We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Design Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Ranked #7 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
LA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Design Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Wildly beautiful Hotel on a great Street facing a canal.
Staff was great, very helpfull, very kind and eager to please.
The room was quite spacious even for U.S. standards, with great amentities and great bed and bedding.
The shower/sink/w.c. is very unusually situated directly in room which provides little or no privacy-not conducive for a family. There is no bathroom per-se.
The common areas, lobby, and restaurant are very beautiful and very, very interesting decor.
Very centrally located and walking distance to all major attractions.
All-in-all a very unique and pleasant experience, if in Amsterdam I would return. Recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alwyscllct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,197
    211
    55
    22
    13
See reviews for
204
739
78
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Staff is very well trained and attentive right from the moment you are walking into the hotel. Complementary drink when checking in and between 17.00 and 19.00 (?) is a nice extra. If you choose to drink at the bar instead you have to be prepared to pay quite lot ( e.g 15,- for a GT), but that is not much different in other 5 star hotels.
The gym is quite small, but has all you need, good equipment and free bottles of water and towels.
The rooms are quite stylish, but definitely not my style ( a question of taste of course). Too overwhelming and too much, somehow gives it a kind of cheaper look and feel. Materials used in bathroom and toilet also do not have a top quality look, although it is definitely ok. Would definitely have preferred a much bigger mirror in the bathroom, not outside. Matrass is good
The (free) bicycle rental service is great. It is so much more fun to explore the city on the bike and it saves time and tired feet as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacationjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Very welcoming reception, large quiet room view of the garden.
The decor is very contemporary and fun at the same time
The first day my breakfast was 45' late and they apologized a lot and gave it to me free.
Next time I go to Amsterdam I will stay at the Andaz again ..

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the garden, very silent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lahulpe80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex, england
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

A wonderful experience with helpful staff. The room, although not enormous, was marvellous with a large walk in shower, dressing table and walk in wardrobe and together with theview of the canal this room did not disappoint in any way.

Room Tip: If you opt for a canal view be prepared for a some noise at the weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k_flossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a fine hotel, but it lacks warmth and good customer service.
We booked our room through Jetsetter, so we didn't expect much, and I'm glad about that. Our room overlooked the interior lobby, no exterior view at all. And the "bathroom" was in the middle of the room with zero privacy. When stepping in and out of the shower, you are in plain view of the rest of the room. The hotel is new, and it feels new...it's clean and well-appointed, with a very comfortable bed, and complimentary Nespresso in the room. The location of the hotel is perfect...very central and beautiful...and the lobby bar is great and has a wonderful cocktail menu...but my problem with this hotel was the absolutely horrible customer service.

There is no formal front desk at this hotel, they utilize three open round tables in the lobby, with ipads and laptops. It feels very disorganized and confusing. The "front desk" staff was cold and unwelcoming. When we arrived and finally figured out who among the crowd were the employees, they took our name and checked if the room was ready. But the person helping us couldn't figure this information out with her laptop, so she had to radio to someone else to ask, and then she disappeared. A few minutes later, someone else asked us if we were being helped, and we told her we were. She disappeared. Finally, after being asked by four different people if we were being helped, someone actually stuck around was able to help us. They handed us a room key, and that was it. They didn't ask for ID or passport, and didn't even take a credit card to have on file. Nobody offered to show us to the room. We were just given the room key and sent on our way. We were told that our bags, which had been left at the hotel earlier before check-in, would be waiting in the room. Well, some of them were. One was missing, and we were given a bag that wasn't ours. This was quickly straightened out, though.

And then there was check-out. Another confusing mess in the lobby of too many employees scrambling around, not really knowing what they were doing. A very friendly man offered to help us check out on his ipad, but when he realized that we had an outstanding balance to settle (because they didn't take a credit card at check-in), he told us that he couldn't help us with that, and told us to wait for one of the other employees who could. We ended up waiting 20 additional minutes for someone to help us.
Bottom line is that this hotel really needs to work on their customer service...we felt like unwelcome house guests. We ended up spending our last night in Amsterdam at the Hotel Pulitzer which was less expensive and a million times better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erc421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Very trendy hotel that reflect the Andaz concept
It a nice new stylish hotel

Very nice location on the canal with a nice view from the room that is well equiped

If u r looking for a errorless experience this is your hotel but if u r enjoying the city and only booking a hotel to sleep u will definitly find it expensive


  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I will definitely stay here again! In my opinion, this is one of the best hotels in Amsterdam!!! This new hotel offers nothing but the best. The staff provides the most friendly service and goes above and beyond to make sure you have everything you need. They are extremely efficient and are always attentive. I felt quite at home. The food at this hotel is also worth a try. Great atmosphere and high quality meals! This hotel is located right on the beautiful Prinsengracht canal in the Jordaan district. It is close enough to walk to everything but far enough from the crazy crowds. The room was amazing, clean and very comfortable...a good size for a couple. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Express T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,319 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 908 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,332 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#10 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Property: Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing