We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely hotel, definitely recommend.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Ranked #44 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, definitely recommend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

The Golden tulip hotel is a lovely place to stay in a lovely quiet location. Our room was very clean and had everything we needed. Especially loved the coffee machine! The staff were fantastic, very friendly and very helpful. Felt so welcome.
It only took 10 mins to walk from the train station to the hotel, there were also frequent trams from just outside the hotel to the central amsterdam areas. The travel was cheap, clean and so reliable.
The only slight negative was the price of the breakfast, we felt it was little steep. But massive selection of food and we did enjoy it. Will definitely be staying here again and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,735
    1,300
    214
    55
    31
See reviews for
650
1,556
102
196
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

I have found my idea of the perfect hotel for every future visit to Amsterdam. Outstanding quality at outstanding value for money. Almost full marks from me (location is not really something the efficient and admirable management can improve on) and I have never given such high ratings before.
Very well done to everyone in the Hotel Golden Tulip. You know about hospitality and the City should be proud of you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

A friend and I stayed at the Golden Tulip for 3 nights over Easter and have nothing but praise for our stay! We could not believe the bargain we had grabbed ourselves when we booked this hotel, we thought it was too good to be true! The hotel fully lives up to the high praising reviews and photos I had read and seen beforehand. The room was spotless, the bed was comfy and the shower was heaven! Staff were friendly, nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived. The food was fantastic, an array of choice both and breakfast and dinner, and everything was delicious! I fully recommend this hotel and would stay here again, it really is exceptionally good!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ge_919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Not town Amsterdam centre but close to Sloterdijk Railway Station which is a great train/bus/tram hub. A GVB metro/tram/bus pass is great value for getting downtown and around Amsterdam (did not think the Iamsterdam card offered good value for money.)

The hotel rooms are spacious and have many little welcome facilities e.g. a UK 3-pin socket outlet, USB charging points, free wifi etc. The rooms are clean and well appointed. The staff are knowledgeable. We stayed 5 nights & I agree with the previous review in connection with the debit/credit card issue, however a minor quibble.

In summary, great value and I would, without reservation, recommend this hotel to a friend.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 7th floor were quiet and spacious, but we had been upgraded so cannot tell if this room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank easthigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Helpful staff
Clean rooms and bathrooms
Good breakfast & excellent dinner buffet
Decent location with connections every few mins to the center also just 5 mins away from Sloterdijk train station with direct connections to the airport and many other places.

Couple of things to be aware of :
They ask to authorize (reserve the amount) the payment on your credit card when you arrive for all the days of your stay. We have been to many cities n stayed at many hotels in Europe however this is the first time we encountered such a request. We paid by debit card (as I could not remember the pin of my credit card) however for all subsequent services we had to to either pay cash of keep a cash deposit with the hotel if we wanted to put it on our room. This is not a major issue but just a bit irritating considering there was a 1 euro authorization on my card to ensure the card was genuine done 3 days before my stay. Just something to keep in mind if you plan to stay here.

The other thing is there are no decent eateries around no much dining options so you either dine at the hotel or dine in the heart of the city and then head back to the hotel.

We had a good time and would definitely recommend the place to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MelAks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was a wonderful hotel to stay in for our 2 nights in Amsterdam. It was outside the loud part of the city and right next to the #12 bus, which takes you everywhere you need to be. So easy to get around and such a nice hotel! Clean, modern rooms and comfortable beds. Great breakfast too. We also loved that the parking was underground and not in a lot. It's the cheapest parking you'll find in Amsterdam - only 15euro for the day. Thank you, Golden Tulip!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed at this hotel in march very impressed with everything food was superb ideally situated will recommend to friends short tram journey to city boat trip worth the money ice bar very cold but had to try it

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
2.0 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.0 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#46 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
0.5 mi away
Urban Lodge Hotel
Urban Lodge Hotel
#47 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Property: Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Amsterdam West welcomes you in Amsterdam! It has a restaurant which is open for breakfast and dinner, and a nice non-alcohol bar for lunch, bites and refreshments. The hotel has a lounge and business centre, two meeting rooms and a parking garage underneath the hotel. Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk), and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min). Whether you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing