We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Hotel Espresso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Espresso
Ranked #126 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Lovely hotel cosy feel and not far from the city centre. Coffee machine is a great perk but some instructions would be good as it was a slight bit confusing walls are quite thin but no outside noise so as long as your not next to someone to noisy it's ok, overall a great stay and reception were very friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Emma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (910)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

368 - 374 of 910 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed in the Hotel Espresso for two nights, and were not disappointed. The place is clean, well furnished, and comfortable, and is easy to get to and in a great location. Just outside of the central canal ring, it is in a decent neighbourhood and within walking distance of all the city centre attractions. I can't say much for our view - our window faced another wall - but there was still plenty of light, and the other conveniences more than made up for the view.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fireontheriver9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank jacstee
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

The 2 nights we stayed here where excellent. Polite staff, extremely comfortable bed and fresh toilet roll and towels. Good location so overall it was a really welcoming and a comfortable stay.
Would recommend couples staying here as it really made us feel comfortable.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank shannon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner went to Amsterdam for our first hoilday together and for his birthday, we stayed here and apart from the small room! (its perfect if your only there for a couple of days!) But we arrived quite late (11pm) and the receptionist was very helpful and we were hungry and there was no were open but the night manager was very helpful and phoned us a pizza! Everybody was very helpful and it was great definitely going to return to this hotel as my partner love it! The tram stops out side the hotel which is very helpful and easy to make your way around!!. So definitely recommend it to anybody whos visiting Amsterdam to stay here!! Also pretty cheap for the 3 nights that we stayed!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I and my family stayed for 3 nights at Hotel Espresso during this holiday season . Well, it’s nothing personal, but the hotel’s services were among the worst I’ve ever had . The front desk, except for the Asian guy, was inattentive and negligent . For instance, a young lady sold me wrong tickets to Rijskmuseum (yes,they sell tickets to museums and tours) . I just found out about her mistake at the entrance of the museum and had to go all the way back to the hotel in order to exchange the tickets . The housekeeping is non-existent: just for an idea, one day I left my slippers carelessly in the middle of the room and they were at the same place / same way when we arrived at afternoon . No replacement of tissue / toilet paper . No replacement of used glasses . No amenities at all . I felt Amsterdam as an unfriendly city for foreign visitors with families (we had some other issues around the city, unfortunately) and this hotel made things even worse .

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Su S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stopped in Amsterdam on the way from Toronto to Johannesburg. Stayed for two nights.
3 Adults , 3 year old and a ten month old. Booked two rooms. Arrived very early in the morning. Rooms not ready as hotel was full. Staff were very accomodating and managed to get us in to two clean rooms by 11 am. Very good staff and compassionate.Rooms were clean and breakfast was excellent. Location was very good and transport in to city centre by tram was very easy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rashid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#129 of 374 in Amsterdam
689 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#130 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,468 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#83 of 374 in Amsterdam
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#79 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,288 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#151 of 374 in Amsterdam
563 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espresso

Address: Overtoom 57, 1054 HC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $95 - $588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espresso 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Espresso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing