We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Definitely stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #24 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Definitely stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I had spent many hours on the internet looking at reviews of hotels in Amsterdam, just wanting to get the right one. I found Sir Albert by chance and what a gem! It was fantastic,so easy to get to just hop on the 16 tram and get of at stop 6 and a 2 min walk. We were welcomed with a glass of prosecco and showed to our room. It was very comfortable and the bedding the best I have slept in. The area around is great lots of small restaurants and a cafe or two. It is only a 10 min walk to all the museums and shops. If you want to head to the centre another 10/15min walk but there is so much around the hotel we really only visited Dam square once.
If you are looking for some advice,book Sir Albert and hopefully you will have a fantastic stay in Amsterdam as we did.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    302
    62
    19
    6
See reviews for
68
583
40
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Sir Albert is by far the best hotel I've stayed at in Amsterdam. I was there for two nights in October. The hotel is in De Pijp, just on the edge of the Museum district and out of the craziness of the centre, and it is a great location to explore one of the "hippest" neighbourhoods in the city. Rooms are minimalist, stylish, airy and have some great finishing touches - Nespresso machine, comfy bed, and a personal message from Sir Albert! Cosy lounge, free wifi and very helpful staff. Plus an excellent restaurant on the ground floor - Izakaya.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Initially I booked this hotel for the wrong weekend (complete mistake on my behalf) however the hotel was fully booked for the weekend I actually had intended to travel. I had booked through Travel Republic who were of very little help in trying to change the booking (I realised I made the mistake after booking at 10pm and called first thing the next morning to be told that it was non-refundable etc). Thankfully Lea "the lady" at the hotel was able to change our room (we upgraded, paid a fee and were happy to do so) so thank you Lea for your assistance as it was very frustrating dealing with Travel Republic.

The hotel itself is beautiful, very well designed with minimalist interior, great shower, comfortable beds, Ipod docks, WiFi, TV etc. The Staff were very professional and very friendly, thanks also to Arthuro for his restaurant suggestions (Indonesian food being his speciality).

The location of this hotel in the Pijp is perfect, not to far from the Museums (check out the new Rijksmuseum), Heiniken Brewery, The market on a saturday is worth checking out if you fancy some street food, but it is a real market (i.e. washing powder/cheeses/meats/bread). The area itself is pretty cool (a bit hipstery), lots of design shops, nice little bars (havanas / Kingfisher bar) and restaurants. Also Little Collin (cafe) is a great spot for breakfast. It is a nice stroll from this area into the red light district (about 20/25 mins). There is also a nice bar/cafe on the corner (looking at the canal) directly opposite the hotel.

I would definitely stay here again when returning to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorcan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We loved staying in the funky "Pijp" neighbourhood--great place to cap off a day of exploring. We had our pick of traditional and international bistros (Moroccan, Indonesian, Surinamese for starters) and then the plethora of great drinking holes on nearby Eerste van der Helststraat (off of the legendary market street of Albert Cuypmarkt. The room was stylish and very comfortable and quiet (deluxe King) with nice touches (lots of counter space in the bathroom, selection of books in the room.) Easy to downtown by tram (or a 20-minute walk past scenic canals) I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again for cool convenience. And, no tourist hordes invade the area at night. Very welcoming staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a stylish and superb hotel in De Pijp. Staff are friendly and helpful and happily directed us to a number of local bars, restaurants, markets etc. in this less-obvious, but interesting suburb.

The room provided the most comfortable bed I've slept in, I would have easily stayed beyond the generous noon check-out time. It was well-equipped with an espresso maker and rain-forest shower. We had a lovely view onto the adjacent canal, towards Rijksmuseum.

One minor issue would be the practicality of the rooms, nowhere for wet towels etc. and the location. However, while the hotel is a significant walk from Central Station, it's very close to Museumplein and some quieter but smart suburbs, away from the usual tourist trail that are worth exploring. If you don't fancy walking, take the tram or better still, stay in the room and enjoy the marshmallow bedding!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
143 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Friendly, solution-minded staff, champagne at check-in.
Its a twenty minute walk along the canal to the convention center. There are great restaurants within minutes. Free WiFi. Spacious, modern rooms, espresso machine in room.

Room Tip: Not much of a view, so the courtyard rooms are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trilife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipton under Wychwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Got a good deal on this Hotel and it was just what we needed for a weekend break away. The Hotel is located a fair way from central station in the Museum district but just hop on a tram for 10 mins and then it is a 2 min walk. Rooms are modern and compact with nice linen and furniture. We didn't eat in the restaurant but we would highly recommend Visaandeschelde which is about a 10 minute walk and the seafood is devine. If you want a modern Hotel away from the centre but within easy reach of Museum and parks then look no further.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Odie1kenobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel De Hallen
#25 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 609 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#29 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#21 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,042 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Amsterdam, Sir Albert is a luxury boutique hotel embodying the modern aristocratic attitude. That means: living like the upper crust but having an approach that's distinctly down to earth. In this luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam you get: the finest design and boutique accommodation within walking distance of Amsterdam's art-packed Museumplein and the vibrant Leidseplein, plus attentive, friendly and faultless service at all times.Sir Albert lives in De Pijp, the Quartier Latin of Amsterdam. Home to literati, artists, fashion designers, entrepreneurs and the city's most famous market, the Albert Cuyp. De Pijp is also close to the Royal Concertgebouw, for lovers of classical music. And for lovers of shopping, you're a leisurely stroll from Van Baerlestraat and the legendary P.C. Hooftstraat. Sample Sir Albert firsthand by staying in one of his 90 guest rooms and suites, all created by international award-winning designers BK Architecture. This makes Sir Albert a unique luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing