We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart hotel! Smart location !”
Review of Hotel Espresso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Espresso
Ranked #129 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Smart hotel! Smart location !”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for three nights recently . It's a new modern hotel and very clean. They don't have a mini bar in the room. But it's not a deal breaker . Location is great . You can take bus 197 from the airport and walk for 5 minutes to get to the hotel. And from
the hotel they arrange a cab for 37 euro to the airport .
Free coffee and tea in the reception area .
Great Indonesian restaurant right cross the street .
Ann frank house not too far . Go at 8 o'clock at night and there is no line .
In Amsterdam they sell the bus or tram tickets right inside the bus or tram. A two day pass is a great option if you need to take the tram around the city .
I read some reviews about this hotel before making reservations and some people said they couldn't open the window !! That is not true ! I could open the window in my room !

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    418
    132
    29
    20
See reviews for
173
352
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I love this hotel, near tram stop, vondelpark and good shops. The room was clean and there's a water heater.

There's Indonesian restaurant in front of the hotel. They always full for dinner, you have to make reservation first.

Don't expect anything from breakfast.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Innes N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Good location in Amsterdam, clean, good sleep.
Close to downtown but at a affordable price. Breakfast was good. Service great.
In front of the hotel there is a tram station, you can get into line-1 tram that goes to Central Station.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jordi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

This is an affordable and confortable business hotel in downtown. 5m walking distance from one of the best parks of the city, great connection by tram, and full of restaurants and clubs in the área.

Rooms are as clean as small, so just visit the hotel to sleep at night. Having said that, beds are awesome, best sleep in years in a hotel

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank IamfromBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Maybe one of the bests hotels in Amsterdam. It's very close to the red light district, walking distance but no too far away, so you can have a very nice sleep at night. The hotel is very comfy. The crew is also very helpful. Lots of tourists and a relaxed people.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Vale_ortega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

I have recently stayed at this hotel for my birthday with 2 friends upon arrival the staff were friendly and checked us in which was fine it took us a long time to find the hotel as it isn't very close to the central of amsterdam - later on our first day we discovered some bugs on the side of the table in our room we thought nothing of this then in the evening when we came back to our hotel we found lots of tiny bugs which looked like bed bugs in our bed and on the bed side table and bathroom we went to reception and told the man on reception about it and he came up to our room and all he offered to do was pull our bed away from the wall which didn't really help... To make the matter worse the man asked "can I have some of your vodka just a little bit" which wasn't the help we wanted... In the morning the hotel rushed us out of the room prior to getting ready so that they can "disinfect" our room when we arrived back later that day nothing had moved from our room or been cleaned... Overall wouldn't stay here again

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank LucyBament
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Manager at Hotel Espresso, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest, I appriciate that you write this comment and I am sorry that my staff did not inform you which step we took about the insects. We hired that day a proffesional to check the room. He concluded that these are tiny little spiders. They are harmless to people but of course should not be there. He used some spray in certain hiding places. He came back a week later to repeat this treatment. I ask the staff about the vodka. He meant that as a joke. He apoligies for the misunderstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#83 of 368 in Amsterdam
948 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#125 of 368 in Amsterdam
667 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#139 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#75 of 368 in Amsterdam
751 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#87 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,238 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#155 of 368 in Amsterdam
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espresso

Property: Hotel Espresso
Address: Overtoom 57, 1054 HC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espresso 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Espresso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing