We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Top Notch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Ranked #7 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is is definitely a 5 star hotel. The service is impecable, the location is great for walking around to various sites, the room was well appointed. It is very contemporary and visually exciting. The rooms have everything you can want, free mini-bar (other than alcohol,) robes, walk in closet, wifi, plenty of outlets and an interesting lighting system. To turn the lights on in the room, you must leave your card key in th holder next to the door. It took us awhile to figure that out and gave us a good laugh at the "high tech." We only stayed one night, after doing a Rhine river cruise, but wished it could have been longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachcrazy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,196
    210
    55
    22
    13
See reviews for
203
738
78
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights for a little Amsterdam city break and can't recommend it enough. All of the staff were polite, friendly and helpful, the customer service was so natural and some of the best I have experienced.

Great location for getting around Amsterdam even without taking your life in your hands on a bike!

The hotel itself is like a work of art, everywhere you look there are little pieces or phrases and you really need to look around to notice everything. I don't remember ever taking pictures of a hotel bedroom toilet before but thats the pictures which everyone loved when I got back.

I would recommend having a guide book if you do not know the area. The staff can provide recommendations but if you want to experience Amsterdam just do a bit of research. The Dutch also eat early which takes a bit of getting used to.

The hotel is great and a great base for an Amsterdam break.

Room Tip: Internal or External rooms are both great so don't worry if you get allocated an internal view r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bex2683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-AndazWS, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Bex2683,
I just wanted to thank you for the very nice review and your feedback. Especially the general feedback on Amsterdam is very helpful for fellow travelers.
I hope we can welcome you back soon to Amsterdam and to Andaz.
Toni Hinterstoisser
General Manager - Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just returned from an incredible stay at the Andaz, which is located in a charming neighborhood. It's close to all the action -- the museums, Anne Frank house, boutique shopping on the Nine Streets, etc. -- yet feels worlds away from all the touristy craziness. We arrived at the hotel to find two adorable bikes parked out front and immediately commented on them at check-in. It was then that we discovered the bikes were free for hotel guests to use. Score!

There are so many little touches that make this hotel great -- the funky design, the free (non-alcoholic) drinks and snacks in the rooms and lobby, and the wine reception every evening. We really felt right at home. Breakfast was great with lots to choose from on the buffet, plus the ability to order hot items from the kitchen. Nespresso in the room was a huge plus!

The staff at the hotel is amazingly attentive. Bowie, Manuel and the rest of the crew could not have been more helpful or friendly. They made us dinner reservations and got us tickets for the museums, and were happy to help. They clearly love what they do!

The only suggestion I would make for improvement is to make getting onto the wi-fi a bit easier. It seemed to be several steps to login each time. Other than that, it was perfection and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 389HeidiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Fantastic hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Visually stunning. Attention to detail-amazing. Every day there was something else to notice in the design. Hotel staff couldn't do enough for you.Could not fault at all. The little extras made the stay special. Free use of bikes, free soft drinks from the mini bar and complimentary drinks from 5-8 in the library. Huge choice for breakfast. Perfect.

Room Tip: Stayed in 404. No need for an outside view when you can see the foyer in its stunning, crazy glory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LezliC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We did not just stay for a few nights. We also had lunch weeks before and organised an event in this hotel which brought in 200 people from greater Amsterdam and beyond. Friends from all over the world saw the Andaz Prinsengracht for the first time this way. No one could come up with even one negative point. Let me start with our own overall experience; my boyfriend is American, I am Dutch. We have been around and stayed in the most exuisite hotels. So, a missing toiletroll would be enough reason to complain, to give you an idea :-) but, we could not find a thing to nag about. The rooms are clean. And I mean, crispy spic & span clean in every wee corner. The AC in our large gardenview room worked prefectly, considering the fact our stay was in the hottest week of the year with temperatures going over the mid 30's C.( 100F). Taking a shower was like standing under a tropical waterfall. My first number two visit to the bathroom was like stepping into a museum, so I checkd the "must visit musems" from my to do list; The walls display the history of Amsterdam in a Delft Blue setting. The closetspace is not just big enough for luggage and clothing, but there is also enough LIGHT! The comp minibar makes it complete; Water, healthy nutbars etc...all comp. The bed sleeps wonderful with soft linens. There are wall to ceiling windows which brings in lots of daylight. Easy to operate lightswitches next to the bed. What I loved about our room is the sink island between the bed and shower. You can walk around it which makes it easy for both to do what you need to do and not trip over each other or stand in each others way. The restaurant: WOW. Fresh products. Everything has a unique original taste. If I could only eat like an elephant. The open kitchen makes you feel being in someones home. The cooks are so friendly. The staff around the hotel is interntional so do not expect a real Dutch treatment from them. Just saying. The location is right in the middle of the center of town and close to everything. Coming from America? Please step out of your comfortzone and hop on one of the hotelbikes. A morning or afternoon and evening on the bikes exploring town gives you the true Amsterdam feeling. No taxi's, no guided bustours, just ride the bikes and inhale the spirit of canal city! Oh, bring a bottle of wine and glasses and sit down somewhere in a park or on a canal and make it a priceless memorie.

Room Tip: A canalroom sounds romantic but they are much smaller then the gardenview rooms. Ride the hotelbik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Littl3Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very beautiful design and boutique hotel. Every part of interior design was carefully choosen with very specials pieces of design and arts.
The staff was very kindly. The room was clean and spacious. The only thing that I would say could be better, was that missed some drawers under the sink bench.
I tottaly recommend!

Room Tip: I think every room is good, because you can have a gardem view or a canal view, is up to you! Both a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We arrived at the hotel about an hour before our room was ready ... the wonderful staff directed us to lovely restaurant for lunch - right around the corner. When we got back our luggage was in the room - along with discount coupons for the spa. The room is absolutely beautiful - HUGE and airy and totally hip and interesting ... but not so edgy that you can't sleep. The restaurant has the worlds best breakfast buffet ... home made muesli, all kinds of fresh milks, juices, healthy breads, fruits, different butters, magnificent fruits - super delicious coffees and teas and any kind of eggs you want.

We are here now ... and we don't want to leave. This place is wonderful. BRAVO!

Room Tip: The garden views are wonderful ... because the garden itself is wonderful!! We are on the third flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanTWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-AndazWS, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear SusanTWood,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your great feedback. Too bad you had to leave but I hope we can welcome you back very soon!
Toni Hinterstoisser
General Manager - Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,318 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,332 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#10 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Property: Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing