We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent find, great steaks, top service! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Casona

La Casona
Reserve with
La Casona is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,155 of 3,750 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $19 - $37
Cuisines: Argentinean, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent find, great steaks, top service! ”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We wanted to get a bite to eat near but not on Rembrandtplein and almost stumbled upon this fantastic Argentinian steakhouse. The pre-threatre deal in particular was superb value and the waitress and chef were very friendly. The salad was huge and full of flavour, the chorizo starter immense, and the mains were great served with various sauces and brilliant fries. There are lots of Argentinian places in Amsterdam but this hidden gem, inauspicious from the outside, turned out to be a real treat.

Helpful?
Thank stuzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    31
    11
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

They really know how to cook a steak. Excellent food. Friendly staff. Hope to visit again before we leave Amsterdam even though there are many restaurants to visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Steak”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We enjoyed fantastic steak at this restaurant, it is not a place for vegetarians. Service was good and friendly. We appreciated the open and honest explanation that my starter was delayed as it had accident,y ended on the kitchen floor! The dips and salad served with the steaks were the perfect accompaniment.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spendloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oh, so good -- so glad we stopped here!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Walking along Utrechtsestraat in the Jordaan and we came upon this restaurant. We decided to give it a go with no high expectations, and were we ever glad we stopped here!

We weren't sure when we looked at the starters but Joe chose the beef carpaccio and I had the onion soup, which I love. for our main course we both chose the beef tenderloin steaks, done medium rare and had the vegetable salad and the fries to go along with them. The carpaccio came with a vegetable salad over top of it and it was beautiful, both to look at and to eat. I was very happy that Joe shared it with me. My onion soup was so rich, I wondered how it could be so rich, but I think that the onions were so beautifully carmalised that it made it very rich.

Our steaks came and they were served on a white plate with drops of barbeque sauce at the top. They was also two sauces, one was chimmichurri and the other a salsa like sauce. There was also mayonnaise for the fries and the salad we ordered. It was all so lovely and delicious, the steak done to perfection and so tender. The salad was fresh and filled with so many delicious but well blended flavours and the fries were completely irresistable. I thought the chimmichurri sauce was the best paring with the steak but Joe liked the barbeque just as much.

The service was very good, and though the food did not come quickly, it was worth the wait which was not long.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LyndaMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Beef”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Found this place on Utrechtsestraat. The food quite good overall. The prie fixe meals helped keep the overall meal cost in line. The house red wine was good. The servers were friendly and helpful. All the items our party of four enjoyed were first rate. The beef was particularly good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jimsoxz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casona also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to La Casona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing