We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, poor breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Esspresso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Esspresso to your Saves list
Hotel Esspresso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overtoom 57, 1054 HC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location, poor breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I love this hotel, near tram stop, vondelpark and good shops. The room was clean and there's a water heater.

There's Indonesian restaurant in front of the hotel. They always full for dinner, you have to make reservation first.

Don't expect anything from breakfast.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Innes N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Barcelona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Good location in Amsterdam, clean, good sleep.
Close to downtown but at a affordable price. Breakfast was good. Service great.
In front of the hotel there is a tram station, you can get into line-1 tram that goes to Central Station.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jordi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

This is an affordable and confortable business hotel in downtown. 5m walking distance from one of the best parks of the city, great connection by tram, and full of restaurants and clubs in the área.

Rooms are as clean as small, so just visit the hotel to sleep at night. Having said that, beds are awesome, best sleep in years in a hotel

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank IamfromBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Maybe one of the bests hotels in Amsterdam. It's very close to the red light district, walking distance but no too far away, so you can have a very nice sleep at night. The hotel is very comfy. The crew is also very helpful. Lots of tourists and a relaxed people.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Vale_ortega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

I have recently stayed at this hotel for my birthday with 2 friends upon arrival the staff were friendly and checked us in which was fine it took us a long time to find the hotel as it isn't very close to the central of amsterdam - later on our first day we discovered some bugs on the side of the table in our room we thought nothing of this then in the evening when we came back to our hotel we found lots of tiny bugs which looked like bed bugs in our bed and on the bed side table and bathroom we went to reception and told the man on reception about it and he came up to our room and all he offered to do was pull our bed away from the wall which didn't really help... To make the matter worse the man asked "can I have some of your vodka just a little bit" which wasn't the help we wanted... In the morning the hotel rushed us out of the room prior to getting ready so that they can "disinfect" our room when we arrived back later that day nothing had moved from our room or been cleaned... Overall wouldn't stay here again

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank LucyBament
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Manager at Hotel Esspresso, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest, I appriciate that you write this comment and I am sorry that my staff did not inform you which step we took about the insects. We hired that day a proffesional to check the room. He concluded that these are tiny little spiders. They are harmless to people but of course should not be there. He used some spray in certain hiding places. He came back a week later to repeat this treatment. I ask the staff about the vodka. He meant that as a joke. He apoligies for the misunderstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This hotel it's centrally located which is handy. The hotel is near the tram (1) which will lead you to the Central Station. The hotel is located near a supermarket, pharmacy, book shop and Vondelpark. Van Gogh and Reijksmuseum are just a few minutes walk southward from the hotel.

The property is good, FREE WIFI in all rooms and the room is clean & modern.

However, you need to know that there isn't a MINI-BAR, which may be very annoying if you want to stay more than 1 night and buy some food to make your own meals or drinks - butter, cheese, ham, milk, etc...

The beds are quite soft... In fact, they are so soft that they turn to be uncomfortable. The mattress is too soft and gives a constant feeling of rolling or sinking. The pillows are huge and uncomfortable as well.

The shower is very, very good and modern. However, the sink is very small...
No bath amenities other than bath gel/ shampoo combo attached to shower wall.

The bathroom has an hair dryer and the room has Coffee/Tea facilities and temperature control.

TV is modern HD.


In the reception area they have a coffee machine that is free for guests to use and a city free map.

The staff is friendly in general but sometimes they don't seem very interested in helping the guests.


BREAKFAST was altogether GOOD: warm bread fresh from the oven, croissants, cheese, yogurt,cereals, juices, fruit and mini chocolate croissants.

They also provide gluten free bread for breakfast, if you ask them.

Some steps away from the hotel to your right there is a bike hire shop where you can hire bikes which is great.

Overtoom can be a VERY noisy street at night until 2/3 a.m which can interfere with your resting.

Overall, the rooms are good but tiny and it should definitely have a mini-bar. It's a nice hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,026 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esspresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esspresso

Address: Overtoom 57, 1054 HC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Esspresso 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Esspresso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing