We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable Stay”
Review of Sir Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sir Albert Hotel
Ranked #34 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our 10 day stay at the Sir Albert. Staff service was impeccable and its strategic location near the Albert Cuyp Market, a tram line, and walking distance of the Rijks Museum and Van Gogh Museum was also highly desirable. Our room was large by European standards. We also appreciated the free wifi. The breakfast was good though high priced for American standards. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BertC602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear BertC602,

On behalf of Sir Albert I want to thank you for your kind words regarding to your stay at Sir’s Albert Private Mansion.

We are grateful for you support and do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you to Park Hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    371
    88
    24
    15
See reviews for
102
752
54
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg, France
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

A charming hotel. Room very cool.
Very well designed.
Excellent service.
A very recommanded place.
Good located, not very far from the center by tram: L. 16 or 24 or 3.
Valet parking (55 euros for 2 days).
PS : mini red district near by !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Dominique S,

Sir Albert wants to thank you for these lovely words regarding to your stay at his Private Mansion in Amsterdam.

We hope that we may have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Selected by travel agent, but great choice in museum district. Very accommodating staff. Good recommendations for dinner. Front desk person by the name of Jop was very helpful, but so was everyone else. No request was a problem.

Room Tip: Canal view room smaller than street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Ellis J,

First of all Sir Albert wants to thank you for sharing your Sir Albert Hotel experience on Tripadvisor.

Sir Albert has brought your comments to the attention of Jop and he is honored that his name is mentioned in your kind review.

It will be an honor for Sir Albert and his staff to welcome you again at Sir Albert’s Private Mansion.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Great hotel! The location is a very short walk to 2 different tram stops. It's a short tram ride to the Central part of the city and we just loved the area right around the hotel. You have the market and plenty of restaurants within walking distance. The staff's attention to detail and sense of urgency was awesome!!! We were greeted with cucumber water & a glass of Prosecco and then escorted to our room which was small but very nice. They walked us through all the technology and we felt at home.

The Wi-Fi was fast and supported all of our technology. Even though we had the do not disturb light on until later in the day every time we came back the room it was always refreshed. Also every time we ran into the staff we were greeted with a warm hello or a bright smile. This is a great hotel to stay in and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Adrienne S,

Sir Albert is happy to note your kind comments regarding to your stay at his Private Mansion. Guest Service is amongst his highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

On behalf of Sir Albert I want to thank you for taking the time to write this extensive review.

We hope that we may have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Great hotel. Fantastic location. Rooms are quite small but really well done and very comfortable beds and linen. Nice touches including a turn-down service in the evening with little messages stuck to the mirror. Very busy restaurant downstairs so the atmosphere is very vibrant. All in all highly recommend this one.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor have lovely skylights that open and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dryhillkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Dryhillkate,

On behalf of Sir Albert I want to thank you for taking the time to write this review on Tripadvisor.

Sir Albert greatly appreciated your lovely words and also wants to thank you for recommending his Private Mansion.

It will be an honor for him and his staff to welcome you again.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Writing a review of Sir Albert Hotel is all about striking the right balance: Expectations vs the actual experience, ambitions vs execution, ... it's of course subjective, so please have this in mind in the further.

I won't say too much about the design and styling of the hotel, except that it's extremely masculine, dark and sort of brutal. The small "study" in the lobby is a nice place to hang, in particularly in the evening when the lively Izakaya can be a notch too loud. Speaking of that, the Izakaya is a major asset to this place, both for its lovely food and for the vibe that it brings to the place. It's a really cool place!

So why the somewhat lukewarm feedback from us? It's the small stuff that in a way undermines the whole concept of boutique hotels, namely the extra service, the attention to detail and the "extra touch". Some examples: When you are introduced to your room, the coffee machine is demonstrated and explained, but come coffee time, there are only two capsules there (for two persons in a suite - that's just cheap). You are explained that the "Do not disturb" sign - unlike in other places - are strictly respected so that you need to remember to switch it off in order to have your room cleaned, only to experience that this is definitely not so (while attending to private business, if you catch the drift...). The breakfast in the otherwise lovely Izakaya is nice, but has a very limited selection, a buffet that runs out of food all the time, and a smiling (and informal and really nice) but surprisingly inefficient staff taking orders for eggs (impressive eggs menu!) and tea/coffee. AND it costs a whopping 25 EUR (a bit less if you pre-order).

But the room that we had is nice, albeit a tad bit "über-designed", the cleaning flawless, the beds fine and the linen supersmooth. You'd expect some noise from the Izakaya or even the tramway outside, but no. The location is also superb for museum-hopping, and it is conveniently located 1 minute away from the nearest tramway stop, so you can get anywhere within the city as easy as pie.

So in short, a really nice stay, but not entirely as expected, which is of course mostly on us, and not entirely as promised, which is something that Sir Albert should work on. But I will be happy to recommend this place nonetheless, all things considered!

Room Tip: Seeing as the suite was not much bigger than an average room elsewhere, I'd guess that I'd r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Audungr,

On behalf of Sir Albert I want to thank you for taking the time to write this extensive and kind review on Tripadvisor.

Sir Albert is sorry that he could not meet up to all your expectations but is delighted to note that you also enjoyed many aspects of his Private Mansion.

Your concerns have been reviewed by Sir Albert and he has brought your comments to the attention of those concerned. Of course you can always let Sir Albert’s staff know if you experience any issues during your stay so we can try to solve any issues straight away.

We are grateful for your support and do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was superb. The location was great being close to a tram stop. The decor was very trendy. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was very quiet and the bed was large and comfortable. The bar on the ground floor serves delicious buffet breakfast in the morning and decent cocktails and sushi in the evening. Would love yo stay again next time I'm in Amsterdam.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Bel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Bel C,

Sir Albert and his staff are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

On behalf of Sir Albert i want to thank you for sharing your Sir Albert experience on Tripadvisor.

It will be an honor to welcome you again at Sir Albert's Private Mansion.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 367 in Amsterdam
837 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#25 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,034 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#26 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,447 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#15 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Albert Hotel

Property: Sir Albert Hotel
Address: Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Amsterdam, Sir Albert is a luxury boutique hotel with the finest design and boutique accommodations. Walking distance of Amsterdam's Museumplein and the vibrant Leidseplein, plus attentive, friendly and faultless service at all times. Sir Albert Hotel is located in the central area "De Pijp". Home to literati, artists, fashion designers, entrepreneurs and the city's most famous market, the Albert Cuyp. De Pijp is also close to the Royal Concertgebouw, for lovers of classical music. Sample Sir Albert firsthand by staying in one of his 90 guest rooms and suites, all created by international award-winning designers BK Architecture. This makes Sir Albert a unique luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sir Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing