We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well designed rooms and excellent service”
Review of Sir Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sir Albert Hotel
Ranked #38 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have just returned back to the UK after a three night stay at the Sir Albert. Staff were all very helpful and friendly and nothing too much trouble.
Rooms are very well designed. The bed was exceptionally comfy with pillows to sink into.
We noticed other people had commented on the cost of the breakfast 25 euros p.p. We didn't eat breakfast, as wanted a lighter option. Would be great if they introduced this.
We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,027 - 1,033 of 1,394 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel in a lovely location in an interesting part of the city away from the main busy tourist areas but a short walk from the museum area and a very pleasant 20 min walk into city centre. Great being near to an interesting market with some nice bars and cafes. Very helpful and friendly staff, highest quality modern hotel I have been in for some time. Will return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Smart and trendy, most comfortable beds, modern plumbing, attentive staff and helpful advice on the city. Good for local cafes, and the hotel lent us their bicycles to explore. A short walk from Museums, Definition of boutique is dark corridors and no carpet, but robes, slippers, nice toiletries and fancy espresso machine thrown in.

Room Tip: You could hear the trams at the front, maybe choose the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

It is certainly quite different from the standard city hotel with an unusual bedroom layout which includes the wash basin adjacent to the bed. Like most other reviewers I have to agree the bed and pillows are superb, and was pleased our well equipped room included an expresso machine as well as a kettle. I cannot say I warmed to the rather morbid colour scheme and lack of effective lighting in the bedroom.
The location is excellent, being on two tram routes, away from the central tourist zone and close to the museum quarter and Albert Cuypstraat Market (off which on Van der Helstraat are several good cafes for breakfast or lunch).
You can rent bikes at Halfords just along the street for 10 euros a day - a must for getting about in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cestrian56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We booked this hotel as part of a flights / hotel package offered by Secret Escapes and from our first contact with them by email prior to arrival the hotel staff came over as welcoming and accommodating.

There was no problem dropping off our bags early morning, which meant that we could explore Amsterdam without hauling luggage about before the room was ready at 14:00. Sir Albert is on two direct tram routes from the central station, #'s 16 & 24. If arriving by tram walk in the direction of the departing tram, not back into the Albert Cuyp market, and the hotel is on the left before the canal.

The room itself was very comfortable, air conditioned, equipped with a wide screen TV and Bluetooth radio, a safe, ironing and coffee making facilities. Although Albert Cuyp market is a major tourist destination, being at the far end of the street means that the majority do not venture down as far as the hotel despite the “coffeeshop” opposite. The location was very quiet; there are no churches with their bells pealing every hour and the neighbourhood felt safe.

We were there for 3 nights (arrived Saturday, departed Tuesday) and we didn’t have breakfast at the hotel as the local bakeries and patisseries were too inviting, or try the restaurant but it appeared to be very busy each evening.

The hotel is located on the western edge of De Pijp, within easy walking distance of the Rijksmuseum, van Gogh exhibition and Cafe Loetje (go there if you love a good steak). Dam Square is about 10 minutes by tram and it took us about 20 minutes to get to Anne Frank house.

Room Tip: There was no road noise in our room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Amazing hotel! Clean, stylish and comfortable - the bed was fantastic...so comfortable!!!! It was a great stay and I would recommend it to anyone. So easy to get to from the city centre and the staff were great!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My fiancee booked for us to spend two nights at The Sir Albert Hotel for my birthday. What a great hotel she picked. The hotel was in a great location on Albert Cuypstraat between Amsterdams famous market and the museum area. The hotel only opened in January and is absolutely amazing inside with no expense spared on its contemporary decor. The rooms are compact as is most of Amsterdam but extremely elegant.

We got a great deal through last minute which a fraction of the price that we would have paid had we gone through the hotel directly.

I would defiantley recommend this hotel as a couple stay, business or friends away on a trip. Will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Sir Adam Hotel
#29 of 374 in Amsterdam
311 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 374 in Amsterdam
899 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#28 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#25 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,103 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Albert Hotel

Address: Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $140 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Amsterdam, Sir Albert is a luxury boutique hotel with the finest design and boutique accommodations. Walking distance of Amsterdam's Museumplein and the vibrant Leidseplein, plus attentive, friendly and faultless service at all times. Sir Albert Hotel is located in the central area "De Pijp". Home to literati, artists, fashion designers, entrepreneurs and the city's most famous market, the Albert Cuyp. De Pijp is also close to the Royal Concertgebouw, for lovers of classical music. Sample Sir Albert firsthand by staying in one of his 90 guest rooms and suites, all created by international award-winning designers BK Architecture. This makes Sir Albert a unique luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sir Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing