We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool and trendy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #25 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Oxon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cool and trendy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here for work over a 2 night stay. Arrived late and was greeted by an offer of Champagne or rose water at reception. I thought that was a nice touch and was told by my colleagues that they all got offered drinks at check in also. Receptionist walked up with me to take me through the room amenities. Rooms was not massive but well appointed. Bed was really comfortable. Ordered room service and was also very good. Would happily stay here again for work or pleasure

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BadinhoOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    302
    62
    19
    6
See reviews for
69
584
40
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed four nights in July 2013. Even though the booking was for one double room, gave us twin room. Upon protest moved to double room next day.
The light switches unreachable from bed. Every evening we had to ask for the AC to be turned ON which they turned off during the night making it very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jatt_punjabi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
131 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

“Prior to this trip, my husband and I had both been to Amsterdam a handful of times, only using it as a lively thoroughfare between other trips through Europe. Intent upon exploring the city's art and dining scenes, the main draw of the Sir Albert hotel was its close proximity to the culturally rich Leidseplein and Museumplein. I was looking forward to our unique digs, but given that it’s classified as a “boutique” hotel, I was picturing some a somewhat cramped, albeit chic, quarters.
But: not only did the award-winning BK Architects do a fantastic job of making it feel comfortably spacious, they even incorporated quirky, nuanced décor that added character without simply overcrowding the space. My husband particularly loved reading in the communal study, although reading is by no means the only thing to do there, with light food and a sophisticated social scene to enjoy as well. We balked at the pricey IZAKAYA Asian Kitchen & Bar, but having heard so many positive things about it we had to give it a shot, and we were glad we did! Its innovative food and drink, along with a terrace providing a scenic view of the city, were well worth the money. The same can be said for the Sir Albert altogether; this is a truly special spot, and you get what you pay for in one of Amsterdam’s newest gems.”

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Consigliera-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed this week on business for one night. It is a new hotel, very modern with dark decor (including a leather lift). The staff were very friendly and accommodating, for example, finding me some decaffinated coffe capsules for the coffee machine. My colleagues were impressed with the complimentary prosecco on arrival.

However, the business traveller appreciates a good breakfast and a good Internet connection. The Internet was fine, but I understand that free Internet lasts only or 24 hours, then it is an extra charge. Breakfast was an extra 25 Euro, so we stopped at a local bakery instead. At the price they charge per night, they can't justify charging for these extras, that should be standard offerings.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurablue6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Recently stayed at the Sir Albert for 3 nights for a romantic citybreak with my husband. Great location and walking distance to many attractions, shops and restaurants. The hotel is finished to a very high standard, and the unique personal touches really set this hotel apart. The staff at the front desk were very willing to help, calling ahead and confirming activities we had pre-booked online. We were offered breakfast upon arrival, which we found a little steep at €25.50 per person considering there are many delicious patisseries and coffee shops along Albert Cuyp. Without a doubt one of the comfiest beds we have ever slept in!
Would definitely recommend this hotel. Thanks Sir Albert!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chloe Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed in Sir Albert during a week end in June. The hotel is a small trendy boutique hotel. The rooms and corridors are dark, minimalist style. There is a trendy lounge downstairs with a lot of ambiance in the week end. The hotel is in a nice neighborhood not very central though. The service is very bad. We ordered breakfast (yogourts, coffee, orange juin) and everything was delivered to us on a a tray with no plates, no spoons, no sugar, no napkins. The following day we decided to have breakfast in the restaurant and we got down 5 minutes before the end of the breakfast time. They gave us the bill and started cleaning up our table and the restaurant while we where still eating.... In sum, no sense of service whatsoever. I will not stay again in this hotel. Definitely not worth the price. The Sofitel is not much more expensive but is SO MUCH NICER.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marjorie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is my first experience staying at the Sir Albert, a newish, swankish hotel just on the perifery of Amsterdams Central / canal district. The location is good, the historic building, beautifully resored and the enteriors, public spaces and the all important room experiece could not be more welcoming, luxurious and 'Zen-like' for regular business travellers like myself.

If you appreciate cutting edge design, contemporary, slick interiors with a difference, airy spacious rooms and big comfortable beds with quality ammenities, then this hotel is for you.

What I love the most:
- glossy black bathroom, toilets and wooden floors
- white linen privacy blinds
- mood lighting
- the IZAKAYA Japanese fusion restaurant & cocktail bar down stairs i.e. you dont need to leave the hotel for a wonderful culinary experience
- friendly upbeat staff

Room Tip: Higher up the quieter, though you can hear people above you walking around on the wooden floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scoutlook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel De Hallen
#26 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 611 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#29 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#22 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,044 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Amsterdam, Sir Albert is a luxury boutique hotel embodying the modern aristocratic attitude. That means: living like the upper crust but having an approach that's distinctly down to earth. In this luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam you get: the finest design and boutique accommodation within walking distance of Amsterdam's art-packed Museumplein and the vibrant Leidseplein, plus attentive, friendly and faultless service at all times.Sir Albert lives in De Pijp, the Quartier Latin of Amsterdam. Home to literati, artists, fashion designers, entrepreneurs and the city's most famous market, the Albert Cuyp. De Pijp is also close to the Royal Concertgebouw, for lovers of classical music. And for lovers of shopping, you're a leisurely stroll from Van Baerlestraat and the legendary P.C. Hooftstraat. Sample Sir Albert firsthand by staying in one of his 90 guest rooms and suites, all created by international award-winning designers BK Architecture. This makes Sir Albert a unique luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing