We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #131 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Business trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed at the Fletcher for 2 nights recently with a colleague on a business trip.
Nice hotel for business. Unusual rooms, quite funky but nice.
The bar / restaurant on the top floors have a nice view of the city.
The only downfall was the price of the food which was quite expensive for what you get. The portions are very small.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    376
    168
    46
    37
See reviews for
62
463
26
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kerkrade, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Take good care when you must pay your hotel bill. Reception staff make many mistakes. Hotel in general is ok. Staff in bar and at breakfast are friendly. Distance to Amsterdam is short. Hotel has own parking space.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank R. P. H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston. MA
Level Contributor
288 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

The only positive is that the room is really funky, artistically decorated and comfortable; but: The Fletcher hotel is neither in Schipol nor in Amsterdam. It's somewhere in between in a light industrial park next to a few fast food restaurants. Therefore, unless you need to be at that park, go else where. There is a a Metro station 1.5 km from the hotel and the hotel provides a spotty shuttle to and from the station (out of 4 times only once we got a ride). The room was not very clean (there was dust and dirt under the bed). The sheets were fresh / clean and the bathroom amenities were nice. The hotel service was real bad, for example, my room was not serviced /cleaned although I stayed for two days. I asked for a coffee machine that showed up after 24 h. Prepare to wait 5 min or so for the elevators. Etc...

Overall, the funkiness of the room and the reasonable price will not make me come back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank EarlDGrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Zurzach, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night as I had a business meeting next day - around 30 minutes with cab into City.

Shower is a glass cubicle in the room - something from Star Trek - maybe awkward for some couples.

I did not sleep the whole night as the ventilator / fan from the shower was on all night - call downstairs but they said couldnt do anything and hotel was full = no room change.

In the morning, went to their "cafe" looking forward to a cofee at 08.45 and the lady behind the counter was just sitting there and said they were not open ?!?

Bar staff in Sky bar also not friendly.

I doubt if people return to this hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissJ70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 15 days. I was disappointed. This hotel is located near major roadways (A4, A9). This is great for easy access to the roadways. It's also across the street from juvenile and adult jails. The parking lot next to the Burger King and KFC Restaurant is a popular hang out for individuals with loud sound systems in their cars. Each Friday and Saturday night, cars gather and play their music from 10pm until well after midnight. The sound is clearly heard inside the hotel. So much so, I thought it was the piano bar in the hotel. I should have known things were not going to go well from the beginning. When I checked in, I noticed the room did not have a phone. I also noticed the room had not been cleaned. There were hairs in the bedsheets,etc. I moved my room two times. Finally, I was placed on the 15th floor (room 1506). However, I was not told this room was beneath the gym. So each morning around 5am, I was awakened to the sound of treadmill workouts lasting for several hours. This room did not have a phone. Over the course of nearly 5 days, I was consistently promised a phone by the front desk. When it was finally received, the phone did not have cord. This took 2 days. Once the cord was delivered, the phone never worked. Exhausted, I gave up on having it in my room. Thank goodness for an international plan on my work phone. Don't bother requesting to have your room cleaned. They do not clean your room. They will place the blanket as if they have and leave your clothing or whatever else you have underneath in it's place. This also let me know they never changed the sheets. They did not take dirty dishes from the room and a few days they did not even remove the trash. Out of frustration, I finally threw all of the linens on the floor and placed all dirty dishes on the bed to get them to clean my room. This hotel is more of what U.S. citizens consider a motel, rather than a preferred, high end hotel. I was charged $75 euro for one load of laundry. I found the reception staff pleasant, but not helpful. The room was often cold as the thermostat did not seem to keep the room comfortable. I could go on and on with complaining, but i'd advise future guests to beware. It looks nice on the outside, but don't expect first class service or rooms. Otherwise, you will find that you have overpaid for what you will actually receive.

Room Tip: don't get a room near the elevator, facing the restaurants or on the 15th floor...otherwise you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigitte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We chose to stay here for my partners birthday based on the hotels appearance and it didnt dissapoint. It was a short 10/15 min car journey from Schicphol. However it cost us 40 euros. They also let us check in almost 5 hours early which was fabulous! The reception staff were polite, spoke excellent English and very friendly. Although I must say that guests should be made aware of the deposit per day situation when booking.

The room card was an issue however, because it controlled the lights etc in the room and it controlled which floor you went to using the lift which created some problems for the pair of us as a second card was not given. The room was lovely. The shower feature was spectacular and nothing id ever seen before. However the element of no privacy soon became frustrating when cleaning etc. The shower also leaked all over the room and so we were constantly mopping the floor with our towels. Luckily for us our rooms were cleaned every day for 5 days straight by the maids. We opted for breakfast the morning of my partners birthday. There was a wide variety of options to be had. Lovely dutch pancakes. However, in terms of the fry up there wasnt an awfully great selection and it wasnt very warm either. All the same it was a nice way to start the day and especially with the view we got with it.

Reviews make it sound as though the train station is so far away when in reality we walked it everyday there and back without once catching the hotel bus and it took us 10-15 minutes. Baring in mind I was walking on a sprained ankle and had I not of been it would have probably been quicker. The hotel offers you the option of getting your train card there and then - sometimes that is a better option as often you find there is no one at the station to help or offer change - which we experienced.

Ajax is approx 2-3 stops away and you can see it from the hotel. Amsterdam central is 20 mins tops. Around the hotel are food places such as McDonald's, KFC and Burger King. The hotel sky bar is a pleasent way to spend your evening overlooking Amsterdam with an amazing view. Definitely worth doing one night during your stay.

The wifi I would say is the biggest issue for a hotel such as yourself as its shocking. Not once could I get logged on anywhere in the hotel as everywhere it was too weak and the same can be said for my partner.

Great place to stay. Would recommend it and would definitely stay there again when I am next visiting Amsterdam.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peachy87
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for the weekend. A short 10 minute walk from the metro station which was a nice walk in the sunshine but not in the cold and rain. The metro is 20 minutes ride from Holendrecht to Amsterdam central(even though on website states 10) and probably 30 minute ride to the airport.
The room is clean, comfortable,classy and convieniant what we expected from our weekend away and what we paid. Fresh towels,coffee etc all normal amenities were present. Liked the fact that at reception they give you a handful of brochures and booklets about Amsterdam including maps etc.They also offer a shuttle bus service between 7am-11.30pm which is useful rather than walking especially in the evenings(you do have to prebook as only available every 30 minutes and also tip otherwise they seem to not want to take you.We found this out on the saturday when the bus was apparently full at all times suggested to then see only 2 people on there) Reception seemed to be always be busy but receptionists were polite and friendly.You can buy all day metro tickets there which is good as not always people in the station.Bad thing is you have to pay local taxes and also deposit on the room for both nights which weren't mentioned when booking.
Air conditioning seemed to also stay at the same temperature even though was very cold couldnt change it.Room was also meant to be executive king room which was in fact 2 single beds put together which was a little disappointing.Apart from them few niggles an overall good trip.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peachy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fletcher H, Manager at Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear peachy87 ,

Thank you very much for writing such a positive review on Tripadvisor, we really do appreciate your effort! Thank you for the information regarding the deposit, we are investigating right now if it is possible to mention these details on our website. Thanks again and if you are planning to visit Amsterdam again, please don't hesitate to contact me personal.
Best regards,
Stefan Meilink
Assistant Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
6.1 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#122 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
7.5 mi away
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#159 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
4.5 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#44 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#126 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
8.0 mi away
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#65 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Amsterdam - Arena Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Schepenbergweg 50, 1105 AT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This futuristic shaped Fletcher hotel is located within a 2-minutes' drive from the A2 and A9 highways. It offers free Wi-Fi and modern rooms with a flat-screen TV, work desk and a magnificent view. Train Station Bijlmer is only 4 km away. The shower is in a glass cylinder column in the middle of the room. Fletcher hotel provides breakfast, lunch and dinner in its Skyrestaurant Pi restaurant which has a panoramic view over Amsterdam. Drinks can be enjoyed in the Skylounge Pi. Guests can make use of the fitness centre or relax on the terrace if permitted by weather. The 24-hour front desk offers service when needed. Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, Amsterdam Arena and Amsterdam South Axis are all within a 10-minute drive away from Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam. The city centre is 15 minutes' drive away by car and the hotel offers a shuttle service to station Holendrecht at a surcharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing