We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Hotel Espresso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Espresso
Ranked #121 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“Great stay”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Lovely hotel cosy feel and not far from the city centre. Coffee machine is a great perk but some instructions would be good as it was a slight bit confusing walls are quite thin but no outside noise so as long as your not next to someone to noisy it's ok, overall a great stay and reception were very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Emma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    415
    124
    28
    17
See reviews for
167
347
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed in the Hotel Espresso for two nights, and were not disappointed. The place is clean, well furnished, and comfortable, and is easy to get to and in a great location. Just outside of the central canal ring, it is in a decent neighbourhood and within walking distance of all the city centre attractions. I can't say much for our view - our window faced another wall - but there was still plenty of light, and the other conveniences more than made up for the view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fireontheriver9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

The 2 nights we stayed here where excellent. Polite staff, extremely comfortable bed and fresh toilet roll and towels. Good location so overall it was a really welcoming and a comfortable stay.
Would recommend couples staying here as it really made us feel comfortable.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shannon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner went to Amsterdam for our first hoilday together and for his birthday, we stayed here and apart from the small room! (its perfect if your only there for a couple of days!) But we arrived quite late (11pm) and the receptionist was very helpful and we were hungry and there was no were open but the night manager was very helpful and phoned us a pizza! Everybody was very helpful and it was great definitely going to return to this hotel as my partner love it! The tram stops out side the hotel which is very helpful and easy to make your way around!!. So definitely recommend it to anybody whos visiting Amsterdam to stay here!! Also pretty cheap for the 3 nights that we stayed!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuiaba, MT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I and my family stayed for 3 nights at Hotel Espresso during this holiday season . Well, it’s nothing personal, but the hotel’s services were among the worst I’ve ever had . The front desk, except for the Asian guy, was inattentive and negligent . For instance, a young lady sold me wrong tickets to Rijskmuseum (yes,they sell tickets to museums and tours) . I just found out about her mistake at the entrance of the museum and had to go all the way back to the hotel in order to exchange the tickets . The housekeeping is non-existent: just for an idea, one day I left my slippers carelessly in the middle of the room and they were at the same place / same way when we arrived at afternoon . No replacement of tissue / toilet paper . No replacement of used glasses . No amenities at all . I felt Amsterdam as an unfriendly city for foreign visitors with families (we had some other issues around the city, unfortunately) and this hotel made things even worse .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Su S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto,Ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stopped in Amsterdam on the way from Toronto to Johannesburg. Stayed for two nights.
3 Adults , 3 year old and a ten month old. Booked two rooms. Arrived very early in the morning. Rooms not ready as hotel was full. Staff were very accomodating and managed to get us in to two clean rooms by 11 am. Very good staff and compassionate.Rooms were clean and breakfast was excellent. Location was very good and transport in to city centre by tram was very easy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rashid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#69 of 367 in Amsterdam
727 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#138 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,406 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#86 of 367 in Amsterdam
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#88 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,218 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,289 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#128 of 367 in Amsterdam
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espresso

Property: Hotel Espresso
Address: Overtoom 57, 1054 HC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espresso 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Espresso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing