We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willems

Willems
Ranked #377 of 3,328 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, French, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

This place was steps from our hotel The Neighbors Magnolia and as previous reviewers noted, it's an excellent restaurant in this upscale neighborhood just outside the city center. It's reasonably priced for such finely crafted food. It was a quiet evening, with a few other couples, some tourist some locals. Excellent service, charming setting, excellent food.

Helpful?
1 Thank tioBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    24
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, New York
Level Contributor
257 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“"Right Choice"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The food is very tasty and artistically prepared. You can watch the chefs prepare your food as the kitchen is open to the restaurant. The only drawback that we found is that the menu is limited to five entrees. I don't know how often the menu is changed. Good selection of wines. Would repeat if we return to Amsterdam.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank plasmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Really Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Had a meal here when I stayed at a local hotel. Excellent in every way with great food and service. The food was French style but really well cooked and some unusual and interesting choices. Considering the quality the prices are modest and service and welcome are good. Highly recommended!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Willems restaurant has only been open two years, but even on a Monday night it was just as well that we had booked - very busy.
The cuisine was exceptional and we rated the meal amongst one of the best we have ever had.
Willems is in a street called Willemsparkweg which runs parallel to Vondelpark and right outside the door is the tram stop.
Try this restaurant, you won't regret it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TheoneRoberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant in a lovely neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Wonderful food, staff and location. We visited here during the week, and the restaurant was not too busy. They offer a prix fixe menu of 33 euros that included a starter, main course and dessert. All three were fantastic. Would highly recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jordan232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willems also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Willems? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing