We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
XO Hotels Park West
Ranked #62 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We were lucky to find The Golden Tulip on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. Because the hotel was not in downtown Amsterdam, it was very quiet. The #12 Tram was convenient to get downtown and to the main museums. Also, we were able to easily get to the train for our trip to the airport. It was immaculately clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant has a great selection for their evening meal offering, but it was expensive. All in all, we were very pleased with this hotel and will hopefully return some day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,946)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,112 - 2,118 of 3,946 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed at this hotel prior to leaving on a Celebrity Cruise of the Baltic and Russia. Compared to other hotels in Amsterdam it is extremely reasonable and a great value. (We also stayed at the Crowne Plaza City Centre upon our return from the cruise. It was about twice the price and equal in amenities.) The rooms at the Hotel Golden Tulip are very modern and clean. They were bigger than I expected. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. Although the hotel is located out of the city center, there is a tram about two blocks from the hotel that will take you there. It's about a 15 minute tram ride. If you don't mind not being in the city center I definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

What a great location! Parking was ample and not stupidly expensive at 12.50 per 24 hours. Rather cheap for Amsterdam standards!

Check-in was quick and efficient, with staff being very friendly and speaking multiple languages, easily switching from Dutch to English, to German to Spanish.

We did not include breakfast in our stay as we had a very early start the next day. Our room was lovely, spacious, modern and comfortable. The glass shower cabin is amazing and both bathroom and bedroom were spotlessly clean.

The bed was super comfortable, our bottle of wine had been delivered as requested and the room was quiet. Free wifi, no login codes, was greatly appreciated.

The only negative I found was the fridge: difficult to explain but it's more a cooled vending machine than a fridge, so you can select drinks to drop down, but you cannot store your own drinks in it, which was a shame.

The tram stops about 100 yards away. An 'enkeltje' (single ticket) is around 2.80pp, a day ticket (can be bought from reception) is around 7.50. Getting to and from town is easy. There are buses nearby too so we left the car in the garage and just used public transport during our stay.

Great find!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dutchess_UKNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We have just spent 3 nights and 4 days in Amsterdam! So delighted to have booked Golden Tulip Hotel for our stay! Although it's a little out of the centre, it is a perfect location as the no 12 tram is around the corner from the hotel and brings you straight to the Museum Plaza where you find the Van Gough Museum!! From there you can get another tram (no 2) which will bring you straight into the centre of Amsterdam.

The hotel itself is modern, clean, spacious and the staff are very friendly! Breakfast was included in our rate and SO worth it! The spread was fantastic and really set you up for the day! Freshly squeezed orange juice every day- yummy!!

We bought our 72 hour tram pass at the hotel reception desk and it was fantastic value for all the tram journeys we made! We walked from the train station Sloterdijk to the hotel on arrival(10 mins) as we didn't have our tram pass. Heading back towards the airport we got the tram. One stop and we were at Sloterdijk where we got our connecting train for the airport. The transport system is fantastic all over!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Amsterdam! Enjoy

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Jesssssssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed for a mid week break, the tram stops opposite the hotel and this is useful for getting to the airport or into Amsterdam city. The hotel was quiet, and has very comfortable large rooms, a large bathroom with a walk in shower. The room was immaculately clean with a large comfortable bed. The hotel has free wi-fi and a lovely sitting/computer area behind reception. On arrival the staff were very helpful, they advised on the cheapest way to travel to the city and answered all our questions well. My friends had breakfast which was very substantial and tasty. When we left, I realised I had left my favourite cardigan in the hotel room. I emailed the hotel and they agreed to send the cardigan to me. My daughter was due to go to Amsterdam in the following few days so I arranged for the cardigan to be dropped off at another hotel the other side of the city. I was expecting to pay, but I was not charged for this 'Raol' dropped it off on his way home, what an excellent example of customer service and I now have the cardigan back. Lovely hotel, would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank H4467EFjuliep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We have just returned from a long weekend in Amsterdam. We stayed at the Golden Tulip Hotel. This hotel is amazing and the staff so helpful and pleasant. They are always available to help and advise. The hotel is not in the centre but has a tram stop opposite the hotel and staff explain which one you need and where to change etc. It is very easy to get about using the trams. The rooms in the hotel are very comfortable, clean and a good size. The breakfasts are wonderful and as it is a buffet you can find plenty for everyone`s tastes and as much as you like. We had an evening meal one night and that too was very enjoyable with plenty choice and very reasonable. All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Golden Tulip and Amsterdam and we love to return soon. Special thanks to staff Desiree and Brian who were very helpful and kind.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fl0rencehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

This hotel is not in the center but is well served by the public trasport services. There is a tram stop near the hotel and you can get to the center in 15 minutes. It's also only a few minutes distant from Sloterdijk station where you can take the train to the Schiphol airport. Considering that taxi trasportation to the airport coasts about 45 euro, this is the option to prefer. The rooms are clean, comfortable and modern with Nespresso self service tea and coffee machine, minibar, wi-fi free, TV and airconditioning. There are also a restaurant, a bar and a meeting room. I missed personally a fitness room but you can rent a bike and use it as a recreation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank tamerlano77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,901 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#142 of 372 in Amsterdam
5,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Volkshotel
#39 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,417 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XO Hotels Park West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XO Hotels Park West

Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $91 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — XO Hotels Park West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XO HOTELS PARK WEST welcomes you in Amsterdam! It has a restaurant which is open for breakfast and dinner, and a nice non-alcohol bar for lunch, bites and refreshments. The hotel has a lounge and business centre, two meeting rooms and a parking garage underneath the hotel. Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk), and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min). Whether you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your XO Hotels Park West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing