We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning stylish boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht to your Saves list
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase
Ranked #9 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning stylish boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as it was my parents 40th wedding anniversary. We had booked a standard double and a canal view double for my parents. The canal view room was stunning and the complimentary prosseco for my parents was a lovely gesture. Our standard double was also a fantastic room with many great design features, a real attention to detail and a very distinct feel. The only downside with a standar room is the lack of a window that looked outside, our windo just looked into the lobby so you couldn't even tell what the weather was like. So would recommend a garden or canal view room. Service was excellent throughout our stay and complimentary wine in the evening was a really nice touch. We have stayed in the Andaz in San Diego and whilst the decor and style is very unique in each one they both had the same high standards of facilities and design. Will definitely stay with Andaz chain again and if we are in Amsterdam will definitely stay here again. A huge thank you to the hotel and staff for making my parents anniversary a very special occasion.

Room Tip: Choose a garden view or canal view if you want a window that actually looks outside but in terms of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M8EPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,100
    200
    51
    21
    13
See reviews for
181
680
72
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a suite over a january weekend in the Andaz and was really impressed by the quality and style of the hotel. They have used a dutch designer to create the decor and feel of the hotel and have succeeded to put together something very special. Rooms are moderen yet comfort styled and my suite included 2 roomss and a very nice bathroom complete with tv. Could not say enough about the staff and the service they provide, fantasic! They have made checkin process a very novel experience, as we did this over a cup of coffee while they sat with me checking me in over wifi on an i pad, very cool. The food at the restaurant was very good and i had a dinner and a lunch at their blue spoon restaurant. Both were very good indeed! My overall stay was excellent and i would recommend the andaz for people with the appropriate budget.

Helpful?
Thank dcrt11
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

What an amazing one night stay at this trendy hotel located in Prinsengracht in Amsterdam. Efficient and friendly staff. Dinner in restaurant fantastic. Decor based on Alice in Wonderland theme with quirky design ideas everywhere yet still making one feel comfortable and "at home"!
Check in is so efficient ... Great to be offered a complimentary drink/coffee while being checked in seated on a sofa informally on an iPad!
Cannot recommend this hotel enough, trendy, off the wall and welcoming all in one!
Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evie2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
122 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed only one night at this nice little hotel located at Prinsengracht in Amsterdam. Overall a very nice stay. Check in with drink and personalized service is very good. Rooms are very stylish and modern. Nonethless I prefer having my bathroom in a separate room instead in the middle of the room. Guess this is a new trend as Park Hyatt also has such ideas of modern hotel rooms. I personally prefer good Grand Hyatt's as well as Park Hyatt's.

Price was a bit on the upper end. Parking is difficult at the hotel but we found a public parking spot just 20 m away on the street. They carge EUR 5 per hour between 9:00 - 19:00. Full 24 hours EUR 45 and from 19:00 - 24:00 it is "only" EUR 20,00 but afterwards until 9:00 in morning free of charge. Hence if you come at around 19:00 and check out early enough - the cost will be EUR 20.

They have a very nice Sauna area which should be used but call them in case you are planning to use it after 18:00 h. This was surprising that they want to close the Sauna at a time once the regular business/leisure guest would think to start with.

Overall a good choice but a bit overprized.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank logman1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here during the festive season, the location was good, a short 5 minute walk to Leidesplein which has an abundance of restaurants and some shopping. Dam Square however, was a good 20 minute walk away. The tram would probably take you there faster but we preferred to walk. Anne Frank house and canal cruises were also a short walk from Andaz. The hotel is located on a canal street and there are gorgeous views as you leave.

There is no formal reception but as you enter a hostess will approach you for check in. The rooms are good sized, modern, funky designed, with free non alcoholic minibar and wifi. As the hotel just opened in October everything was relatively new and polished.

The hotel can arrange airport transfers with the local taxis (pay to hotel or direct to driver - 44 euros) which makes it easy on your departure. The hotel restaurant's breakfast was sumptuous and staff are attentive.

Overall a good hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teddybear00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here Jan 2013 with my husband and 3 young daughters, and had a fantastic time. This hotel is very different from most hotels we have stayed in. Absolutely stunning decor, based on Alice in Wonderland theme, and there are design surprises round every corner... the mesmerising wallpapers, the lift that looks like it is a library, the stunning atrium. Check-in is revolutionised.. you are escorted to a sofa, offered complimentary drink, and checked in informally on an ipad. The atrium offers complimentary coffee and cookies in the day, and complimentary drinks in the evening, and everything in the minibar (except alcoholic beverages) is free. Rooms were comfy and quirky - the toilet wallpaper has to be seen to be believed! - and well equipped. As a family with young children in Amsterdam, we probably werent the clientele the hotel is mostly catering for - but they were fabulous. The cot was stocked with organic baby toiletries, and a soft toy, and on departure the children were offered a treat as well. All in all, a fabulous stay, cannot recommend highly enough for an Amsterdam stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KDAS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Andaz for 3 days over New Year. We were wowed as soon as we walked in to the lovely reception area. Although there is no actual reception desk, there are always at least a couple of memebers of staff at standing tables in the reception area. The member of staff who checked us in was expecting us and greeted us by name without me having to tell them who we were which was very nice. We were invited to sit down with a complimnentary glass of really lovely wine whilst we were checked in via iPad.

The rooms are very smart (this hotel has only been open a few months) and slightly quirky in that the only washbasin is in the centre of the room. There is a lovely monsoon-style shower and a separate toilet. There was a really nice selection of books to read in the room and a TV with several UK channels. The minibar was complimentary for soft drinks and snacks. My only slight disappointment with the hotel was that the minibar wasn't restocked daily. We were there for 3 days and it being restocked would have been nice.

There was complimentary wine served in the library 5-8pm every day which was a lovely way to start the evening.

The main reason why I loved this hotel was that the staff were all so friendly and helpful. Unfortunately you don't always find this in hotels these days and the staff at the Andaz really couldn't do enough for you. They brought us a cheesecake and macaroon up to the room on New Years Eve which were both delicious and when they found out it was my birthday, they also gave me a birthday card and book about food/cookery in Amsterdam which was a really lovely surprise.

The hotel is 10-15 minutes walk from Dam Square and just a 2-3 minute walk to the nearest tram stop so very conveniently located. I would definitely return to this hotel again and will be telling all my friends about it. Really impressed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flash3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,242 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 780 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,228 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Property: Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing