We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Ranked #13 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed for three nights. Perfect location -- close to everything, but just out of the fray. Charming neighborhood. And the staff was wonderful -- friendly, helpful, and truly service-oriented. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_and_J_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,353
    239
    65
    24
    14
See reviews for
236
835
86
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed on business, and have since rebooked our group there twice. Was super impressed with the level of service they offered. The rooms are a bit small, but functional. I don't know if I'd recommend it for families, as there is some quite risqué art to be found throughout the hotel, and there is no way to have even a smidge of privacy in the rooms, but for couples, solos and business travelers, I would heartily recommend trying this hotel...

Say hi to Roderick - he's the F & B assistant manager, and remembered our group, event six months later. I know it's all good notes system they keep on guests, as I am a former hotelier, but he makes it look and feel as if you are just special.

Room Tip: They seem to vary widely in size, so I'd only say to ask for a different room if it seems tiny t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FoodaholicDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-AndazWS, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear FoodaholicDiana,
Thank you for your great review and for mentioning Roderick. As a former hotelier you know that the systems are one thing but its the people who deliver and for that I am even more happy about your review.
Looking forward to having you back with us one day!
Toni Hinterstoisser
General Manager - Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a long weekend...and loved it! It is perfectly situated to explore the top sights of the city in an upscale neighborhood with fabulous restaurants, wine bars, and shopping. Check-in is with iPads and very quick by eager and friendly staff. They even offer complimentary wine service in the library early evening. While the decor may be garish to some, I enjoyed the mix of themes - Alice in Wonderland, Dutch and local history. Of note - interior rooms do not have windows; and to dine at the restaurant, a reservation is highly recommended.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank monicam570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed for our 35th anniversary and wnated some place special. We were completely thrilled with the hotel and staff. Wonderful service across the board from a attentive and knowledgable staff. The hotel and room itself was beautiful inside and was in a good central location in the city.
Enjoyed the food, enjoyed the bar, enjoyed all of the extras that came with the room. I'd go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Trendy and attractive decor, efficient and helpful staff, comfortable rooms with thoughtful amenities. The shower door and walls were one-way mirror, the shower fixtures and controls worked perfectly, altogether a fine hotel showering experience (something you can't always count upon). The breakfast spread is extensive and first-rate, and they'll also prepare pretty much anything you'd desire. The wait staff at breakfast are all efficient, friendly and helpful...nice way to start the day. Finding the place can be a bit tricky, as it's built to blend in with the houses in Prinsengracht, and only the smallish flags flying out front tip you off that there's a business establishment at hand. Recommended when the budget allows.

Room Tip: I doubt there are any bad ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaymoOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Truly one of the best hotels I've every stayed at. The staff is incredibly professional and courteous, and the "continental" breakfast was astounding. Definitely not what you think of. This was a buffet of fresh, gourmet food some of which is made to order with the chef standing next to you. Rooms were clean, quite and comfortable. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London / Paris
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

We were booked here on a work trip, 20 plus creative types in a design hotel...
The place is in a great part of town and looks great. But it all looks a bit too perfect sometimes. It's a designer on overload when a little restraint and humanity is also needed.
Thankfully that comes in the form of the excellent bar tender who works at a counter, not behind a bar as such. Equally good was the hit breakfast served in warm skillets.
The rooms were a great size - but someone needs to think about just how noisy a fridge can be in the room... Please, all hotel interior designers out there... Put it in the wardrobe sound proofed.
One additional thing... Both a colleague and I asked for none feather pillows, twice, and they never arrived. At this price you expect that service no questions asked!

Would I go back?
Yes
The fact is, it's in a great part of town, is well run, comfortable and even though more pricey than the other places nearby it is worth it.

Room Tip: Away from the lift... Amsterdam is a party town remember...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agoldthorpe1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,465 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Property: Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing