We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good example of boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #24 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
oxford
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good example of boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed this week on business for one night. It is a new hotel, very modern with dark decor (including a leather lift). The staff were very friendly and accommodating, for example, finding me some decaffinated coffe capsules for the coffee machine. My colleagues were impressed with the complimentary prosecco on arrival.

However, the business traveller appreciates a good breakfast and a good Internet connection. The Internet was fine, but I understand that free Internet lasts only or 24 hours, then it is an extra charge. Breakfast was an extra 25 Euro, so we stopped at a local bakery instead. At the price they charge per night, they can't justify charging for these extras, that should be standard offerings.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurablue6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    289
    57
    19
    6
See reviews for
65
560
38
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Recently stayed at the Sir Albert for 3 nights for a romantic citybreak with my husband. Great location and walking distance to many attractions, shops and restaurants. The hotel is finished to a very high standard, and the unique personal touches really set this hotel apart. The staff at the front desk were very willing to help, calling ahead and confirming activities we had pre-booked online. We were offered breakfast upon arrival, which we found a little steep at €25.50 per person considering there are many delicious patisseries and coffee shops along Albert Cuyp. Without a doubt one of the comfiest beds we have ever slept in!
Would definitely recommend this hotel. Thanks Sir Albert!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chloe Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed in Sir Albert during a week end in June. The hotel is a small trendy boutique hotel. The rooms and corridors are dark, minimalist style. There is a trendy lounge downstairs with a lot of ambiance in the week end. The hotel is in a nice neighborhood not very central though. The service is very bad. We ordered breakfast (yogourts, coffee, orange juin) and everything was delivered to us on a a tray with no plates, no spoons, no sugar, no napkins. The following day we decided to have breakfast in the restaurant and we got down 5 minutes before the end of the breakfast time. They gave us the bill and started cleaning up our table and the restaurant while we where still eating.... In sum, no sense of service whatsoever. I will not stay again in this hotel. Definitely not worth the price. The Sofitel is not much more expensive but is SO MUCH NICER.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marjorie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is my first experience staying at the Sir Albert, a newish, swankish hotel just on the perifery of Amsterdams Central / canal district. The location is good, the historic building, beautifully resored and the enteriors, public spaces and the all important room experiece could not be more welcoming, luxurious and 'Zen-like' for regular business travellers like myself.

If you appreciate cutting edge design, contemporary, slick interiors with a difference, airy spacious rooms and big comfortable beds with quality ammenities, then this hotel is for you.

What I love the most:
- glossy black bathroom, toilets and wooden floors
- white linen privacy blinds
- mood lighting
- the IZAKAYA Japanese fusion restaurant & cocktail bar down stairs i.e. you dont need to leave the hotel for a wonderful culinary experience
- friendly upbeat staff

Room Tip: Higher up the quieter, though you can hear people above you walking around on the wooden floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scoutlook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia & London UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My dear Sir Albert,
thanks so much for an excellent weekend in your funky Amsterdam establishment.
Your reception staff are excellent and recommended and booked a lovely Indonesian rice table restaurant for us, taxis and other useful things.
We enjoyed eating at your own chichi restaurant and the breakfast included for our stay was outstanding as was the delightful Scottish waitress.
The room was perfectly pleasant, however the pillows were so big they were like sleeping on a small wall and after several requests we finally had them changed, really old boy such enormous pillows are quite silly.
We would definitely return to this diamond in Amsterdam, highly recommended in an interesting neighbourhood.
Yours faithfully,
Lady Runamok

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helenish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was our first visit to Amsterdam and although we were there for the European Street Dance Championships we also wanted to treat it like a mini break. Although not off to the best of starts when the luggage was left in Manchester when we arrived at the hotel we were able to check in to our rooms even though it was only mid-morning and we were given an upgrade. The receptionists were lovely and soon supplied us with dental kits and said if we needed anything else just to ask. We were escorted to the rooms & they were just like the photos the beds were so comfortable with really good quality bedding and duvets. One night we were late back &wanted a pizza from room service but it is only served between 11pm and 7am, the receptionist rang us back and said he would get one from across the road at the pizza restaurant ,10 minutes later he brought it up to the room and didn't even add a service charge on . All the staff without exception were friendly & helpful . I can't wait to go back to Amsterdam ,what a lovely clean city to be in where everybody is so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBAIN9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

I came to Amsterdam with my sister and shared a room here. First off the staff are top class. Really they are, and it makes a difference. The rooms are immaculate, have all the things you need, and the things in there are top class.

My only niggle is the bathroom facilities. We had a standard room and the toilet was a little cubicle, the shower was a separate cubicle and the sink was in the room, leaving no space for privacy in the bathroom. I personally hate brushing my teeth in front of people (don't know why) and with this config you must do it... But this would not put me off staying here again, I'd just book my own room.

The evening clientele to the bar are über pretentious, in every way possible right down to their grandiose super high heels. Which does mean the restaurant/bar must be great, unfortunately we could never get near it as it was so busy, but its not a big deal, as we're in Amsterdam, there is loads of choice.

All in all, i would recommend this hotel. Its worth the money.



Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bykergyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel De Hallen
#22 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#30 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 840 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#23 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,004 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Amsterdam, Sir Albert is a luxury boutique hotel embodying the modern aristocratic attitude. That means: living like the upper crust but having an approach that's distinctly down to earth. In this luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam you get: the finest design and boutique accommodation within walking distance of Amsterdam's art-packed Museumplein and the vibrant Leidseplein, plus attentive, friendly and faultless service at all times.Sir Albert lives in De Pijp, the Quartier Latin of Amsterdam. Home to literati, artists, fashion designers, entrepreneurs and the city's most famous market, the Albert Cuyp. De Pijp is also close to the Royal Concertgebouw, for lovers of classical music. And for lovers of shopping, you're a leisurely stroll from Van Baerlestraat and the legendary P.C. Hooftstraat. Sample Sir Albert firsthand by staying in one of his 90 guest rooms and suites, all created by international award-winning designers BK Architecture. This makes Sir Albert a unique luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing