We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel, loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Ranked #14 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

What a lovely surprise - I came on business, but this would be a great hotel for any stay. Sadly did not get to check the spa out... but the service was great, the rooms are cool, love the free standing bathroom island, and breakfast was yum (not included in my booking). Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephanJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAndazAmsterdam, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear StephanJudge,
Thank you for staying with us. We hope that you come back for business or leisure next time.
We are happy that you like the design and the service and we promise to keep the breakfast yummi.
Best regards
Toni
General Manager - Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,379
    244
    67
    26
    15
See reviews for
246
846
90
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Spent one night at the new Andaz in Amsterdam. Located in former municipal museum, this is a true gem! Combination of minimalistic and "Dutch Design". From the moment you enter you are their guest. Attentive staff, tasteful design, spacious and well designed rooms and excellent restaurant (Blue Spoon), serving fresh local produce. We had the Tomahawk steak! The juiciest steak you can imagine, and from Holland (which is better known for pork & lamb)! The rooms have their own Nespresso coffee maker and all non-alcoholic drinks included.
The location is perfect! Nice specialty (mom & pop) stores around the corner and walking distance to Spui, Kalverstraat and other important attractions.

Room Tip: I was with my son and needed two twins. We stayed on 5th (top) floor and besides big window had this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAndazAmsterdam, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear RobertV,
Thank you for the nice review and for choosing Andaz Amsterdam!
We are very happy that you were satisfied with your experience at our hotel.
Make sure to let us know when you come back so that we can have your favorite room ready for you.
Best regards
Toni
General Manager - Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a fantastic little boutique-style hotel!

The hotel itself is gorgeous with an 'Alice in Amsterdam' theme running throughout which I personally, absolutely love. It brings a lot of personality to the place!

Check in and out is nice & comfortable, the staff are lovely & can't do enough for you. Anything you need available on request (within reason of course!)

The rooms are not traditional so if that's what you want, don't come here. This is an art focused hotel so lots of quirky features throughout including an odd fish spoon decoration above our bed!

There is no bathroom as such; one room is a toilet, one is a shower (mirrored glass which you can't see in but can see out of so beware!) and the sink and vanity station is next to the bed. There is a chiffon-type curtain that you can pull across to make everything seem a bit more separate.

Snacks & soft drinks are complimentary with spirits in the mini bar at a quite reasonable 35 EUR.

Dinner at the Bluespoon Restaurant is lovely, we had the arabiata which was delicious! Wine ranges from 35 EUR to 70 EUR per bottle. Breakfast is also very nice, however some of the mains seemed a bit heavy (egg with shrimp) for my liking but these are optional.

Location wise, the hotel is right next to the Nine Streets which is full of little boutique shops & restaurants. It is an expensive area. It's a good 20 - 30 minute walk to Dam Square & the Red Light District. You can get a bike taxi from here back to the hotel for 12EUR. Taxi from the airport is 45EUR but transport links are good so get the tram if you're looking to save a bit!

Overall the hotel is amazing but if you're looking for a very central hotel, right in the centre, this probably isn't the hotel for you!

1 female 22, 1 male 24 - Feb 2013

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotterCDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is a new hotel in Amsterdam open three months and based in the old Amsterdam Library. I stayed one night and was welcomed when checking in with a nice cup of coffee. Free soft drinks and snacks in the rooms is also a nice touch. Also you can have free coffee / cakes any time in the hotel.
The room was a little quirky in design with the sink pedestal beside the bed. The bedroom was also small and quite cluttered. There is free WiFi and breakfast was certainly at a five star standard.
The piping under the pedestal seemed to be linked to a central drainage for at least one other room. When they had a shower the noise in my room was excessive.
The relaxed check-in and check out is exactly that - takes far too long for a business travel on deadlines.
If they could quicken the check-in process and sort out the drainage problem the hotel would be hovering close to 5 star standard.

Room Tip: avoid 410 - noisy drainage issue from at least one other room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baringall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAndazAmsterdam, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear baringall,
Thank you for staying with us in January and thank you for your review.
We appreciate the good feedback about the drainage and the check in/check out experience.
Since then we have been able to train the Host to be more assertive to guest needs and be more quick during the check in and check out.
We also addressed the noise issue and were able to see improvements.
Once again, thank you for giving us your feedback and we would be happy to welcome you again soon.
Toni
General Manager - Andaz Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 days here just before Christmas and really enjoyed it. The decor and video art is a lot of fun. The location is a good compromise for city centre and museums and is just along the canal from the Anne Frank house. A nice touch - you can have a free glass of wine and some nibbles in the library before you go out in the evening!

Room Tip: Canal view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Wife and I stayed here in early January. Very enjoyable. Boutique style under the Andaz Brand. Marcel Wanders makes a design statement. We were in Amsterdam with friends and they stayed here as well. Both rooms had unique individual features.
Really enjoyed the location.
Breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen_and_Maureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as it was my parents 40th wedding anniversary. We had booked a standard double and a canal view double for my parents. The canal view room was stunning and the complimentary prosseco for my parents was a lovely gesture. Our standard double was also a fantastic room with many great design features, a real attention to detail and a very distinct feel. The only downside with a standar room is the lack of a window that looked outside, our windo just looked into the lobby so you couldn't even tell what the weather was like. So would recommend a garden or canal view room. Service was excellent throughout our stay and complimentary wine in the evening was a really nice touch. We have stayed in the Andaz in San Diego and whilst the decor and style is very unique in each one they both had the same high standards of facilities and design. Will definitely stay with Andaz chain again and if we are in Amsterdam will definitely stay here again. A huge thank you to the hotel and staff for making my parents anniversary a very special occasion.

Room Tip: Choose a garden view or canal view if you want a window that actually looks outside but in terms of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustTwoTickets P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,491 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Property: Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing