We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Ranked #57 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude staff”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

I was appalled when we arrived at how rude the woman on reception was when checking in. We them phoned to request a double bed rather than two singles and she hung up on my girl friend. I then phoned back and she was rude to me and hung up. Then at the bar I ordered one gin and tonic. Then after he poured a requested another one and he said Jesus Christ and was off with me. Terrible customer service

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,959
    1,480
    276
    92
    48
See reviews for
763
1,786
117
240
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We werent supposed to be staying at this hotel but were transferred here after a technical error, and I am so pleased we were. The facilities were amazing, the room was perfect and came with a coffee machine and tea and coffee! The breakfast was incredible as was the buffet dinner! I would recommend this to anyone staying in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 13 nights at this hotel and cannot fault it! It was the perfect location for our needs - 5-10 minutes walk from Sloterdijk station or a tram ride from the centre of Amsterdam. The room was spacious, comfy and quiet, the walk-in shower was fabulous and the breakfast and evening meals were excellent. My husband and I would especially like to thank Bharat and his team for their welcome at breakfast, and Marcel and Desiree for befriending us and encouraging us to practice our Dutch, which we are learning. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel in May for our four night trip to Amsterdam. Absolutely cannot fault it at all, the rooms were amazing and the bed was so comfy! We had a huge room and bathroom including walk in shower. You can get two trams into the centre, make sure you buy the 72 hour pass as it's a lot cheaper to travel around rather than paying separate. We paid for breakfast one morning, it was expensive but definitely worth it. Also the staff were all really nice especially the bar lady! Great hotel :-)

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Christie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2013

had a 2 night stay in this brilliant hotel.The standard rooms although not large are extremely comfortable with a superb walkin shower and bathroom,The room also has a neopresso machine and mini bar.

We enjoyed the evening buffet which had a great selection equally the breakfast sets you up for the day,highly recommended,

The location is a 2 tram ride to the dam centre and only takes 15 mins.

overall we really enjoyed this hotel and would use again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthony g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My girlfriend and i stayed there for two nights during our trip to Holland. It is a nice business-style hotel. A bit far away from the city center but the pubic transports are very good. The staffs are very helpful and the buffet dinner looks delicious (although it is not cheap).

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Teng F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#39 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 368 in Amsterdam
5,033 reviews
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#104 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,037 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Property: Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Amsterdam West welcomes you in Amsterdam! It has a restaurant which is open for breakfast and dinner, and a nice non-alcohol bar for lunch, bites and refreshments. The hotel has a lounge and business centre, two meeting rooms and a parking garage underneath the hotel. Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk), and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min). Whether you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing