souvignon and Chardonay go very well with the dishes.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2008_Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prangins, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Trying too hard to be trendy”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We were staying at the Sir Albert and we like Japanese so we had to give it a try. The atmosphere was nice but the service was way too cool for our tastes. The server was trying to be our best friend and very laid back – to the point where we were reminding her to bring something we already asked for, searching for her to order dessert, etc… not very attentive. We ordered several of the “fusion” dishes to experiment since we are adventurous foodies, but there was only one which really impressed us (the crab harumaki). Most of the others were a bit too… unusual. We also had a couple of the classic Japanese dishes and we enjoyed those the most. All that, combined with high prices for relatively small portions, left us with a pretty mediocre impression.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Toltriaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“refreshing,new, pretty good.”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Izakaya has become one of my favorites, quality just below 2* michelin. Nice atmosphere,
friendly staff, good food, small dishes, eat as much as you like. Franch, South American and eastern influence mixed together, Ingredients are from a pretty high quality.
Wagyu, Duck liver , oysters etc. I have to eat here at least 4 times a year.
Prices are acceptable, but when you are hungry..... close to € 100 pp.

You can eat here from € 30,00 to 100 PP.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Izakaya Asian Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Izakaya Asian Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing