We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy hotel, very enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Trendy hotel, very enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for 1 night on 15th March. Lovely hotel. Only thing I'd say is to be aware it's a little bit away from the centre but once we got our bearings we found it fun to use the trams. We were told the hotel is situated in an up and coming part of Amsterdam. It's 5 stops on the tram from the town centre and they run very regularly. Hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff were very friendly. Like everyone else has said the beds are extremely comfortable. We had a drink in the hotel bar at about 1.30am and noticed the music was still very loud at that time. We were on the 3rd floor and didn't hear any noise but I wouldn't like to stop in the rooms above the bar. Having said that we'd stop there again as it was a lovely hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 796Susanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Susan A,

Sir Albert wants to thank you for taking the time to write this kind review. He is grateful for your comments regarding to the music from the bar/restaurant as such information enables him to continually monitor and improve the service we are offering.

We hope that we may have the pleasure to welcome you again at Sir Albert Private Mansion.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    288
    56
    19
    6
See reviews for
65
554
38
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Lovely hotel in great area. Little bit of a hike to the centre but trams close by. The staff were very friendly and rooms whilst compact were very nice and modern. The breakfast was good value too.pefect for friends & families alike.

Room Tip: get high up cracking views over to the museum area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterm62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear peterm62,

On behalf of Sir Albert I want to thank you for your support and sharing your personal Sir Albert experience on Tripadvisor.

I hope that we may have the honor to welcome you again.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My boyfriend booked the hotel having looked at various deals and different hotels, and Sir Albert was the clear favourite. Sir Albert is a little way out of the town centre, which suited us perfectly - it was a hotel aimed more at couples rather than 'stag/hen weekends'.

The rooms were clean and comfortable - we had a Deluxe room which overlooked a courtyard (which was later found out was the back of a Red Light District studio) but we had no problems with sound. The bed was comfortable, the shower was a really good, powerful shower and we had a very nice Illy coffee machine at the bedside. The downside was that the room got very warm in the night and there is a security light in the hall which was a bit bright for the room and woke me up in the night.

The staff were courteous and friendly - giving us a map of the city and pointing out the flower market, points of interest and the local area.

Sir Albert's restaurant is very popular and you should book as early as possible if you want to go. If not, you are able to grab a drink from the bar and have this in the snug.

We'd definitely visit Sir Albert again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonkeyBeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear MonkeyBeak,

Sir Albert wants to thank you for writing this extensive review and he was sorry to learn that he disappointed you regarding some aspect of your room.

You can always let us know during your stay if you experience any issues in your room so we can check if a room change is possible.

Sir Albert hopes that you will not judge us solely on the this experience and that we can welcome you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

It was very nice to come back to Sir Albert with its great location and friendly staff (who even recognised me !).

As always, rooms are clean, beds are probably the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever slept in.

But, and its a big BUT .....

If you want me to come back to your establishment, either :

(a) Turn down the volume of the music in the bar after 22:00
or
(b) Improve your sound insulation between ground and first floor

It is simply unacceptable for paying guests, who pay to have a good nights sleep to be kept awake until after midnight by the thumping loud music from the bar downstairs.

The breakfast is also poor value for money and the service at breakfast had got worse, not better since my previous visit.

Room Tip: Make sure they don't put you in a first floor room unless you enjoy listening to thumping loud m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John1450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear John1450,

Firstly, on behalf of Sir Albert may I apologize for the disappointment you have expressed regarding to the music of the bar and the breakfast service.

I'm grateful for your comments as such information enables us to continually monitor and improve the service we are offering.

Sir Albert wants to thank you for sharing you experience on Tripadvisor and also for your kind words! Sir Albert hopes that you will not judge his Private Mansion solely on the this experience and that we can welcome you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed at Sir Albert for four nights in February 2014. Location was excellent - close to nice restaurants and cafés, 10 minutes' walk to several famous museums, but still quiet and next to a beautiful canal. We had a deluxe room, but to be honest it was really compact living. Comfortable bed with luxurious bedlinen and big pillows. Cleaning was spotless and breakfast was pricey but good. The entire hotel has an extremely pleasant and cosy atmosphere with a nice lounge. Above all we would like to thank Leonie and Arturo at the reception desk for the most helpful and friendly service we have ever experienced on any of our many, many travels around European capitals. Next time we go to Amsterdam, there is no doubt where we'll stay!

Room Tip: A room facing the canal is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Carina F,

It was a pleasure for Sir Albert to note how much you have enjoyed your stay at his Mansion in Amsterdam

I have brought your compliments to the attention of those concerned and they were flattered.

It will be an honor to welcome you again at Sir Albert’s Mansion.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We tracked down a good deal via Mr and Mrs Smith and stayed in a Sir Deluxe room. Staff were helpful, rooms were spotless - white cotton, black marble and chrome - and fabulously comfortable beds. We had a room at the back of the hotel so weren't troubled by noise. Illy coffee maker in our room and 12 noon check-out on our last day. We gave breakfast a miss - at €25.50 per person it seemed a bit on the pricey side - but there are loads of lovely cafes and cake shops close by. Also lovely sofa area downstairs if you just need to take the weight off your feet.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter. It's worth specifying that you want a room with a bath (rather t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JD2007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear JD2007_12,

Sir Albert was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at his Mansion. On behalf of Sir Albert I want to thank you for taking the time to share your Sir Albert Private Mansion experience on Tripadvisor.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed here recently at the end of a work trip for some fun.

Absolutely loved everything about the hotel! Check in was great with a glass of prosecco whilst we waited. The staff were so friendly recommending bars for us to visit & offering to get us into the secret bar nearby & genuinely seemed to are of everything was ok for you.

Room was lovely, loved the shower room. Coffee pods as appreciated also.

Bar was fun with yummy cocktails. Did not eat dinner here but looked like it would have been great.

Breakfast was great & super fresh.

The hotel reminded me of the Hoxton in London, will definitely be back when I return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Request a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinkletravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Twinkletravel1,

On behalf of Sir Albert I want to thank you for your kind and lovely words regarding the Mansion of Sir Albert and also for sharing your Sir Albert Hotel experience on Tripadvisor.

Next time you visit Amsterdam Sir Alberts highly recommends to try the delicious food at the Japanese IZAKAYA Asian Kitchen & Bar.

When Sir Albert visits London he will definitely take a peek at the Hoxton Hotel. Once again thank you, and it will be an honor for us to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel De Hallen
#20 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 572 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#30 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 838 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#22 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,997 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Amsterdam, Sir Albert is a luxury boutique hotel embodying the modern aristocratic attitude. That means: living like the upper crust but having an approach that's distinctly down to earth. In this luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam you get: the finest design and boutique accommodation within walking distance of Amsterdam's art-packed Museumplein and the vibrant Leidseplein, plus attentive, friendly and faultless service at all times.Sir Albert lives in De Pijp, the Quartier Latin of Amsterdam. Home to literati, artists, fashion designers, entrepreneurs and the city's most famous market, the Albert Cuyp. De Pijp is also close to the Royal Concertgebouw, for lovers of classical music. And for lovers of shopping, you're a leisurely stroll from Van Baerlestraat and the legendary P.C. Hooftstraat. Sample Sir Albert firsthand by staying in one of his 90 guest rooms and suites, all created by international award-winning designers BK Architecture. This makes Sir Albert a unique luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing