We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Plain on the outside, lux on the inside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Ranked #7 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Plain on the outside, lux on the inside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Trendy and attractive decor, efficient and helpful staff, comfortable rooms with thoughtful amenities. The shower door and walls were one-way mirror, the shower fixtures and controls worked perfectly, altogether a fine hotel showering experience (something you can't always count upon). The breakfast spread is extensive and first-rate, and they'll also prepare pretty much anything you'd desire. The wait staff at breakfast are all efficient, friendly and helpful...nice way to start the day. Finding the place can be a bit tricky, as it's built to blend in with the houses in Prinsengracht, and only the smallish flags flying out front tip you off that there's a business establishment at hand. Recommended when the budget allows.

Room Tip: I doubt there are any bad ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaymoOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,189
    207
    54
    22
    13
See reviews for
202
731
77
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Truly one of the best hotels I've every stayed at. The staff is incredibly professional and courteous, and the "continental" breakfast was astounding. Definitely not what you think of. This was a buffet of fresh, gourmet food some of which is made to order with the chef standing next to you. Rooms were clean, quite and comfortable. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London / Paris
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We were booked here on a work trip, 20 plus creative types in a design hotel...
The place is in a great part of town and looks great. But it all looks a bit too perfect sometimes. It's a designer on overload when a little restraint and humanity is also needed.
Thankfully that comes in the form of the excellent bar tender who works at a counter, not behind a bar as such. Equally good was the hit breakfast served in warm skillets.
The rooms were a great size - but someone needs to think about just how noisy a fridge can be in the room... Please, all hotel interior designers out there... Put it in the wardrobe sound proofed.
One additional thing... Both a colleague and I asked for none feather pillows, twice, and they never arrived. At this price you expect that service no questions asked!

Would I go back?
Yes
The fact is, it's in a great part of town, is well run, comfortable and even though more pricey than the other places nearby it is worth it.

Room Tip: Away from the lift... Amsterdam is a party town remember...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agoldthorpe1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I was told, "It's a Hyatt." I wasn't so sure since I had never heard of Andaz, but let me tell you when we walked into the hotel lobby, I was a believer. The first thing I saw was these enormous white wedding bells hanging from the ceiling and serves as lights for the open space check in area. How cool is that? The decoration is very eclectic and speaks to the local Dutch roots, but it works.

Since it was the low season, the price was about 250 euros a night and that included breakfast. And unlike most hotels when you miss breakfast because of the 6 hour time change, Andaz doesn't say tough luck wake up earlier tomorrow. Instead, as long as you order from the breakfast menu, they will consider it breakfast and not charge you! And you can order as many items you want from the breakfast menu. I love that. The room itself was amazing as well. Very modern furnishings including the mirrored shower doors and huge floor lamp. Room was spacious and had lots of places for storage even though when you walk in it looks very minimalist. The mini bar was also free of charge, well not the alcohol of course, but the water and soft drinks and apple juice and candy bars! They have very cool wallpaper which is like the decoration on delftware. Books about local Dutch customs and history and Anne Frank adorned the desk and little snippets of facts adorn the wallpaper in the bathroom...just in case you forgot the reading material! I loved it. I have to say muchas gracias to Manuel, the resident Puerto Rican and staff member who helped us with attractions and places to eat. Our trip was made much more memorable and exciting with his advice and recommendations. FINALLY, THE WAY A FANTASTIC HOTEL IS SUPPOSE TO BE!!!!! Great location, modern design, yet very chic, clean, quiet rooms, vibrant lobby, friendly/helpful staff, excellent service, delicious food, free wireless, nice size rooms (for Europe, especially, but even for the US) a decent gym, and just overall a fun place to stay all for an affordable price. I am looking for an Andaz everywhere we go from on now. That's how impressed I was with it. I was not the only one. We were a group of 7, all world travelers, and they would all back up my review. Thank you Andaz Amsterdam for a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Go during off season because prices are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLMomandAttorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Having just completed the 2nd of two stays, I feel confident in declaring this one of the very best hotels in all of Europe. The Andaz has the amenities and services of a larger property but the cozy and friendly feel of a smaller property and oozes Dutch charm and style. Every member of the staff is knowledgeable, helpful, and so welcoming - every guest seems cared for like they are a celebrity. The rooms are bright and clean with innovative and fun decor. We were impressed by all of the dining options and could have spent any afternoon just relaxing in the bar, watching the world go by on the street and canal scene in front. If we ever win the lottery, I think we'd consider moving in permanently. We can't wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gregsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Location is excellent and peaceful (nice area to walk around in the heart of Amsterdam), beautiful hotel, nice bar, very confortable library room with complementary drinks, sodas and wines for hotel's guests. Rooms are orginally designed, confortable and well cleaned from housekeeping (be careful anyway to some strange smell in corridors). Be careful to an unpleasant mini bar's noise during the night......I had to take off the plugs.

Excellent staff at the Front Desk, very helpful team, starting from the very warm check in until the friendly check-out. They really make feel every guest a "special" guest.

The breakfast, the lunch and dinner are a true and unforgettable experience to discover thanks to the high level of Chef Julien Piguet and his team (quality of fresh products and very tasty cuisine). I noticed a very nice happy hour at the bar (nice items and dishes coming freshly from the kitchen).

The service's team at the restaurant is nice and friendly, but I noticed that a real responsable (restaurant manager or superviser) is sometimes missing, that makes you sometimes feel that waiters are runing in all ways for nothing.

I will surely come back to Andaz hotel during my next stay in Amsterdam.


Marwan MATTA

Room Tip: If you can, try to ask a room with view on the canal. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marwan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Andaz feels a lot newer, cleaner and more modern than some of the smaller hotels in Amsterdam. The hotel room had ample space for us as a couple in a double room. The decor is a bit eccentric -- but to me, that's secondary. I appreciated the size of the room, the newness/cleanliness of the space, a great shower (strong flow) and the complimentary mini-bar (everything but alcohol is free). Staff was friendly. We were there for only one night but would definitely return. It's true the sink/vanity is in the room area but it didn't bother us at all. The shower is huge and there's a separate space for the toilet. Really, I don't know if I've been in a hotel room this big in anywhere else in Europe (as things are smaller there). It's also in a great location (in Jordaan) which is quieter and still close to many points of interests and lots of good dining! It's pricier but we got a promotion/deal. Worth the money!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank springroll82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,317 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 894 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,329 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Property: Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing