We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“V.Good Hotel with Excellent Value for Money (Recommended)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Ranked #62 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The hotel is very good with really amazing price compared to other hotel in Amsterdam. The Room is clean and big with a espresso machine (tea & coffee).

Moreover, the internet is free and there are 4 PCs in the lobby to use for free (printing, internet, copying, etc). The Staff is supporting and friendly.

Regarding the Location is little far from downtown with no attraction at surrounding area (but this really not an issue compared to the price you paying and hotel services providing). If you arriving from Amsterdam airport, take the train to SLOTERDIJK, then take tram # 12 and get-out at Haarlemmerweg (2nd stop). Hotel will be in front of you. You can buy 24 hours ticket at the Tram with 7.5 €.

I general, I really recommending this hotel and I will stay there again.

To go to Downtown, Take Tram#12 from front of your hotel station (Haarlemmerweg), then exchange to tram #13 at Adm. de Ruijterweg, trip will take 15-20 minutes.

To go to museums (Van Gogh, Rijks,Stedelijk & diamonds), Take Tram #12 and get-out at van Baerlestraat station.

There is also I Amterdam card for museums pass either for 24, 48, 72 hrs (except main museums which Rijksmuseum (2.5€ discount) & Ann Frankhuis) including Transport with same period & one-time cannel cruise. Refer to museums list provided. I used it and found it worthy.

Moreover, In Demark Street near Dam Square, you will find many Tours & Ticket shops for local, surrounding, Brussels (60€) tours.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Walid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,917)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,236 - 2,242 of 3,917 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

Very nice hotel, its not in the center of Amsterdam but there are Tram links through to the center, and also a large train station 5 minutes away which can also take you to Amsterdam Central.

The only real issue was when we checked in, the receptionist was very unfriendly, she spoke to us like we were a piece of crap, was very unhelpful and rude - she was working on the 27th November when we checked in. A different lady checked us out and she was very friendly and helpful so its just that one staff member who has issues - I have noticed other reviews referencing the same staff member!

I did also notice the restraunt "DREAM" was empty most of the time, I don't know what it is like to dine in, it looked nice but was very empty!

Room Tip: I'd choose a higher room if possible, trams go past very often and there is a road right next to...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aidan-Hancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Loved this hotel, its a little ojut of the way but is only a couple of tram stops away from all the night life which i liked and the reception staff told us exactically what to do and where to go. Everyone was happy and very helpful. The room was a little bit smaller than what i would have liked but for just the two of us it was fine we stayed in 408. very quiet during the night didnt hear anything i.e traffic, room neighbours, people walking past ther door. Big windows but not much of a view. Beds were like laying on a cloud. very clean and free coffee machine aswell. Free wifi with good connection doesnt keep on throwing you out. Breakfast although a bit exspensive was great such a big selection of different foods. we stayed for 2 nights and would definately stay here again!!! thanks!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Very nice location, close to tram and train station Sloterdijk. Very nice rooms. Clean. Nice Internet. Business center. Not expensive. 4 star +. Very nice bathroom, warm floor. All accessories. Very kind personal.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Went for a mid-week mini break and had a wonderful stay. Staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. Massive diverse breakfast buffet; while it may look expensive, if you have a large stomach you definitely get your money's worth. Rooms are very clean and modern. The bathroom is incredibly spacious with a large shower stall. Also, heated flooring! (What's not to love?) Good location as well. While not in the city centre, there is a tram stop literally across the street which goes very frequently into town and to a train station where you can catch a train to Schipol airport. Would highly recommend and stay again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank AMT410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

5 mins walk from sloterdijk station room was spacious clean and beds were very comfortable. The dream restaurant was absolutely fantastic staff were very friendly and accommodating this restaurant is 1 of amsterdams gems the only issue I found with this hotel is the fact the bar shuts at 1 am there was no way that I could get a cold beverage anywhere else in hotel or close and when I asked reception they said I would have to wait till breakfast next time I'll be taking bottle water for my room but I will definitely be returning thank you for a pleasant and relaxing stay.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank cafc4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for the nice review. We would like to note that for guests who would like something to drink after 1 at night, the minibar in the room can provide cold drinks if the guest provides us with a creditcard guarantee. If there is a malfuction in the minibar, we can bring something to you, also after one. Hopefully we can welcome you again as our guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed here this month on short personal visit to Amsterdam having made my booking through tripadvisor. The young(inexperienced) reception staff was unwilling to accept a cash deposit in USD(stating that only Euros were accepted) and made me walk to the currency exchange outlet 15mins away. He was quite loud and lacked basic etiquette. I had taken a long flight from Dubai(with an emergency landing inbetween) and was quite tired. They should have been more accommodating.
Rest of my stay was avarage - nothing to write home about...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saikat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 371 in Amsterdam
5,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Volkshotel
#37 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,385 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#104 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $98 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Amsterdam West welcomes you in Amsterdam! It has a restaurant which is open for breakfast and dinner, and a nice non-alcohol bar for lunch, bites and refreshments. The hotel has a lounge and business centre, two meeting rooms and a parking garage underneath the hotel. Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk), and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min). Whether you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing