We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“fashionable, stylish, truly amazing,exquisite service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Ranked #10 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
brussels
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“fashionable, stylish, truly amazing,exquisite service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

staying for a weekend, my husband and I really enjoyed every details of this so amazing stylish hotel: design, furniture, armosphere typically renewed dutch style, with plenty of wonderdul details (artistic videos on the wall, each different, tulipstyle chairs with earprotection, you whisper perfectly to your neighbour...). Your check-in is made by very friendly way with ipad, no reception lobby, your room offers very pleasant "canal"view , luxury furniture with a washroom walled by history of Amsterdam in bluedelft color (so you can spend long time there for educting yourself about it:)), an italian perfect shower walled by mirrors, tea and coffee with Nespresso machine, a perfect bed and overall, many books and guides about history of the city, touristic information..We had dinner and full breakfast in the nice dinerroom, very pleasant (test their "florentina style" eggs for breakfast, it's delightful). After all, location is perfect, the "lost garden" looks nice despite wintertime, the small spa very cosy, and staff is young, friendly and courteous. You have to know that in Amsterdam, carpark is very expensive (you have to book you carpark in the hotel before arriving and it costs 65euros per day, but it's a real service)
We have traveled a lot all around the world, and this hotel is a must in Amsterdam, we warmly recommend it!

Room Tip: 3 types of room: canalview (most expensive), gardenview (quiet standard) and insideview (lobby) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank minhue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,274
    225
    59
    24
    14
See reviews for
218
790
84
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I had a two night stay last weekend in an Andaz Suite.

Great room, large, bright and airy. Huge bathroom with a bath in the middle of the floor. Great decor and the staff were superb.

Few problems - turndown service came at 10pm (a little late), WiFi did not work in my room (but they gave me an extra room to work in), and the room was not cleaned until very late in day (apology offered and accepted, mini-bar not refreshed during stay.

Room Tip: All seem good, although Canal View might be fun next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Andaz is the most amazing brand of hotels. The story that each location tells is the thing that most interests me about their properties. Although the old Andaz in WeHo, CA is my all-time favorite, this hotel blew me away. The Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht was way more than I expected. The location, room, and staff were amazing. The service was great. The lobby was is very comfortable and turns into a great social spot between 5-7PM.

The hotel serves free wine in the library each night from 5-7PM. The library has the most amazing chandelier and table for sitting. While there I met Michael Stevens who works with the implementation of Hyatt hotels, specifically Andaz. He gave us a short tour of the place. The room was nice. I learned that every sink in the hotel is different. Because the building is a former library, there are books everywhere.

The view from the elevator is nice. I believe as you're going up it tells the story of Heaven and Hell. Room 409 has is on the front of the hotel with a view of a canal...not too bad. The breakfast was great. They have a regular menu and a continental breakfast (Hyatt Diamond members can have both, but check your bill upon check out). I did not have dinner there, but I heard it's really good as well. The location is within walking distance of most of the main attractions on that side of town.

The one bad thing I would have to say about the hotel is the video art that it has. In the lobby there is a huge wall of monitors of video art. This particular piece of art was a women in her underwear jumping on a bed. It was the most annoying thing, but apparently it changes often. They would have been better off using a screen saver of some sort for this.

The pictures I took with my iPhone doesn't do this place justice. I'll be back to this location soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gleethomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Staying for 2 nights, mid-week, at this hotel, it was a very good experience. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel decor is very stylish and the bar has already become a fashionable place to drink. Located right on the Prisengracht (canal) it is very convenient for the whole of Amsterdam, and within walking distance of many sights. Plus it is a very quiet and peaceful location, with some nice restaurants and bars just a short walk away. Just watch out for the many cyclists flying past the hotel entrance.

The hotel rooms had a very good layout with separate walk-in shower, and the basin/mirror in the main room. It was well lit by this basin/mirror area, but I think the rest of the room, around the bed and desk did not have enough light, and it was difficult to do work in the low level of light. However, the hotel is very nice and I would recommend staying here if your traveling on business or for holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WooTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
420 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel! They truly go above and beyond for their guests, and are an incredible asset to the Hyatt brand! The location is perfect! The staff is friendly and courteous, and works very hard to ensure that your trip is perfect! They offer you fresh coffee, have iPad check in, and are more than happy to help you create an appropriate itinerary. They are very well aware of the various attractions and locations in the area, and will help you maximize your time in Amsterdam!

We didn't try the pool or fitness room as I don't think it was ready, but they offered alternatives for that until it is completed.

You can't get a better value elsewhere! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The suites are certainly worthwhile!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark42139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAndazAmsterdam, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Mark42139,
Thank you for staying with us and for your great feedback.
We hope to see you soon again at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht.
Toni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Last weekend we have had the pleasure of staying in the brand new Andaz. We started our evening in the bar overlooking the canal with a glass of champagne. After the aperitif we were welcomed in the Bluespoon Restaurant, where we enjoyed a delicious 3-course dinner.
Our room was lovely and comfortable, and of course completely in style with rest of the hotel (designed by Marcel Wanders). We finished our stay with a delightful breakfast. The buffet was well presented and full of home made products. It gave us a real 'home-away-from-home' feeling.

I would definitely recommend the Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, the made us experience a modern and personal interpretation of 5-star luxury service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelchiorAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I intended to stay for one night but ended up staying for two. Hyatt have really scored with this one, excellent location, very nicely designed comfortable rooms and GREAT staff which is definitely very rare in the Netherlands... This place is hip, trendy, lively, beautiful and comfortable with excellent customer service and good food. Very popular with locals too so it is even fun just to hang out around the bar, especially considering how cold it was outside. WELL DONE HYATT. I will definitely be back and very soon i hope. Its pricey but WORTH every penny. It makes staying anywhere else in Amsterdam practically impossible...enjoy it, i did.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahmadsameh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAndazAmsterdam, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear ahmadsameh,
Thank you for your nice review and for staying an extra night with us.
We will focus on keeping up the work and hope to have you back soon.
Toni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,381 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#6 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#11 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Property: Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing