We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend bang on trend ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
XO Hotels Park West
Ranked #64 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

we stayed here for 2 nights with breakfast included which I would recommend a fine selection which caters to every pallet. We payed €49 for us both to eat at the hotel restaurant I didn't find this quite as enjoyable but again plenty of variety I personally would recommend heading out in to Amsterdam with its variety of quirky eateries. I would certainly stay here again friendly staff and all mod cons excellent wi fi and a few English channels

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jack N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,997)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,138 - 2,144 of 3,997 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

First impressions were great, we arrived earlier than the stated check in time and the staff were helpful in finding us a room so we did not have to wait 3 hours. We were given a double room which was a lot more spacious than expected and I was instantly impressed at how clean and hygienic the hotel and room was. The room had facilities such as a coffee machine, with the tea and coffee supplies being re-stocked everyday, free wi-fi, a flat screen TV with a few English channels and a shower big enough for two people. In addition to this the hotel has a system were by you can request your room be cleaned and re-stocked between 11am and 4pm electronically or just request to not be disturbed.
Having the add on of breakfast was definitely a great decision, with a selection of bread, cereals, meats, fruit, salads, juices and spreads the choice was more than enough to have something different the seven days we were there.
The staff at the hotel made this trip all the more enjoyable, being helpful when buying tram/bus tickets and giving us advice on the best way to get to a few different places. By the second day we felt comfortable enough to walk to the city centre which only took us around 30minutes and was great as you get to see a lot more of amsterdam than you would if on the tram. The location was perfect for us however I know many people would prefer being closer to the city centre despite the tram 12 and 13 getting you there in under 15minutes.
The one and only negative comment I have to make is the price of evening meal at the restaurant, we ended up just having breakfast their and eating out for dinner and lunch due to the price of the meals.

Room Tip: The standard double room was spacious, clean and comfortable however I would recommend requesting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank choccyeclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

It's about a 20 minutes walk or 10 minute tram ride to the City Center. The trams are pretty easy to use and the people who work on the trams are very helpful if you get lost. The hotel was clean, as were the rooms. The rooms are a little small, but nicely appointed. I thought the bed was comfortable, but my husband did not. The shower is great as it is a rain shower! The hotel restaurant is huge as they do a large buffet breakfast and dinner for an additional cost. However, the quality is so-so and it's not cheap. We were not on a tour group, but a lot of tour groups go to this hotel as we saw a lot of tour buses. However, this did not diminish our stay at all. If you stay here, buy the Holland Pass which the very nice concierge people will help you with. The staff is great and very helpful as well. They have onsite parking for a fee, which is better than trying to find street parking.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DMJacobs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel 4 nights. Good location not very noisy we enjoyed our time. We would surely go back :)
The staff was very helpfull and gave us few hints that saved us a lot of time.
The rooms are not very quiet though we could hear the conversation in the room next to ours!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Geoana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We were lucky to find The Golden Tulip on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. Because the hotel was not in downtown Amsterdam, it was very quiet. The #12 Tram was convenient to get downtown and to the main museums. Also, we were able to easily get to the train for our trip to the airport. It was immaculately clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant has a great selection for their evening meal offering, but it was expensive. All in all, we were very pleased with this hotel and will hopefully return some day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed at this hotel prior to leaving on a Celebrity Cruise of the Baltic and Russia. Compared to other hotels in Amsterdam it is extremely reasonable and a great value. (We also stayed at the Crowne Plaza City Centre upon our return from the cruise. It was about twice the price and equal in amenities.) The rooms at the Hotel Golden Tulip are very modern and clean. They were bigger than I expected. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. Although the hotel is located out of the city center, there is a tram about two blocks from the hotel that will take you there. It's about a 15 minute tram ride. If you don't mind not being in the city center I definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

What a great location! Parking was ample and not stupidly expensive at 12.50 per 24 hours. Rather cheap for Amsterdam standards!

Check-in was quick and efficient, with staff being very friendly and speaking multiple languages, easily switching from Dutch to English, to German to Spanish.

We did not include breakfast in our stay as we had a very early start the next day. Our room was lovely, spacious, modern and comfortable. The glass shower cabin is amazing and both bathroom and bedroom were spotlessly clean.

The bed was super comfortable, our bottle of wine had been delivered as requested and the room was quiet. Free wifi, no login codes, was greatly appreciated.

The only negative I found was the fridge: difficult to explain but it's more a cooled vending machine than a fridge, so you can select drinks to drop down, but you cannot store your own drinks in it, which was a shame.

The tram stops about 100 yards away. An 'enkeltje' (single ticket) is around 2.80pp, a day ticket (can be bought from reception) is around 7.50. Getting to and from town is easy. There are buses nearby too so we left the car in the garage and just used public transport during our stay.

Great find!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dutchess_UKNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,961 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,282 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XO Hotels Park West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XO Hotels Park West

Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $52 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — XO Hotels Park West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XO HOTELS PARK WEST welcomes you in Amsterdam! The hotel has a restaurant which is open for breakfast, and a nice non-alcohol bar for lunch, dinner, bites and refreshments. The rooms are stylish and equipped with all modern conveniences: a flat screen television, air-conditioning, Nespresso machine and free Wi-Fi. The bathrooms have floor heating, different types of showers, and a hairdryer. The hotel has a lounge and business centre, two meeting rooms and a parking garage underneath the hotel. Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk), and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min). Whether you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your XO Hotels Park West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing