We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We almost had a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Ranked #61 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My fiance and I visited the Golden Tulip Amsterdam West between the 12th and the 19th of February 2014, we almost had a great stay, I say almost because of two main reasons:

1. when we arrived to the hotel we found out that for some strange reason the hotel cancelled our reservation, we didn't understand why because we confirmed it via booking and even contacted the hotel directly through E-mail, but it happened, and it took the hotel between 10-15 minutes to check us in to a nice room, what was really disappointing was the fact that we were on vacation celebrating my fiance birthday and our anniversary, and although we asked the hotel to supply some treats for the check we had nothing waiting for us on our entire stay other then the knowledge that someone decided to cancel our reservation

2. During our entire stay (7 nights) our bed sheets were not changed once, even thou at some point they got dirty, housekeeping made sure to tidy them every day but never ever change them, for me this seemed to be a superior case of negligence to the housekeeping duty.

Other then those problems most of our stay was quite nice, the hotel looks very nice, we got a room on the 4th floor (out of 7) with a view, there is a reasonable price mini bar at the room and the breakfast buffet is very rich and tasty, tram 12 is right in front of the hotel so you can get anywhere you want in Amsterdam, most of the time you will need to connect to another tram thou.

most of the receptionists know enough to give you all sorts of valuable information you might need, we were a bit shocked thou, when at one of the evenings we wanted to book a tour for the day after and the receptionist stated "I am on night duty, we don't really know anything about tours because there are no tour sales at night, you should ask again at around 8:00 in the morning." Off course when we asked at the morning it was already too late to get a hotel pickup and we had to literally make haste to the tour company office near the central station so we would get to go on the tour.

Overall I would say that the hotel is quite nice but we would have had a great stay if they would try harder to make you feel they care for what you think.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if you like a view and prefer to avoid noise, and a double bed if you don't...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,907)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,184 - 2,190 of 3,907 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

me and my boyfriend stayed here for 3 nights over valentines and it was perfect, we're even thinking of coming again to this hotel in summer when the weather is better (wasn't the best time of the year for the weather). we had a comfort room and it was absolutely huge, it was amazing! the breakfast was lovely, lots to choose from and even my boyfriend is a fussy eater and still found something that he liked to eat. it's about a 5/10 minute walk from the train station which was good and then only a 5 minute trip on the train to the city centre. lovely staff, lovely hotel, all in all a lovely place to stay. definitely recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamamyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Location is not so good. Near the trams, but they cost 12 euro per two person 2-way. So for me it's better to find more expensive hotel near the centre and don't pay for transport. The coffe-mashin is exellent. Free coffe anf hot chocolate!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pautinka-a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This place was lovely. - perfect receptionist who spent 10 minutes with us every morning and evening sorting out plans / travel. Main attractions are about 20-30 minute ride by tram, which was fine for us, but may both some. pleasently surprised when we found breakfats was included, as we already thought we baged a bargain. Lovely rooms - nice coffee machine. Perfect base for city short trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nimmoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This was a short stay (2 nights) to celebrate my husband's birthday. Although not the best time of year to visit Amsterdam the hotel is excellent in every way. The staff are friendly and welcoming, the rooms are extremely comfortable and luxurious and the breakfast sets you up for the day. Its position is ideal as it offers a good location to visit the main sites of the City without the need for public transport. You can get to most of the sites, museums etc. in around 20 minutes and the walks are very interesting.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morisson k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed here at the end of January and wasnt sure what to expect considering I got such a good deal.

Upon arrival the reception staffed greeted us, made check in fast and easy and even gave patient directions to some of our next destinations. Everything was explained and all our questions were answered. The room was immaculate and spotlessly clean. We were only there for a few days and didn't ask for housekeeping but im sure the standard would have been perfect as with everything else.

Didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel, but all staff that we came across were lovely. The bar tenders were knowledgeable and polite, even very late at night. At one point - around 1am - we wanted some food and the hotel had stopped serving some hours before. However, they helped us and recommended a local pizza delivery service - which was amazing - and even notified us when it was delivered.

All in all a fantastic hotel to stay in, made our weekend effortless with no problems. Would not stay here again unless I was hiring a car because it is a little bit out of the way of the center of Amsterdam but otherwise faultless. Thank you!

(it took us around 30-40 to get to the centre by getting the tram which is right outside the hotel. there is also a late night bus service but taxi was under 20 euros late at night)

Room Tip: Either contact the hotel before hand or at reception when checking in as they are very accommodating...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maybeslightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We travelled to Amsterdam as a couple and decided to stay outwith the city centre as you get a lot more for your money that way.

First off - lets get the TRAVEL out the way....

We were initially apprehensive about the traveling to and from the hotel from the city centre...however there is no need to worry.

The Hotel is situated very near Sloterdijk Station, which lies between Shcipol Airport and Centraal Station.

From Schipol take the train direct to Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station. NOTE - If using the self service machines, you need to type in Amsterdam to find the Station. We searched for Sloterdijk but it returned nothing on the search. If you search Amsterdam then a list of all Stations in Amsterdam come up and you can then select Sloterdijk Station.

Once at the Station head to the Bus and Tram area and get the 12 Tram to the hotel.

The train from the Airport takes between 14-16 minutes to get to Sloterdijk Station and the 12 Tram takes you from there to the hotel in approx 2 minutes (its the 2nd stop) and the stop you want is about 15 meters after the hotel.

You can take either take the tram right into the city or take the train.

The number 12 Tram takes you to the Museum Quarter (Museumplein) where you can get another to the City Centre - Centraal Station (no's 2, 5 or 16) they are very frequent.

We however chose to take the number 12 tram to Sloterdijk Station (its 2 stops and and only 2 minutes travel) or walk the 5 minutes to the station. From there the Sprinter Tains to Centraal Station are every 5 minutes and take between 4 minutes and 7 minutes to get to Centraal Station (depending on the train taken).

Tram and Train prices are very resonable and cheaper than the UK.


The HOTEL.

The hotel from the outside does not look like much, however inside is a different story. The hotel is modern and nicely decorated and the rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable and feel very safe.

The en-suite shower rooms are amazing, so large in size with underfloor heating that keeps the tiled room very cosy.

This really is a 4* hotel and its very quiet outside at night.

The staff were friendly and helpful - you can if you like use your credit card to enable you to charge to your room but this is not essential.

I would definatelty stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank ChrisB_KMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 371 in Amsterdam
5,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Volkshotel
#37 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,378 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#104 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $98 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Amsterdam West welcomes you in Amsterdam! It has a restaurant which is open for breakfast and dinner, and a nice non-alcohol bar for lunch, bites and refreshments. The hotel has a lounge and business centre, two meeting rooms and a parking garage underneath the hotel. Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk), and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min). Whether you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing