We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and great for Amsterdam”
Review of Sir Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sir Albert Hotel
Ranked #38 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Best hotel I've stayed in in Amsterdam. Service was excellent at the front desk and I enjoyed the free glass of prosecco at check in. Room was tiny but well thought out in terms of arrangement. Free wifi and a good coffee machine in the room. All the basics were covered to a high standard i.e. well filled mini bar, snack box and a good hairdryer that's not attached the wall and you don't have to keep your finger on the button to make it work!

The most comfortable bed I have ever slept in.

Room service menu was almost all burgers, arrived in a cute brown paper bag but with no cutlery and was all either a bit dry or really soggy so I didn't eat it. Apart from that a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,020 - 1,026 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed for one night in this relatively new hotel, and were very impressed.
The check in was friendly and personal, taking place in a lovely 'study' along with a glass of prosecco.
The room, whilst small in surface area, was actually very spacious with an excellent bathroom and honestly the most comfortable bed i have ever stayed in.
The lounge area had a complementary Mac for guests to use, and many beautiful art books for one's perusal.
We did not eat at their restaurant instead just had drinks at their bar, but definitely would try it at another point as it was very lively and the food looked excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svale26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed at Sir Albert Hotel for 1 night, very impressive. Hotel and the room are very stylish. The staff was very helpful and introduced places to visit and gave useful advice. The receptionist toured us to the room and introduced everything. The room is adequate and clean. The location is very accessible with tram station nearby.

Definitely recommended for stay at Amsterdam. Will come back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banana0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our stay at the Sir Albert Hotel in Amsterdam was 'the perfect stay'. Every detail has been thought through. From the welcome at the reception, to the authentic telephones and box of Sir's favourites in the room. The Design of the hotel and rooms are classy but warm & 'homy' ; a feature missed in most hotels.
Staff was extremely polite and hospitality without seeming forced. Location is amazing and the breakfast, tasty, healthy, fresh and offers some nice twists on the 'regular' hotel breakfast.

All in all, a true pleasure staying at Sir Albert!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yaela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel was no doubt very stylish but the functionality was put behind design.
The room was ridiculously small, hardly any space to walk around the bed.
The wash basin is in the corner of the room, like in a cheap youth hostel.
Using the reading light was out of the question as it was placed above the bed and even using one of it would burn out the retina of the other.
There were cleanliness issues too (dust covered even visible places).
During the daily "cleaning" nothing was replaced (no coffee, sugar, toiletries) and when asked, the staff wasn't really friendly.
Charging the amount of a so-called "superior" room was far too much concerning what it actually offered.
The value was not in line with the price of it.
Well located though...

Room Tip: No idea of other rooms, but this one on the first floor was tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

When we arrived, the first impression was fine, good location, hotel looks fresh and clean but...
Ours room was on the top flour with open washroom. I have to say room was far too small for two people. Seems they have divided one room space into the toilet, shower cabin and living room with washroom together.
All our stay we always had some problems. Room never was cleaned completely. If you have towels then you don’t have soap or shower gel. If you have shower gel – you don’t have towels. Toilet as well never was cleaned (really disgusting with faeces from previous resident).
Room have coffee machine but you always had to ask for complimentary coffee. If they bring coffee capsules in your room, would be just only one for one person but not for two. How about second resident?
Breakfast was very basic with very limited choice. Every time plates with food were empty. Again and again you always had to ask for cheese, fruits, ham slices, milk or yoghurts.
Every day was the same if you have one you don’t have another or you don’t have nothing at all.

Next time on my business tripe I don’t stay here again. Better old certified friends with well known names but not new ones. Don’t like challenges. So new hotel names with many starts does not mean quality at all!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SonySi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I've stayed in many hotels in Amsterdam and the Sir Albert Hotel is definitely one of the best. It was without a doubt the nicest bed I've ever slept on in my life. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only problem I has was I couldn't make the lobby computer work, no matter how many passwords they gave me.

I would expect rooms of this quality to cost much more. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ktylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Sir Adam Hotel
#28 of 373 in Amsterdam
323 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 373 in Amsterdam
905 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#25 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,591 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,286 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Albert Hotel

Address: Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $139 - $494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Amsterdam, Sir Albert is a luxury boutique hotel with the finest design and boutique accommodations. Walking distance of Amsterdam's Museumplein and the vibrant Leidseplein, plus attentive, friendly and faultless service at all times. Sir Albert Hotel is located in the central area "De Pijp". Home to literati, artists, fashion designers, entrepreneurs and the city's most famous market, the Albert Cuyp. De Pijp is also close to the Royal Concertgebouw, for lovers of classical music. Sample Sir Albert firsthand by staying in one of his 90 guest rooms and suites, all created by international award-winning designers BK Architecture. This makes Sir Albert a unique luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sir Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing