We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”
Review of Hotel Espresso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Espresso
Ranked #129 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed March 4, 2014

it was the first time ,we spent a weeekend in amsterdam very nice place to be an the hotel is not far from the city centre.
the service was very pleasant and helpfull.free coffee and tea is a great offer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Limitiert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (894)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Espresso
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 360 of 894 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed here the week commencing 17th February for a Monday to Friday stint with my wife and we were 'extremely' pleased with Hotel Espresso. We have been to Amsterdam on a few occasions and so for this trip we decided on trying a different hotel. We usually stay at the poet, formally the acro hotel, but after reading the positive reviews for Espresso i was sold. We emailed the hotel before arrival and asked if it was possible to have a room looking over the city. Within an hour we had received a reply saying they would try their best and i am pleased to report that they came through for us 100%. Even if they had not been able to arrange this the email reply and intent means a lot regardless!

The room was at the rear of the hotel, so away from the traffic, but to be fair the noise from the road the hotel is situated on is minimal. We had a double room comprising of a desk, 2 chairs, wardrobe with built in safe and a spacious on suite bathroom with a large glass encased shower. Hair dryer/Coffee/Kettle all on hand and the room had temperature control. TV was modern HD and we were able to slot a USB stick in the side to watch some Movies, which is a real plus if you struggle trying to find something to watch when you return from your travels.

Now for the juicy bits - The bed and free coffee!! Lots being reported on how comfortable the beds are in this hotel and they have all hit the nail on the head. The double we had was 'extremely' comfortable, kind of like laying in a flexible play dough. In the reception area they have a coffee machine that is free for guests to use. Grab a glass, make your choice and away you go! The coffee itself is gorgeous and if money wasn't an issue i would have one of these small machines in my home right now. The actual reception area itself is a great place to sit just before going out for the day to check maps etc and then on the return you can relax before you hit your room. Very clean, modern design and nice seating. This area is also used for breakfast, which we unfortunately didn't get to try due to some healthy late mornings!

All members of staff we encountered were a pleasure to deal with, from reception to the cleaning staff. They are doing a great job and should be very proud they are making peoples stay something to remember. Excellent customer service is always something i appreciate with a passion and i witnessed this here everyday. Special mention to Annelies (Hope that's correct!) whom made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived!!

Lastly a small mention on the location. It's outside of the main city center, so no hoards of tourists, yet you can be in the thick of it within a 5 minute walk. There are many local shops on the road and various restaurants. I would say avoid the night shop, which although open all night it certainly charges you heavily for the pleasure. Another one to avoid in my opinion is the Sawaddee Ka thai restaurant. Expensive and nothing to rave about, although the staff were friendly. Vondelpark is also within short walking distance and worth a visit every time.

So to sum up - This will be our hotel of choice on return visits in the future! Quiet, well situated, friendly/knowledgeable staff....What more could we ask for? Extremely happy we have found our new, although temporary, Amsterdam home!

Thanks Hotel Espresso!! 10/10

Michael & Lorraine.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mike_Travel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Hotel espresso just returned from here on 09-02-14 from my sons stag weekend with 20 other people hotel was excellent good location , comfy beds, staff VERY help full only a short taxi or tram to dam square and central station ( buy tickets before going on trains) will go again & free coffee & tea just what you need at 5 am before a good sleep ( quite hotel ) .

Room Tip: Stayed on 5th floor slept great
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Lovely hotel cosy feel and not far from the city centre. Coffee machine is a great perk but some instructions would be good as it was a slight bit confusing walls are quite thin but no outside noise so as long as your not next to someone to noisy it's ok, overall a great stay and reception were very friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Emma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed in the Hotel Espresso for two nights, and were not disappointed. The place is clean, well furnished, and comfortable, and is easy to get to and in a great location. Just outside of the central canal ring, it is in a decent neighbourhood and within walking distance of all the city centre attractions. I can't say much for our view - our window faced another wall - but there was still plenty of light, and the other conveniences more than made up for the view.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fireontheriver9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank jacstee
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

The 2 nights we stayed here where excellent. Polite staff, extremely comfortable bed and fresh toilet roll and towels. Good location so overall it was a really welcoming and a comfortable stay.
Would recommend couples staying here as it really made us feel comfortable.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank shannon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#132 of 371 in Amsterdam
673 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#79 of 371 in Amsterdam
955 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#136 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#153 of 371 in Amsterdam
551 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#84 of 371 in Amsterdam
763 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#85 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espresso

Address: Overtoom 57, 1054 HC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $113 - $575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espresso 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Espresso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing