We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jem in the center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Ranked #14 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Monterrey, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A jem in the center”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Even in a city as jam-packed with a lot of bars and bizarre museums as Amsterdam you find this place (bar) right in the heart of the city and it’s great, as simple as that, nice atmosphere, nice and stylish decoration and they serve really good cocktails. The staff are welcoming and attentive. Worth to give it a try!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank German D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,475
    272
    73
    29
    16
See reviews for
270
917
92
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Mind your choice! If you book a double room for 284€/night (which I would not call cheap for a stay not on the weekend), and even if you are a Gold Card Member of Hyatt Group, do not expect to get a room with a view outside and/or a window to open! You will get a room which is not big (that's ok) but with a "window" which is more or less a lookout into the lobby and on the elevators.
This is not acceptable at all and definitely the last time I will stay here. And I will definitely not recommend any of my friend and/or collegues to stay here. Just a bad decision.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank joerghempelmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Normally I am very skeptic when a hotel try to be "too modern" because normally the result is kitsch.
The Room I am in is fantastic...modern with a lot of nice touches that really bring comfort and improve my experience. The shower, the illumination, the room setup are great. ( ok,,,I admit that in the lobby some chairs look very kitschy......).
The registration with Jairo was very efficient and service at the bar was great.
So, localization, service and room amenities make the Andaz an exceptional place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank william w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-AndazWS, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear william w,
Thank you for choosing Andaz Amsterdam for your stay in the city. I am glad you like the hotel and its decor. I will pass on your compliments to the Host and the Bar employees.
We hope to see you soon again.
Toni Hinterstoisser
General Manager - Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Two words, customer service. The staff at the Andaz were fantastic. From the minute I walked in the door following a sleepless trans-Atlantic flight, the staff set the tone for my stay by finding me a room to check in to at 8am so that I could get some much needed rest. They went above and beyond to assist me, including leveraging personal connections to find me sold out tickets to Museum Night.

Aside from the staff, the hotel itself was very nice. Stylishly designed, yet very comfortable. The hotel is also quite conveniently located, within walking distance from the museums, restaurants, and nightlife.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-AndazWS, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Jordan S,
Thank you for your review of Andaz Amsterdam. I am very happy to hear that you liked the hotel and that our employees made your stay comfortable. They are the engine of the hotel and feedback like yours fules them to go further. Thank you!
Toni Hinterstoisser
General Manager - Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I've come to expect a great experience at Andaz properties and the Amsterdam property did not disappoint. Service was terrific with the lobby manned by staff that function as front desk (without the desk) and concierge in a friendly and most helpful way. There is the "library" where you can help yourself to water, juice, tea, etc. and where complimentary wine is served in the evenings; a lobby cafe, and a restaurant that had an imaginative and well executed menu. The location is perfect for walking along the canals, walking to the museums, and strolling the "nine streets". It may be a bit "hip" for those who like more traditional hotels, but we found it comfortable and an overall enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Avoid the internal rooms with no windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParkMarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This hotel is totally unlike anything that you will ever see. Amsterdam is not a great city for hotels, but this one is way out of the ordinary. Forget the usual lobby with bellhops hovering around d for tips, forget the intimidating front desk with the superior attitude, this place is fun with a capital F.
The entrance looks like a criss between Alice in wonderland and a Chihuly showroom. You will be met by a friendly Netherlander with a iPad who will check you in tout de suite, no fuss, no attitude.
You ascend an elevator to your room, the elevator has a glass wall that slides up an outer wall of funky murals. Into the room, no bathroom as such.The shower is behind a frosted glass door, and the separate toilet (so civilized) is behind a regular door that looks like a cupboard but the interior is far from that. The entire interior is decorated in what I call "Late polystyrene Rococco", I cannot thing of any other name. It is a collection of fantasia that is at the same time novel and fun. The beds are marvellous, especially for someone like me with a bad back.
And the whole place is spotless.
The ground floor has no doors, each room is around a corner with more way out decoration than the other. Hard drinks are on the house each afternoon, coffee etc all day. And what coffee!! No hard boiled bitter stuff here. The restaurant has a team of chefs and you sit around. The chefs are having fun, really, chatting about what they are experimenting, tasting each others creation, it is a revelation. And the food is clean, beautifully cooked, artistically presented by the nicest folk and reasonably priced.
If this sounds all to strange and new to you, you are right, but if you are in Amsterdam, you simply must not miss it, so refreshingly different, so "Dutch".
Any downside?
Yes, my fourth trip to Amsterdam, and this was too short.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gourmand34671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-AndazWS, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Gourmand34671,
Warm greetings from the Canals of Amsterdam. Thank you very much for your great and detailed review. Of course, we are very happy that you liked our hotel and your stay but most of all I want to thank you for taking the time to write constructive reviews.
I hope we can welcome you again maybe at your 5th trip to Amsterdam.
Toni Hinterstoisser
General Manager - Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

The Andaz may get across slightly over-designed, sometimes a bit kitsch, however, quality is very decent overall.
Let's start with the pros: location on Prinsengracht is perfect, most attractions walkable, staff is extremely friendly, even to Germans ;), beds are even more comfy than in most Hyatt Hotels and overall food quality is excellent, very good breakfast.
The cons: price - 450 Euros for a standard room, 65 Euros for parking are top dollars without getting the top value; housekeeping left to be desired, we had hairs of our predecessors in the toilet (rectified immediately and professionally though); water pressure in the shower non existent, no use of a rain shower without rain; despite pre agreed late c/o we got a pretty ambiguous comment from the check out staff for turning up 'late'.
All in, I recommend the hotel, would not mind going back, but certainly not at the rate we paid.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank montgolfier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
665 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,271 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,668 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Property: Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing