We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stylish and comfortable hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Ranked #55 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great stylish and comfortable hotel in a great location”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

What a great location! Parking was ample and not stupidly expensive at 12.50 per 24 hours. Rather cheap for Amsterdam standards!

Check-in was quick and efficient, with staff being very friendly and speaking multiple languages, easily switching from Dutch to English, to German to Spanish.

We did not include breakfast in our stay as we had a very early start the next day. Our room was lovely, spacious, modern and comfortable. The glass shower cabin is amazing and both bathroom and bedroom were spotlessly clean.

The bed was super comfortable, our bottle of wine had been delivered as requested and the room was quiet. Free wifi, no login codes, was greatly appreciated.

The only negative I found was the fridge: difficult to explain but it's more a cooled vending machine than a fridge, so you can select drinks to drop down, but you cannot store your own drinks in it, which was a shame.

The tram stops about 100 yards away. An 'enkeltje' (single ticket) is around 2.80pp, a day ticket (can be bought from reception) is around 7.50. Getting to and from town is easy. There are buses nearby too so we left the car in the garage and just used public transport during our stay.

Great find!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dutchess_UKNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,938
    1,464
    273
    88
    46
See reviews for
745
1,771
115
238
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We have just spent 3 nights and 4 days in Amsterdam! So delighted to have booked Golden Tulip Hotel for our stay! Although it's a little out of the centre, it is a perfect location as the no 12 tram is around the corner from the hotel and brings you straight to the Museum Plaza where you find the Van Gough Museum!! From there you can get another tram (no 2) which will bring you straight into the centre of Amsterdam.

The hotel itself is modern, clean, spacious and the staff are very friendly! Breakfast was included in our rate and SO worth it! The spread was fantastic and really set you up for the day! Freshly squeezed orange juice every day- yummy!!

We bought our 72 hour tram pass at the hotel reception desk and it was fantastic value for all the tram journeys we made! We walked from the train station Sloterdijk to the hotel on arrival(10 mins) as we didn't have our tram pass. Heading back towards the airport we got the tram. One stop and we were at Sloterdijk where we got our connecting train for the airport. The transport system is fantastic all over!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Amsterdam! Enjoy

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Jesssssssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed for a mid week break, the tram stops opposite the hotel and this is useful for getting to the airport or into Amsterdam city. The hotel was quiet, and has very comfortable large rooms, a large bathroom with a walk in shower. The room was immaculately clean with a large comfortable bed. The hotel has free wi-fi and a lovely sitting/computer area behind reception. On arrival the staff were very helpful, they advised on the cheapest way to travel to the city and answered all our questions well. My friends had breakfast which was very substantial and tasty. When we left, I realised I had left my favourite cardigan in the hotel room. I emailed the hotel and they agreed to send the cardigan to me. My daughter was due to go to Amsterdam in the following few days so I arranged for the cardigan to be dropped off at another hotel the other side of the city. I was expecting to pay, but I was not charged for this 'Raol' dropped it off on his way home, what an excellent example of customer service and I now have the cardigan back. Lovely hotel, would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank H4467EFjuliep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton England
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We have just returned from a long weekend in Amsterdam. We stayed at the Golden Tulip Hotel. This hotel is amazing and the staff so helpful and pleasant. They are always available to help and advise. The hotel is not in the centre but has a tram stop opposite the hotel and staff explain which one you need and where to change etc. It is very easy to get about using the trams. The rooms in the hotel are very comfortable, clean and a good size. The breakfasts are wonderful and as it is a buffet you can find plenty for everyone`s tastes and as much as you like. We had an evening meal one night and that too was very enjoyable with plenty choice and very reasonable. All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Golden Tulip and Amsterdam and we love to return soon. Special thanks to staff Desiree and Brian who were very helpful and kind.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fl0rencehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

This hotel is not in the center but is well served by the public trasport services. There is a tram stop near the hotel and you can get to the center in 15 minutes. It's also only a few minutes distant from Sloterdijk station where you can take the train to the Schiphol airport. Considering that taxi trasportation to the airport coasts about 45 euro, this is the option to prefer. The rooms are clean, comfortable and modern with Nespresso self service tea and coffee machine, minibar, wi-fi free, TV and airconditioning. There are also a restaurant, a bar and a meeting room. I missed personally a fitness room but you can rent a bike and use it as a recreation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tamerlano77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Golden Tulip for 4 nights in April 2014. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful and quick to respond to any of our needs. It was a little hard to find initially, but it's convenient to the airport and Sloterdijk station. The bar downstairs has good bitterballen, a local snack specialty. We would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ARTrav481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#40 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#105 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,007 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 367 in Amsterdam
4,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Property: Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Amsterdam West welcomes you in Amsterdam! It has a restaurant which is open for breakfast and dinner, and a nice non-alcohol bar for lunch, bites and refreshments. The hotel has a lounge and business centre, two meeting rooms and a parking garage underneath the hotel. Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk), and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min). Whether you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing