We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best service with new modern rooms converted from a former library”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Ranked #15 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

In line with the Andaz branch of Hyatt, this location, which opened last Fall, is in step with breaking the mold of a "Hotel Stay". From the "deskless" hotel check in using I Pads, to the room designs (free standing vanity and sink in middle of room), and hotel decor.

The service from the staff was excellent always there to help but never in your face if you didn't need anything.

To be quite frank, I did find the video playing in the main lobby video bank a little odd ( a girl jumping on a bed in her undies, you can only see her from the shoulders down)

The breakfast at the restaurant was excellent but the "buffet" was way over priced for what you got. Ok yeah fresh bread, cheeses, fruits, and your choice of hot fresh to order plates is nice. but at almost $40 a person thats really pricey.

If you're looking for great service in a new modern chic vibe hotel. this is your place.
If you're looking for older hotel style service with "character" this is not your place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atlbeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,513 - 1,519 of 1,990 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

What can I say about a perfect place? Everything works, the furniture and design is great, the bed is amazing... And the staff? Wow, you are so well treated, that is hard to get out the hotel! We wanted to do everything there! Breakfast, lunch, dinner! Mr. Manoel is from reception desk,he speaks 7 languages including Portuguese , so he was a special person for us. Mr. Craig from night was great too and the girls were amazing too! I needed some help from concierge, and they were great! This hotel must stay between top 10 of Amsterdam ! And the restaurant was amazing too!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuMatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We arrived on New Years Eve to a WARM WELCOME from the wonderful Karen, Elise, Chris and team at the Andaz. They WOWed us with personalized and authentic guest service during our three day stay, from hotel orientation to dining suggestions, to our NYE DElicious surprise bedtime snack! I am a Hyatt Specialist selling many of their hotels and resorts throughout the world, however I was really IMPRESSED with the Andaz Amsterdam and will be sending them many of my clients.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NMTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife & I were in Amsterdam for just 1 night, and chose this hotel based on other Tripadvisor reviews. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience from start to finish.
The style of the hotel is a contemporary 'Alice in Wonderland' theme which gives a great unique feel.
The staff were so friendly & helpful it made the stay such a pleasure.
Cannot recommend enough!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamwallet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Just had lunch at the Andaz. The worst ever. After waiting more then half an hour the Salmon was served. It must have been on the plait for the whole day already because it was dried out and without any taste. Even the water I ordered tasted like the bottle was already open for a week. The fries were cold and the salad was expired. I would absolute not recommend the restaurant. The hotel looks fine.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
6  Thank Jan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

From the minute you walk in until the goodbye complete with Dutch cookies and chocolate you know the staff wants to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. The open concept room took some getting used to, with the sink next to the bed, but it really makes the room bigger. The location is great, we loved being so close to the shops of the '9 Streets'.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JustRetired2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Fantastic location? Super staff? Beautiful design? Yes to all. The new Andaz is right on the canal in a beautiful former public library. Starting at check in (check out the amazing atrium), the Andaz team were welcoming, friendly, and offered a very personal and easy check in experience.

Rooms are funky,but functional i.e. unlike some hotels I have stayed at, I could work out how to work the light switches! Mine had a lovely view over the garden. Bed very comfortable; shower great.

A few little things to bed down (breakfast service was well meaning but if anything the young staff seemed a little nervous). Actually that said, the colleague who I was travelling with redefines the phrase high maintenance when it comes to low fat this, low fat that!

Would I stay again? Definitely. Would I recommend? Absolutely.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdamameLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 372 in Amsterdam
792 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,357 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,635 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,130 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $343 - $653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing