We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Boutique Hotel with Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #31 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel with Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Great hotel! The location is a very short walk to 2 different tram stops. It's a short tram ride to the Central part of the city and we just loved the area right around the hotel. You have the market and plenty of restaurants within walking distance. The staff's attention to detail and sense of urgency was awesome!!! We were greeted with cucumber water & a glass of Prosecco and then escorted to our room which was small but very nice. They walked us through all the technology and we felt at home.

The Wi-Fi was fast and supported all of our technology. Even though we had the do not disturb light on until later in the day every time we came back the room it was always refreshed. Also every time we ran into the staff we were greeted with a warm hello or a bright smile. This is a great hotel to stay in and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Adrienne S,

Sir Albert is happy to note your kind comments regarding to your stay at his Private Mansion. Guest Service is amongst his highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

On behalf of Sir Albert I want to thank you for taking the time to write this extensive review.

We hope that we may have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    323
    72
    19
    11
See reviews for
78
636
44
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Great hotel. Fantastic location. Rooms are quite small but really well done and very comfortable beds and linen. Nice touches including a turn-down service in the evening with little messages stuck to the mirror. Very busy restaurant downstairs so the atmosphere is very vibrant. All in all highly recommend this one.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor have lovely skylights that open and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dryhillkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Dryhillkate,

On behalf of Sir Albert I want to thank you for taking the time to write this review on Tripadvisor.

Sir Albert greatly appreciated your lovely words and also wants to thank you for recommending his Private Mansion.

It will be an honor for him and his staff to welcome you again.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Writing a review of Sir Albert Hotel is all about striking the right balance: Expectations vs the actual experience, ambitions vs execution, ... it's of course subjective, so please have this in mind in the further.

I won't say too much about the design and styling of the hotel, except that it's extremely masculine, dark and sort of brutal. The small "study" in the lobby is a nice place to hang, in particularly in the evening when the lively Izakaya can be a notch too loud. Speaking of that, the Izakaya is a major asset to this place, both for its lovely food and for the vibe that it brings to the place. It's a really cool place!

So why the somewhat lukewarm feedback from us? It's the small stuff that in a way undermines the whole concept of boutique hotels, namely the extra service, the attention to detail and the "extra touch". Some examples: When you are introduced to your room, the coffee machine is demonstrated and explained, but come coffee time, there are only two capsules there (for two persons in a suite - that's just cheap). You are explained that the "Do not disturb" sign - unlike in other places - are strictly respected so that you need to remember to switch it off in order to have your room cleaned, only to experience that this is definitely not so (while attending to private business, if you catch the drift...). The breakfast in the otherwise lovely Izakaya is nice, but has a very limited selection, a buffet that runs out of food all the time, and a smiling (and informal and really nice) but surprisingly inefficient staff taking orders for eggs (impressive eggs menu!) and tea/coffee. AND it costs a whopping 25 EUR (a bit less if you pre-order).

But the room that we had is nice, albeit a tad bit "über-designed", the cleaning flawless, the beds fine and the linen supersmooth. You'd expect some noise from the Izakaya or even the tramway outside, but no. The location is also superb for museum-hopping, and it is conveniently located 1 minute away from the nearest tramway stop, so you can get anywhere within the city as easy as pie.

So in short, a really nice stay, but not entirely as expected, which is of course mostly on us, and not entirely as promised, which is something that Sir Albert should work on. But I will be happy to recommend this place nonetheless, all things considered!

Room Tip: Seeing as the suite was not much bigger than an average room elsewhere, I'd guess that I'd r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Audungr,

On behalf of Sir Albert I want to thank you for taking the time to write this extensive and kind review on Tripadvisor.

Sir Albert is sorry that he could not meet up to all your expectations but is delighted to note that you also enjoyed many aspects of his Private Mansion.

Your concerns have been reviewed by Sir Albert and he has brought your comments to the attention of those concerned. Of course you can always let Sir Albert’s staff know if you experience any issues during your stay so we can try to solve any issues straight away.

We are grateful for your support and do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was superb. The location was great being close to a tram stop. The decor was very trendy. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was very quiet and the bed was large and comfortable. The bar on the ground floor serves delicious buffet breakfast in the morning and decent cocktails and sushi in the evening. Would love yo stay again next time I'm in Amsterdam.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Bel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Bel C,

Sir Albert and his staff are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

On behalf of Sir Albert i want to thank you for sharing your Sir Albert experience on Tripadvisor.

It will be an honor to welcome you again at Sir Albert's Private Mansion.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful 2 night stay here, quiet location, tasteful decor, helpful staff, delicious breakfast, the most amazing pillows!! Couldn't fault it would definitely return and highly recommend *****
Bike hire was streamless, close to local amenities. Fabulous!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Debbie B,

Sir Albert wants to thank you for these lovely words regarding to your stay at his Private Mansion in Amsterdam. Like you “Sir Albert likes the finer things”.

We hope that we may have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

One of my favourite hotels of our whole trip. When we arrived we were in awe of the staff. They spend so much time explaining the city and suggesting bars and restaurants. They really made us feel welcome.
Special mention to one of the workers Tim who spent significant time helping us to plan our trip.
The room made good use of the space available and you didn’t feel cramped. It is in the museum side of town so a little bit out of town, however we found everything we needed in close proximity and it wasn’t too much of a journey to the centre of town.
Would recommend this hotel, it was quite a beautiful, quirky hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenna o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Jenna O,

Sir Albert and his staff greatly appreciated your lovely words in this extensive review. Especially Tim is honored that his name is mentioned in your kind review.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor and recommending Sir Albert.

It will be an honor for Sir Albert and his staff to welcome you again.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is modern and chic. The deco is stylist and comfortable. My sister and I stayed for one night with breakfast included. The bed was very comfy, we didn't want to get up in the morning! The quality of breakfast was top notch. You get a choice of hot breakfast plus the continental buffet bar. It was the best breakfast I had in a hotel in Europe! Highly recommended for anyone looking for a relaxing break in Amsterdam!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ_TravelExpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear JJ_TravelExpress,

First of all thank you for taking the time to write this extensive review for Sir Albert and sharing your personal experience on Tripadvisor.

Sir Albert is happy to note that you enjoyed every aspect of his Private Mansion.

It will be an honor for Sir Albert and his Staff to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#32 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#24 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Amsterdam, Sir Albert is a luxury boutique hotel with the finest design and boutique accommodations. Walking distance of Amsterdam's Museumplein and the vibrant Leidseplein, plus attentive, friendly and faultless service at all times. Sir Albert Hotel is located in the central area "De Pijp". Home to literati, artists, fashion designers, entrepreneurs and the city's most famous market, the Albert Cuyp. De Pijp is also close to the Royal Concertgebouw, for lovers of classical music. Sample Sir Albert firsthand by staying in one of his 90 guest rooms and suites, all created by international award-winning designers BK Architecture. This makes Sir Albert a unique luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing