We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great hotel will be returning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Ranked #7 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“great hotel will be returning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We actually stayed here as a second choice because my first choice (sofitel the grand) also a top class hotel, was fully booked. but upon arrival we wasnt dissapointed. We was greeted by a member of staff at the door and shown to one of three small tables in the reception area. it was all open plan and the decor was really nice boutique like, as we had booked it via a agency on my mobile our reservation had not came threw yet. We were then given a complementary drink each (3 coronas) our choice, while they sorted it out. A young lady returned in 5 minutes with the booking confirmation however it was only 11 am and the room was not ready, she said we could use the spa until the room was available, however we was in amsterdam and it was a lovely day so we asked her to put our cases away so we could have a walk. She then explained how to get to dam square, rembrant square and the red light district and even had my friends shorts pressed for him.
when we returned we were given our room key straight away and went to our room which was across the courtyard and up the elevator, the rooms were very nice very clean and the decor was stylish it had a walk in shower open plan sink and mirror comfy beds and large flat screen tv. before we went out for the night we enjoyed a few drinks in the lobby bar which was nice. when we came in later about 3am you needed your key card to get threw the front doors which made you feel secure.
i will be returning to this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,191
    208
    55
    22
    13
See reviews for
203
733
77
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago
Level Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Andaz gets my highest marks. The location is perfect for a tourist: away from the frenzy of the downtown streets but easy walking distance to the center when you want to go, close to museums and best restaurants, right in the middle of the social life on the canals. The staff is truly excellent - professional, looking to be helpful to tourists, genuinely friendly. The architecture and decor really gets your attention throughout the hotel: rooms, reception area, library, even the passageways on the room floors. If you can get a canal view, do so, if just to share in the joy of the locals passing by in their boats on Friday and Saturday evenings - floating cocktail parties.
I found breakfast expensive, but many things are free: wifi, wine happy hour in the library, soft drinks in the rooms and lobby,
All in all, a really great place to stay!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the canal are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheriffSantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is something different in a good location in Amsterdam. We were well looked after and enjoyed the unusual design and generous size of the rooms. Breakfast included was excellent and one couldn't ask for more. Staff were very helpful and all requests were seen to at incredible speed and efficiency.

We had requested an extra bed in our room for our son which wasn't there when we got to our room. This was rectified within 10 minutes. The only negative was that our room wasn't serviced one day on the weekend and we had to request them to do this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
599 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

What a great hotel! Andaz is my new favorite hotel chain.This hotel is the OPPOSITE of the mundane, tired hotel. Decor is super-stylish, imaginative, elegant, sophisticated but still very functional. Staff was slick and gorgeous but also (and more importantly) warm, welcoming and efficient. Our fifth floor suite was a knockout. Everywhere you look throughout this hotel there is something interesting to intrigue your eye. The garden is lovely. The lobby-level restaurant is beautiful and the food is excellent. And, my FAVORITE aspect of all Andaz hotels: the minibar contents are FREE (not including alcohol) and it is restocked daily. This is one of the best overall hotel experiences I have ever had. I cannot think of a single gripe or correction.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a suite - they are over the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 493Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, FL
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We recently spent two nights at the centrally located Andaz Amsterdam and all I can say is 'wow.' Unlike other hotels, where you are checked in from behind a counter, here guests are welcomed at high tables via iPads by the relaxed, yet very professional staff. After admiring the jaw-droppingly beautiful architecture (designer Marcel Wanders has really outdone himself with his eclectic mix of old Amsterdam and futuristic design), we relaxed in the very comfortable, yet equally sumptuous rooms with great beds. I also loved the "shower room" - a small room by itself with a giant shower head and one way mirror. As for the decor, it was again a perfect blend of the city's history with state-of-the-art touches (restroom had wall paper resembling old Delft tiles, main room sported a pair yellow wooden clogs on the wall) along with data port, iPod dock and a minibar stocked with complimentary items (except alcoholic beverages).
Later we relaxed in one of the lounges with complimentary wine, coffee and delicious cookies. One of the staff told us that the hotel's mission is to create a homey atmosphere away from home and in that they have certainly succeeded, although my home is a lot less exciting than the hip, luxurious Andaz!
In short: It is THE hotel to stay in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzyBennett12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
98 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels, many Hyatts especially as a Gold Passport member, but this has to be one of the best I have experienced.

I booked two nights using Gold Passport points on a recent European trip and wish I had stayed longer.

From the moment you enter the Marcel Wanders designed hotel, you enter another world. It is one of the most thoughtfully decorated and designed hotels I have stayed in.

The lobby and adjacent sitting areas is very social - and each night the free wine and snacks between 5 and 8pm for guests and it turns into a very happy place. I met so many new and interesting people during this "happy hour".

As is the Andaz tradition, the person who checks you in takes care of you throughout your stay and I couldn't fault the warm service from Manuel, who helped me plan all aspects of my stay. There was even a lovely welcome gift in my room of local cheese and meats - very thoughtful and well researched.

The hotel itself is a work of art. Check out the mural on the wall as you go up the elevator - literally taking you from hell to heaven!

I had a larger room on an upper floor with a view of the canal. Apparently the garden view rooms are also sought after for the quiet, but I found my room very peaceful.

The rooms are compact, with the bed as the focal point. Funky murals and art adorns the walls and there is even a selection of books to read. Unusually, the bathroom vanity is in the room itself and is actually a fantastic use of space. The shower, all sleek black tiles, is spacious and integrates form and function.

Once you get over the idea of having your bathroom in the room, you will love it. For a small space, there is also a semi walk in wardrobe, which was a welcome change to the usual small spaces.

A work desk as well as a small sitting area with a Dr Evil style high back swivel chair completes the room.

Located on one of the most sought after canals, the location is fantastic. you are never more than a walk or a short tram ride from the museums and the hotel is on the edge of the Nine Streets area which is packed with cafes and restaurants as well as funky shops. If needed, the hotel has bikes you can borrow and the staff seem to truly love the hotel and the city.

The bar area is chilled out and has a selection of interesting cocktails as well as bar food - try the bittenballen - you will be hooked! the restaurant I only tried for breakfast but served a small but delicious range of egg and other breakfast favorites.

While the hotel was full, I never felt overwhelmed and the service never rushed. The vibe is so relaxed I even saw the GM checking in guests.

This type of design hotel could easily be pretentious. Andaz Amsterdam is far from it. One of the best hotels I have stayed in hands down - I am already planning my next stay.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, as for a garden view, but the canal view is just gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelannmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
154 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

First, it's located on one of the best streets in Amsterdam. It is just down a few blocks from Anne Frank's Huis. Walking distance to the most popular attractions. We were greeted at the door, shown to a lush, leather sofa, served champagne, and had a marvelously easy check-in via ipad. Rhianna was wonderful! She gave us a city map and inquired about our plans while in the city and made spot-on recommendations. We went to all the restaurants that she suggested.The décor is amazing. Our room was very quiet- never heard anyone next door or in the hallway and the hotel was full. Mini bar in the room is complimentary except for alcohol. Bed was super comfy. We had breakfast in the hotel all three days that we were there. Food was delicious. Service was impeccable. This was our first time to Amsterdam and we have travelled the world- this was one of the best hotels that we have ever stayed in. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudypup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAndazAmsterdam, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Rudypup,
Thank you for choosing Andaz Amsterdam as your hotel while traveling to Amsterdam.
We also want to thank you for the great feedback. We make sure to share your comments with Rhianne and the team.
Hope to see you soon again.
Toni Hinterstoisser
General Manager - Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,318 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 896 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,331 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Property: Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing