We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Exceeds Expectations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Ranked #47 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Marion, Ma
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Exceeds Expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We asked for early check in after flying in from the u.s. We arrived at 9 AM and the room was ready. We requested a king bed which was called their "superior room". The room was spacious, clean and well appointed. Only minor complaint was lack of soap ( bar) and small sized towels. It was immediately corrected by the hotel staff.
The location was outside of the central district but the tram was right outside the hotel which made access to anywhere in Amsterdam very convenient. We only had breakfast in the hotel which I would rate a 4 stars. Fresh squeezed orange juice was really great along with the freshly cooked, eggs, etc. Front desk personal were very helpful and went out of their way to be accommodating.

This would appear to be a business hotel, which was not a problem for us. We only stayed one night and then left on a river cruise. The mini bar was stocked with non-alcoholic beverages and there was no charge for using it.

We would recommend this hotel. We booked thru the bookings.com web site which offered a discounted rate. Everything went very smoothly.

Room Tip: The superior room means king bed with slightly more space. It's worth the small extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTAW, General Manager at Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thank you for the nice review but I just have to add one thing for future guests. Our minibar is not complementary. You were lucky and the machine in your room might have had a technical problem. In the machine are both softdrinks as alcoholic drinks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,790
    1,350
    227
    60
    33
See reviews for
681
1,619
105
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

This hotel is away from the center of the city, which we thought was a blessing. It is on a tram line that is 10 minutes or so to the center of the city or to the train station west of centraal station. We walked to this train station to go to other places, It is a 10 minute walk.

We enjoyed this hotel. The rooms were large and clean, and the breakfast and dinner buffets were incredible.

We stayed 3 nights, and would definitely stay here again if we are in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RTD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

I normally don't review things, but this place was too great not to. We stayed here this last March. It is was a perfect stay. It was pretty cheap for three people, about $150 per night. The room was large and spacious. Everything was upgraded and modern. There was a rainfall shower head which felt so nice after a long day. The staff was very nice and our room was always cleaned when we arrived back. A tram stop across the block and will take you into the city center about 5 minutes or so away. I can not recommend this place enough. If you are going to Amsterdam, stay at this place!

If you are taking the tram, take line 12 (blue) and get off on Haarlemmerweg.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights and must say one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in. The room was a good size with a huge bed. Lovely bathroom with a fantastic shower. It is a little out of the centre which we preferred but is so easy with the trams 15 minutes to centraal station. A lot have said the evening meal a little pricey but we thought it very good value cooked before your eyes and very tasty. special mention to John R in the restaurant a lovely man, all the staff so helpful will definately be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed here Ocotber 2013 for the Amsterdam Dance Festival . Do not stay here if you are going to RAI center or Velodrome as it was very hard to get to . It was a lovely hotel, very modern. The bathrooms are lovely and spacious aswell as the rooms. We stayed for 3 nights , the second night our door broke which meant someone had to come and remove the whole door and re attatch it to allow us into our room which was a bit of an inconvience. The breakfast was great. loved it! Was a bit outside the center but if you get on a number 12 tram and then a number 1 it will take you into the center.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CE0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Nothing to complain - a well-equipped and clean hotel, staff are professional and helpful and, breakfast is fabulous. Our basic requirement of hotel in our 3 week’s trip is a hotel close to downtown and have a lift – do not need to climb staircase with our 3 weeks’ luggage. However, it will be very expensive in Amsterdam. So, we choose this hotel which have very good rating and comments but a bit away from town. It is a good choice though we need to spend some 15-20 min to/from central by tram #12 then, #13/14 – we enjoy the tram travel as well. Traffic to airport just takes 10min from station Sloterdijk.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helen_mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Booked this hotel online and although I do check reviews first, I'm never sure I've booked the right one, but what a fantastic surprise. From the moment we arrived, we were met by smiling happy faces. Lisa was on reception and really made us feel welcome. 1st impressions were very good but what would the room be like? Up to the 3rd floor, opened the door to our room and wow! It was spacious and clean with great facilities. Lots of UK tv channels, plenty of tea and coffee, roomy and quiet. The hotel is relatively new in its current guise and refurbishment so time will tell, but the staff all seem genuinely proud to work there and maintaining the standards. Several of the staff told us that the hotel had won lots of awards in the past 12 months and they seemed to be very proud of that. The quality of the food in the restaurant was also very good, both breakfast and evening meals. The evening meals are buffet themed but the fish, meat or pizza is cooked in front of you after you have decided what you want. Excellent customer service, a very very clean hotel and bedroom. It is out of the centre and surrounded by roads but this wasn't an issue for us. There is an excellent tram service more or less on the doorstep and the reception staff are very knowledgeable on travel and how to get to places. They will provide you with maps and can arrange tickets etc. The windows are double glazed so keep the road noise out, but if you want views of canals and rolling hills, this is not the hotel for you. If I go back to Amsterdam, I'd stay there again without hesitation. Thanks to Lisa on reception, Linda the restaurant concierge and 'Sir' also on the front desk.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Croxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
2.0 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.0 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#40 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
0.5 mi away
Urban Lodge Hotel
Urban Lodge Hotel
#44 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Property: Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Amsterdam West welcomes you in Amsterdam! It has a restaurant which is open for breakfast and dinner, and a nice non-alcohol bar for lunch, bites and refreshments. The hotel has a lounge and business centre, two meeting rooms and a parking garage underneath the hotel. Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk), and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min). Whether you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing