We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Just Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willems

Willems
Ranked #454 of 3,431 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, French, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Just Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

What a great find in the museum district! This restaurant reminds one of the outstanding cuisine found in New York or Napa Valley. Creative chefs; attentive staff. Definitely not a tourist spot but clearly prized by locals for entertaining special guests.
Did I mention creative? Fabulous menu offerings you'll not find elsewhere!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EchoBravo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    25
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An extremely high standard of cooking.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Based on one visit on a reasonably quiet evening, this was a real treat. The food was excellent, and all in all a superb dining experience. We were served by a young person, who, despite first-night jitters met every expectation and performed in a pleasant and professional manner.

Definitely worth a visit!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank GlenCollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Local Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had a fabulous Friday night dinner at Willems. I loved the simple but pretty setting on a quiet street in the Oud-Zuid area of Amsterdam. My dining companion had the set menu, which changes weekly, and was delicious and a great deal. I splurged on the chicken liver parfait which was rich in that yummy way it should be and the steak with frites and bearnaise- the meat was cooked to perfection and the sauce was incredibly flavorful. I highly recommend this neighborhood spot!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Happy to have found Willems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I was so happy to have found Willems on my last stay in Amsterdam. The restaurant staff was exceedingly polite and helpful. Recommendations were sincere and appreciated from my point of view. The menu was diverse and I enjoyed the evening. I will make certain that Willems is on my list for my next return to this city.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Skibum1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Willemstad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Excellent cuisine, service great. Small and intimate and open on Sunday. Friendly staff. Recommended by a local.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ottsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willems also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Willems? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing