We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy Hotel, Cool Neighborhood, Few Room Issues”
Review of Sir Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sir Albert Hotel
Ranked #37 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My hubby and I stayed at the Sir Albert Hotel in a deluxe room for three nights, and had a nice stay overall. We received a tasty glass of prosecco upon arrival, and the staff assisted us with our luggage up to the room. Please make sure you bring the hotel address for your cab driver - several of our drivers had not heard of the hotel before.

The room was spacious enough, with a large bed, a desk and chair, one sink, and a side-by-side glass shower and toilet. The bedding was absolutely heavenly, although the bed was not very long (my tall hubby kept hitting his feet on the desk at the end of the bed). The room and hotel were decorated in a smart and trendy fashion. The room has a safe, a hair dryer, and nice complimentary toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, body wash, lotion, etc.). It could use a few towel racks though. We slept quite peacefully each night.

We did have a few issues with the room. First, there was no shower door for the shower. There were grooves in the glass of the shower, so we couldn't tell if the door had been purposefully removed or if a previous guest had broken it. Either way, the water sprayed out of the shower each time it was used, and we had to lie towels down on the floor in order not to slip. Additionally, the toilets were not soundproof. I know it's trendy for hotels to use glass for the shower and toilet area, but when will they learn that we do not want to listen to our significant others, roommates, etc. use the bathroom? I don't care how long you've been together with your partner, no one wants to hear bathroom business. This is NOT a room to share if you are uncomfortable with your roommate. Lastly, our tv channels kept changing on their own. We think the remote control in another room was affecting our tv, but this did not make the hubby happy while he was watching the World Cup.

We really enjoyed the neighbourhood of Pijp, which surrounds the hotel. For point of reference, it's about a 10-minute walk to the museums, and a 35-minute walk to Dam Square. After dealing with the stag do's (i.e., bachelor parties) in the main area of town, it was nice to escape back to the peaceful area of Pijp. If you walk right out of hotel, you'll find the delicious restaurants of The Butcher (a tasty hamburger place that also delivers to the hotel) and Bazar (delicious and reasonably priced North African food). If you walk left out of the hotel, and then take another immediate left, you'll come across the smallest of the red light districts in Amsterdam. We found this fascinating to walk by. There are also lots of great cafes and bars in the area.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Sir Albert, although it wasn't perfect. I would stay here again, but would also consider looking at the charming Jordaan neighborhood for our next Amsterdam visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B.G._Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear B.G._Chicago,

Sir Albert appreciates the time you took to share your feedback and to write this extensive review on Tripadvisor.

He wants to thank you for your kind words regarding to your stay and can also assure you that your comments are taken very seriously. His staff will take appropriate actions to improve in these areas. Of course you can always let Sir Albert’s staff know during your stay if you experience any issues so they can try to solve these as quick as possible.

We are happy that you have enjoyed Sir Albert’s neighborhood and other facilities of the hotel and Sir Albert and his staff would be very grateful if you could give us another chance to fully meet your expectations.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

901 - 907 of 1,390 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed there and were a little disappointed - the room was very dark as the main colour is black. The curtains had a large stain on them, the furnishing looked like they were domestic quality and as the hotel is only a year old and they are already showing signs of wear I don't think they will last.

On the plus side they offered us a drink when we arrived, the staff were friendly and the location is good.

I don't think it was value for the money we paid.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fred-pollak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Fred-Pollak,

First of all Sir Albert wants to thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at his Private Mansion in Amsterdam. Of course he is disappointed that he could not meet up to all your expectations and apologizes for the inconvenience.

Sir Albert is proud on his staff and he has brought your compliments to the attention of those concerned.

Despite of your disappointment we hope that we can welcome you again.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is a lovely little hotel. Spent a v. Comfortable 2 nights here.
Pros: proximity to central Amsterdam & the mkts
Cons: parking was a problem . Typical narrow city streets, can only park in front of the hotel for a v. Limited time, but then they call their valet parking to take your car.
The problem we had is that even those few spots were taken so had to go around a few times before we could even park to get into reception.

Once checked in, thought, the room was great, comfy bed, clean, warm and cosy room. Staff were friendly. Check in & out can take some time tho when there are many guests as there is a small reception area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grandville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Grandville,

Sir Albert is delighted that you enjoyed your stay at his Private Mansion. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

Also Sir Albert need to go around a few times now and then it is a common problem in Amsterdam that’s why he is offering all his guests valet parking.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripavisor. It will for Sir Albert and his staff to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed here for a city break. The hotel is very modern and in a great location within walking distance of the museum district and the market. There are lots of great restaurants nearby. Public transportation is right outside. We were greeted with a glass of prosecco and an orientation to Amsterdam. The people at the desk were friendly and helpful throughout all of our visit. The room was very modern and comfortable. This is an excellent place to stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eleanor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Eleanor N,

Sir Albert and his staff greatly appreciated your lovely words in your review regarding to your stay at Sir Albert’s Private Mansion.

We all hope that we may have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The hotel is in a good location - close to the Museum district. The staff are helpful. Breakfast spread was good and the room was clean & modern.

More than anything, I loved the tidbits of wisdom and wit all over this hotel - little nuggets of wisdom are distributed around your room. Do keep your eyes open to find these :).

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TejaswiniTilak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bram H, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear TejaswiniTilak,

On behalf of Sir Albert I want to thank you for taking the time to write about your stay on Tripadvisor.

He is delighted that you loved his tidbits and nuggets of wisdom.

It will be an honour for Sir Albert and his staff to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Good hotel in a perfect location. Spent very little time in the hotel but were struck by the attentiveness of the staff who were always happy to help or just chat. Hotel staff are often either fawning or aloof so it's nice to hold a conversation with staff without that awkwardness.
Although the hotel is a good half hour walk from the centre, this was a bonus for us. We took different routes into town every day and came across all sorts of interesting places that we otherwise might not have found. Of course, you can always take the tram.
The only criticisms I would have is that the pillows are too big (woke up with a cricked neck on the first morning) and we had a power point that shot our adaptor out when we plugged it in, causing it to smash a glass. Small points that did not affect our stay in this very good hotel. Rooms are well equiped and a good size for Amsterdam and ours had a great view over the canal. Not affected by external noise at all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sneak111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Snekar 111,

On behalf of Sir Albert I want to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Sir Albert’s Private Mansion. As you noted Sir Albert’s Mansion is located in an interesting and upcoming neighborhood.

Guest Service is amongst Sir Albert’s highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

Your concerns regarding the pillows and the power point in your room have been reviewed by Sir Albert and he has brought your comments to the attention of those concerned. You can always let Sir Albert’s staff know if you experience any issues. So we can solve any issues straight away.

I hope that we may have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Sir Albert is a very stylish, modern hotel near Amsterdam Centre.
The staff is young, personal and very service minded, they can help you with everything you need.

The rooms are small, but just big enough, you're not in Amsterdam to spend time in your hotel room anyway - although you want to with Sir Albert's beds. Best bed I've ever laid in. Ever.

The breakfast is tasteful and elegant and there is a charming marked near by.

I will definitely stay here again next time I go to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Julie S,

Sir Albert wants to thank you for these lovely words regarding to your stay at his Private Mansion in Amsterdam.

Next time your staying at his private mansion he recommends to ask for a late check out so you can enjoy the bed even more. ;)

It will be an honour for Sir Albert and his staff to welcome you again in the near future,

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Sir Adam Hotel
#27 of 374 in Amsterdam
309 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 374 in Amsterdam
895 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#29 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#24 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,102 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#12 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,252 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Albert Hotel

Address: Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $141 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Amsterdam, Sir Albert is a luxury boutique hotel with the finest design and boutique accommodations. Walking distance of Amsterdam's Museumplein and the vibrant Leidseplein, plus attentive, friendly and faultless service at all times. Sir Albert Hotel is located in the central area "De Pijp". Home to literati, artists, fashion designers, entrepreneurs and the city's most famous market, the Albert Cuyp. De Pijp is also close to the Royal Concertgebouw, for lovers of classical music. Sample Sir Albert firsthand by staying in one of his 90 guest rooms and suites, all created by international award-winning designers BK Architecture. This makes Sir Albert a unique luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sir Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing