We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice well located hotel...with very small rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #24 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice well located hotel...with very small rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Located in the centre, just outside the hustle and bustle. Has very good service and works well at what i think it wants to be: a funky but welcoming hotel.
Service is very good and staff strive to be helpful. Both the restaurant downstairs and the room service are good.
The only issue is room size. I stayed in a normal room which was seriously small. You can upgrade at a relatively small cost (at least you could while i was there), but be warned classic rooms ar really only viable if you are on your own and, even then, quite cramped - if very well appointed.
Having said that, if you want a base which is central and has character (without costing a bomb) i would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElBar72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    310
    63
    19
    7
See reviews for
72
605
43
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

While in Europe on business for several weeks I decided to spend a weekend in Amsterdam to see the newly renovated Rijksmuseum. I wanted to be close to the museums and the Sir Albert fit the bill. The hotel is a lovely boutique hotel. The rooms are "Europe small" but well thought out. The bed was comfortable with high quality sheets. There was an in room espresso machine. Upon check in a was provided a glass of wine and a detailed overview of the neighborhood. The staff queried what I was interested in and made fantastic recommendations. It was these small touches that made my stay memorable. The hotel restaurant is amazing and not to be missed. With nearby tram stops the location is convenient for all and ideal for those seeking to avoid the insanity of central Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babuloki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Located next to the tram station leading to the Amsterdam main train station, it's conviniently located, the staff is very friendly, the rooms are not too big, but you don't spend your time there anyway.. :-)

Nicely decorated, would go there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gyorigabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel, on first appearances is one of style and sophistication however, after staying there for a few days we discovered that it was all very cosmetic. The staff had an air of arrogance about them and we didn't find them very friendly or welcoming at all. We stayed for three nights and our room was not serviced once. On the second day, we went to reception and asked them to make up our room and we got a "certainly sir" with a rather sarcastic smile. Needless to say, it was not made up. On the third and final day we had to ask again, this time making a point of demanding that it was done. We got clean towels and that was it! No cleaning, no emptying the rubbish bin, no making the bed...nothing! Would I stay here again? No, not even if they paid me!
Positives - great location, comfy bed and a fantastic Japanese restaurant!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aquaporin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This place is definitely an asset for Amsterdam, and especially for this area called 'de Pijp' ( which is great but still needed a good hotel). Despite everything being very hip and modern ( very, very nicely decorated), you don't feel out of place as the staff is lovely, warm and very professional. They do everything to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Only the best materials are used ( sheets, pillows) etc. Yes, the rooms are not too big...but does it matter?? they are efficient, cosy and well designed. Lovely shower and all kinds of neat gadgets such as mobile lightning ( so no need to get out of bed to change the lights) and music from your iphone straight to the boombox.
Unfortunatley, we didn't have the chance to have dinner of breakfast this time...so I guess that is a good reason to come back!

Room Tip: Our room was facing the busy Amsterdam street but did seriously didn't matter! The rooms are rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dagje74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Me and partner stayed in Amsterdam from Sunday to Saturday last week and decided for the last night of our stay to upgrade to Sir Albert, we really kicked ourselves that it wasn't a longer stay because the hotel was exceptional. We checked in quite speedily even though we came quite early (around half 11am) and were given a room on the third floor, sadly without a view but you can't have everything. The room was of small size but quite compact. The room comes with complimentary coffee maker, coffee pods and a range of teas (the chamomile tea was the best I've ever had). There's also a flat screen television with British channels! The décor is minimalist but chic. I would have preferred a more warm colour or some art on the walls but that's not really the vibe they're going for. Unlike many people on this site, our room had a separate bathroom with a gloriously sized bath which you can enjoy with your complimentary robes and slippers. The room also came with a copy of one of my favourite books, Middlemarch, so I obviously saw that as a massive plus. We were tempted by the room service which sounded delicious (gourmet burgers and chips), but decided to get out for our last night. The hotel restaurant also looked appetising but was jammed packed.

Pros - The comfiest bed I've ever rested my weary head on. Stellar customer service; the man who showed up to our room, Tim, was very friendly and informative. Lots of gadgets if that floats your boat. The location is nice if you want to explore the more arty side of town, with market stalls galore.

Cons - Now this would be a huge issue if we were staying longer, the shower in our room kept cutting out every 20 seconds and had to be constantly pushed in and would then turn on scalding hot so it was nigh on impossible to have a shower. Such a pity as it was such a lovely pressure and I'm assuming would be very refreshing. As this is a four star hotel, I'm assuming it's a technical difficulty and not that you have to hold it in to make it work?! Surely not. Just be warned if you receive room 312 that you may have to watch out for that.

All told, a comfy, relaxing stay with a VIP service. We really didn't want to leave, (especially at half 6 the next morning!).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed at the Sir Albert for 3 nights as part of a package deal.

Location
The Sir Albert is in a great location to explore the city. Just far enough away from the main shopping\bars\attractions for it not to be busy and noisy but not far enough that you have to take a taxi or tram to get anywhere. It's about a 10 min walk to the main shopping district and there are plenty of places to eat and drink close by.

Check In
This was quick and easy, the staff very helpful and attentive. Was given a map of the city with various attractions pointed out which was very helpful.

Room - 322
The room was a good size with modern decor and had nice touches such as remote controlled lighting and a coffee machine, kettle and well stocked mini bar (prices not too bad). The 'rain forest' shower was particularly nice! Only issue was that we had an adjoining room on one side and noise can be heard through the connecting door, so it depends on how noisy the neighbours are as to whether this is an issue. Good TV with a couple of English channels and lots of hotel info.

Restaurant
We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food quality but will say that breakfast did seem a little steep. As with other reviewers, we found that there were plenty of places to get breakfast nearby at a fraction of the price. Must mention a nearby place called 'Bagels and Beans' which did great breakfast deals and really nice bagels and coffee. Also, there is an Irish pub a bit further on which does a full English.

Other
Hotel has free wifi throughout and a nice lounge area with open fire to relax in after a long day walking around the city. I would recommend going to The Heineken Experience, House of Bols, Rijksmuseum and try to do a canal cruise. Would also recommend booking a shuttle bus to and from the airport as this was cheaper than getting a cab.

All in all this is a really nice hotel and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank portmancp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel De Hallen
#26 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#29 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#21 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,085 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Amsterdam, Sir Albert is a luxury boutique hotel embodying the modern aristocratic attitude. That means: living like the upper crust but having an approach that's distinctly down to earth. In this luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam you get: the finest design and boutique accommodation within walking distance of Amsterdam's art-packed Museumplein and the vibrant Leidseplein, plus attentive, friendly and faultless service at all times.Sir Albert lives in De Pijp, the Quartier Latin of Amsterdam. Home to literati, artists, fashion designers, entrepreneurs and the city's most famous market, the Albert Cuyp. De Pijp is also close to the Royal Concertgebouw, for lovers of classical music. And for lovers of shopping, you're a leisurely stroll from Van Baerlestraat and the legendary P.C. Hooftstraat. Sample Sir Albert firsthand by staying in one of his 90 guest rooms and suites, all created by international award-winning designers BK Architecture. This makes Sir Albert a unique luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing