We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Ranked #11 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a fab hotel, quirky in the right kind of way. Really interesting decor in the bedrooms and throughout the hotel. Booked and used the meeting facilities for a business meeting and it was organised with great efficiency by a dedicated staff member (Nerijus) who took excellent care of our group and catered to our every need. Very helpful staff in all area's, bar, restaurant, front of house. This hotel is expensive but well worth it if you want to impress a client or just splash out a little...!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaFlys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,273
    225
    59
    24
    14
See reviews for
218
790
84
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a gorgeous hotel, perfectly located, outstanding service and exceptional quality.
You get what you pay for so if you don't want to splash out, don't stay here.
Free mini-bar for the non-alcoholic drinks and the snacks is a great idea.
Complimentary wine at Happy Hour, quirky decor, iPad check in :)

It used to be a library here, so true to its roots, they have taken the essence of a library in many ways. A great selection of books were in our room to browse.
The detail here is phenomenal across the entire hotel.

Manuel helped us throughout the stay when we needed him - he is a credit to the hotel and the Hyatt in general. He exemplifies top-level service.

Well done - this is a gem of a hotel - perfect in literally every way.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank echevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed 5 nights very pleasant nights. Centrally located for all the sightseeing, museums, restaurants and canal rides, the Andaz is a modern and refreshing hotel. With eager and competent staff, good food, drinks and incentives for a relaxing stay, the Andaz will enhance your Amsterdam experience. We stayed in a garden room in the rear of the hotel that was well appointed, quiet and comfortable.

Room Tip: Take a garden room for an undisturbed rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 13blaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed two nights with a big group (20+) in October '13. While the hotel is well designed, beds comfortable and have nice touches such as free mini-bar (just the non-alcoholic stuff!), the overall service was just well over-engineered and very slow as a result. Breakfast is semi-buffet style but there is no hot food available from the buffet and has to be made to order. On a busy morning when most of our group arrived for breakfast at the same time, this means that it's impossible to get any hot items because the kitchen is completely overwhelmed. Even early in the morning when I was the first one down at breakfast at 06:30, an omelette took 15 minutes. Our group dinner took over 2.5 hours (2 courses each from a limited choice menu to speed things up) the first evening - I would hate to think how long it would have taken if we picked from the full menu.

Overall, I think this would have been a lovely choice of hotel for a weekend get-away when there is plenty of time to linger around. But this hotel is similar unsuitable as a business hotel as the hotel staff are simply unable to cope. Room rates are pricey for what it is and one can get better location and better service elsewhere during the week in Amsterdam.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Zana711_London1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is probably one of the most interesting and beautiful hotels I've ever stayed in. Very chic, trendy, fun. From the moment you enter the hotel, it's all about 'eye candy,' no matter where you look. We had a great view of the canal, lots of light from the huge windows. The room was spacious and well-planned out, with plenty of room to work when we needed to. Sink and vanity are in the room, which is odd at first, but not a problem if you're traveling with someone you know well. The shower was behind a kind of mirrored sliding door and was very large. We only ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant, which was very good. The hotel is close to good restaurants and several key attractions, like the Anne Frank House. This was my first time in Amsterdam and the hotel made the trip extra special. I would definitely want to stay here again.

Room Tip: Canal views are very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToujoursProvence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great hotel from the Hyatt family. Nice concept.

First of all your are very close from the center. However, you are not in the middle of the red light district. Youll be a few blocks away from the crazy part of amsterdam.

Rooms are really sophisticated in style, you ll like them. They are average rooms but the design will make you feel that you are in a very trendy place.

Very nice staff, nice lounge area in the lobby.

They even have happy hours from 5-8pm for free.

recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonZebede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is an absolutely gorgeous hotel, I can't wait to go back.
I travelled with a friend and we got a really good deal (About £400 each including flights for 3 nights).
The room décor is a bit strange but I liked it, the shower is a walk in style hidden behind two mirrored doors.
It's not far to walk from the main part of town.
Breakfast was lovely.
I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VickyMARitson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,379 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Property: Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing