We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam West
Ranked #51 of 337 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a great choice for a B&B if you're going to stay in Amsterdam. It's all been said in other reviews, but it deserves to be said again. I'll try and make it short. For those who don't want details, I would just say it's wonderful.

Ralph and Kitty are so welcoming and warm. We were met at the airport for the small extra charge of 15 euros by kitty. Ralph sat us down and gave us lots of useful information and a map. Whenever we needed directions or opening hours or train schedules, or good places to eat during our 4 night stay, they provided it. Even gave us a computer print out once.

Our room was the one with a door to the canal and the terrace. It was airy, light, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Everything one could need was there, including plates, bowls and cutlery. Even a little kitchenette, with microwave, and refrigerator, and jugs of chilled water. We watched the small boats going by.

Breakfast is a sight to see, with a great choice.

Getting to anywhere in the city was easy. There are trams close-by.It takes about 20 minutes to the centre. And there are stops before that, with nice little shops and restaurants, The Metro is about 3 minutes away.

The Wi-fi signal is strong.

OK so the shower and the two toilets are shared with the only other room, but this was never a problem. If you have to have en suite facilities, go somewhere else, but you'll be missing a really nice place to stay.

We had some nice and very interesting discussions on many different things with Ralph and Kitty. My wife at one stage mentioned how she loved cherries, but that they were always expensive in England. Kitty very sweetly got her some when she went to the supermarket!

All in all we loved our stay here and would highly recommend it

Room Tip: One of the two rooms has a door onto a terrace by the canal
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broedelet35, Owner at Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam West, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Mike
Thank you for the kind words. It's been a pleasure and we are happy we could contribute to the positive feeling about Amsterdam.
Regards
Rhalf and Kitty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam West
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 79 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

Ralph and Kitty are the best hosts ever (on the day of our departure, since we had an early flight, they even woke up at 6.30 in order to give us a "take away breakfast" for the trip). They are both extremely friendly and welcoming. They will give you useful (and non-touristic) tips to get the best from your Amsterdam-experience. The B&B is VERY clean and its position convenient (it's not right in the city centre but the public transport system in Amsterdam really works well and it will take you 15 mins maximum to get to downtown: all you need to do is take a tram that stops 2mins walking from the B&B). Breakfast is huge and delicious (downstairs, where the two double rooms are, there's a coffee machine, a boiler and a little fridge you can use anytime). The rooms have very nice furniture, the beds are very comfortable and the canal view suggestive. The shared "shower space" is huge, very clean and modern (with hot water at anytime of day/night). You will share with the other guests the toilet as well (the toilet room and the shower are in two different spaces, though, and of course this is very convenient). If I go back to Amsterdam, I will defenitely stay at Ralph and Kitty's again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancescaSbally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broedelet35, Owner at Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam West, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Hello Francesca
We are happy we are part of the good experience you had in Amsterdam. And if visiting Amsterdam again you're more then welcome to stay with us again. Guest rating 5/5 :)
Regards
Rhalf and Kitty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights at the last stop of my joureny. Rhalf and Kitty were very good hosts.
They gave me the map of amsterdam and also told me a lot about this city. They also provided me so many advice of what to see in the Amsterdam.
The room was clean and beautiful! With a big window so the room could always full of light.
And Kitty always mede delicious breakfast. Especially the pancake ! I missed it so much!! :)
I really had a great time here and love this family very much!
They just made me feel like home after my long joureny all alone!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haihail069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broedelet35, Owner at Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam West, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Peishan
Thank you for the warm andf kind words about our family. It was a pleasure having you as our guest. Happy travels in the future.
Rhalf and Kitty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Доброжелательные, общительные хозяева! Прекрасное расположение в тихом районе, до центра - 15 мин. на трамвае 13, супермаркет - в 100 м. В другие районы пересаживались на остановке "Адмирал де Рейтервег". Всего сдаются две комнаты в подвальной части, прямо у канала, утки и лебеди каждый день к нам приплывали. Курить можно выйдя к каналу, дают пепельницу. Каждый день - плотный завтрак (4 вида булок, посыпки, мюсли, яйцо или яичница, джем, мед, фрукты, печенье, 4 вида сыра и два вида мясных изделий). Также спрашивали наши пожелания и дополнительно всегда что-нибудь вкусненькое делала хозяйка, особенно понравились оладышки, йогуртовые коктейли и фруктовые десерты. Выдают три вида полотенец, меняют раз в три дня. Каждый день на тарелке лежали фрукты (бананы, яблоки и клементины) капсульный кофе, чай и шоколад с конфетами. Есть необходимая посуда, чтобы поесть вечером, ее выносишь в коридор и хозяева убирают ее. Места общего пользования чистые, прекрасная душевая кабина и сауна. В каждой комнате - шампунь, гель для душа и крем для тела. В ванной комнате - жидкое мыло и крем для рук. Холодильник (без морозильной камеры), микроволновка, кофемашина и чайник в общем коридоре. Отдельный вход для хозяев и гостей, выдают свои ключи за депозит 50 евро (отдают при выезде) Транфер организует сама хозяйка (15 евро встреча и 10 отъезд). Каждым гостям выдают карту и отмечают достопримечательности. Также в аренду можно взять велосипед и каное. Два очень прикольных кота! Нам действительно очень понравилось. Dear Rhalf and Kitty! Many thanks for a nice and comfortable stay! We'll surely come back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broedelet35, Owner at Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam West, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear Irina
Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again when visiting Amsterdam with your daughter.
Regards
Rhalf and Kitty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and its a great find and easily the best place I have stayed in, in Amsterdam. The rooms were delightful; great bed, beautifully presented, bright, spacious, super-fast wifi, free Nespresso coffee and cotton wool pads (my wife said to mention these!). The bathroom and shower was also brilliant and even had a sauna (not that we used it!).

The owners were great and felt more like old friends - they really couldn't have been any more helpful or accommodating and the explanation they gave of hidden gems to see was priceless. The food was great and as others have said, the pancakes made by the tremendously helpful Kitty, (to be fair Ralph was also amazing) were fabulous.

So all in all amazing place to stay. The only thing I will mention, i think it is only fair to mention as this is a review for travellers, is that it is definitely out of town and does take 15-20 minutes on the Tram to get into the centre of town. That said, Trams are a plenty and they stop very near the B&B. Also, and thinking about it, whilst it does take 20 minutes to get into town, it is very direct and frankly you would probably spend at least 20 minutes walking into to town (or somewhere else) from your more central hotel anyway so in the grand scheme of things, yes we were further out, but overall, probably took us less time to actually get to where we were going than had we stayed more central and walked. You do need to get the Tram though, walking is not possible due to the distance, so if you are out past 12.30pm you'll need to get a c. €20 taxi.

In summary, I would definitely stay here again and then maybe it will actually be like seeing old friends for real!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broedelet35, Eigenaar at Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam West, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Hello Ben
Thank you for the kind words and Kitty says thanks about the "poffertjes".

We are indeed not located in the centre of town, but as you experienced it's quite easy to get into town. Trams stops running around 12.30, but besides a taxi there is another option, the nightbus service. The 24/48 hour GVB public transport cards are also valid for the nightbus, nightbusstop within 5 min walk. The nightbus runs all night, every hour and weekends every half hour.

Regards
Rhalf and Kitty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed at Amsterdam West for 2 nights. The host were very lovely and friendly. A map of Amsterdam was given to us and explained were all the good attractions were, markets and shops. The room was very clean and the bed eas really comfy for a really good night sleep.
The host kitty makes the best pancakes I've tasted

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alrac79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broedelet35, Eigenaar at Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam West, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Hello Guys/Dear Guests*

Kitty says thanks about about comment. Was good fun to have you guys around and maybe till next time and some more pancakes.

Regards
Rhalf and Kitty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed for 5 days at the B&B Amsterdam West and we can only say good things. The room is very comfortable, very clean and with a amazing view to the canal. The bathroom and toilet were very clean. The breakfast was so good, every day prepared by lovely Kitty. You have to try here dutch pancakes. But what we really loved at most was Ralph and Kitty, they are soooo friendly, we really felt at home. It was a trip not to forget. Thank u very much ralph and kitty, we' ll miss you guys. Monica & daniel

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Leahzita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broedelet35, Owner at Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam West, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Hello Monica and Daniel
Thank you for the kind words. Was a pleasure to serve you guys breakfast and hope to see you in the future again, either in Amsterdam or when we visit Lisboa'
Regards
Rhalf and Kitty
PS Obi and Luke say hi ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Rembrandtplein
Prinsenhuis
Prinsenhuis
#87 of 337 in Amsterdam
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Not Hotel
#31 of 337 in Amsterdam
328 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Chariot Amsterdam - canal apartment
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 337 in Amsterdam
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam West

Address: Johan Broedeletstraat 35, 1064 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $101 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Amsterdam, bicycle capitol of the world. Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam West is as you might have guessed on the West Side of town. The centre of town with all touristic attractions and museums is 15-20 minutes by bicycle or public transport. ABOUT US: B&B Broedelet 35 is run by a family with a fascination for wheels and bicycles in particulair. The house, build in the early 60's, hosts a collection of unique bicycles designs and other collectables.ROOMS: - Comfortable private room with big twin bed. The rooms are located downstairs overlooking the canal behind the house. The guest bathroom and toilet are on the same level. B&B Broedelet has 2 guest rooms and can accommodate 4 guests. You will have your own front door key. The B&B has it's own entrence.- High-Speed wireless internet- Check-in and check-out times are flexibleINCLUDING: - Tea and coffee - Simple and nutritious breakfast - Shower gel, shampoo, tooth paste and towels - Cleaning fee- Our service. We will be happy to help you out with questions you might have regarding directions to restaurants, musea, clubs, bars and shops.Enjoy your stay in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing