We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
XO Hotels Park West
Ranked #66 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,018)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,327 - 2,333 of 4,018 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was a real find at the end of 3 weeks in Europe. It was new and clean.Heated floors in a beautifully tilled bathroom,spacious room,well appointed,and clean!The tram was just around the corner and it was very easy to transfer from it to wherever you wanted to end up in the city.The crowning feature was a evening buffet that totally blew us away.It had more items then you can imagine at a reasonable cost .Even a better deal if you stayed there.All in all a wonderful place with a very helpful staff!!

Room Tip: I din't use the pool or the fitness centre.However the evening buffet was the best we have ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OldBiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Although not in the center, this is a modern quality hotel at descent prices. Access to the city centre is not difficult through tram/bus. The hotel rooms are spatious and luxury, breakfast variety and quality is very good, staff very friendly. I would choose it again for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vangelis31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I am a Co founder of a travel agency , my husband and I decided to go this October for a very short escape to Amsterdam to check out the reopening of the "Rijks Museum" and enjoy some culture. Due to the nature of my business I am accustomed to try new places with out announcing that I am a travel agent to check out as a normal tourist wether it worth recommendation or not.
The Hotel is new so enjoy it while it is still fresh! staff friendly, for european 4 stars standers rooms are spacious,comfy bed good pillows ,bathroom big & clean , good amenities, best value for those who won't mind taking the tram, bike or walk to the center of the city . Also travelers who would like to gather for a drink and talk and the end of the day will find the bar appealing. Supermarket Tram and train station near by.
though a telephone next to the bed side is necessary.
Over all worth it for your stop in Amsterdam go and try it !

Room Tip: 4th flour higher value rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 118ZIMMERMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I was staying here with family on a trip to Amsterdam, some of us were taking part in running on the Amsterdam Marathon weekend (20.10.13)
The Golden Tulip is ideally located for a visit to Amsterdam, located in the western region of the city, it is only two tram rides into the main Dam square, this takes fifteen – twenty minutes The hotel is modern and clean, staff are friendly and we received a nice, warm and polite welcome.
I had a Double room, very clean and tidy, all the usual you would expect, i.e Flatscreen TV, coffee facilities (nespresso machine), a lovely big bathroom, with walk-in shower! Lovely!, much needed after the 8k run I had completed earlier.
We ate in the Hotel, this is something I would recommend, with the discount as being a customer it is 25 euros for three courses, but you can have as much as you like. Lots of choice great food and quality. One thing book a comfort room and you will get a bottle of wine with your meal, unfortunately I had not.
I had chosen to have breakfast at the hotel, again a substantial choice and good quality.
Overall a nice hotel, good location, I would recommend it.

Room Tip: choose a room at the rear of the hotel, book a comfy room, you will receive complimentary wine if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed here recently with a family member for 2 nights and was very pleased with our choice. The hotel is a 10 min walk from Sloterdjik station which is on the main line from Schipol Airport and Amsterdam central. When arriving at the station, go to the station hall, walk out the exit for buses and trams, walk down the stairs and keep on walking, past a food cart and a small diner, keeping the rail tracks on your left side. The foot path disappears, but cross the street and keep walking, under the motorway. The road veers to the right, keep on the same road and as you come to the end of the road you will see the Golden Tulip in front of you, the road then veers to the left, be careful crossing a couple of tram tracks and then you will be walking along the side of the hotel, the entrance is on the next corner.

This is a very nice modern hotel, the room was clean, with a safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar and coffee/tea making facilities. I found the bed a little hard and the pillow a little soft also the bed side light was poor, making reading in bed tricky. There is a flat screen TV with good satellite channels.

The bathroom is a shower room which was nice, a big shower stall with a rainwater shower. Enough towels and shower gel etc. plus a hairdryer.

We found the staff to be universally pleasant and helpful. The buffet breakfast was good, with excellent juices and good cereals, lots of breads and rolls, plenty of meats and cheeses with salad for continental breakfast, however the cooked English left a bit to be desired. The bacon was streaky, the sausages were Chicken (sausages should either be beef or pork NOT Chicken) the tomatoes had either a lot of seasoning on them or cheese and the scrambled egg was dreadful. However one of the chef's was making omelette's to order which was nice.

We also had the evening buffet, which I would highly recommend. Being in a residential area, there are very few restaurants in the area. I think there was one Chinese and one (I think) Indian restaurant near the bus stop, but that was it, so unless you want to go into the city again for the evening the hotel is really your best bet. But the buffet was most definitely worth it. There was a special price while we were there of 24.50 euros. The buffet had everything from soups, plenty of salads, cooked food plus vegan and sushi, plus chef's to cook either fish or steaks to your taste. Puddings were ok, not great but fine, with a nice white chocolate fountain as well. Included in the price were soft drinks and tea/coffee. This really was good value.

I would have given this hotel 5 stars but for the few little niggles, but when next in Amsterdam I certainly intend to stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LJC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Hotel clean and comfortable. Buffet fantastic at breakfast and evening meal. If your up for the tram journeys in and out of town (you need to take 2 trams into the centre) then this is a nice place to stay. Some reception staff were a tad abrupt and not overly welcoming or helpful which was a little off putting. The restaurant staff, room maids and bar staff were very nice.

Room Tip: Our room was small everything we needed but compact for 2 people. Opt for a larger room if budget a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 73SONIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,000 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#146 of 375 in Amsterdam
5,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XO Hotels Park West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XO Hotels Park West

Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $53 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — XO Hotels Park West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XO HOTELS PARK WEST welcomes you in Amsterdam! The hotel has a restaurant which is open for breakfast, and a nice non-alcohol bar for lunch, dinner, bites and refreshments. The rooms are stylish and equipped with all modern conveniences: a flat screen television, air-conditioning, Nespresso machine and free Wi-Fi. The bathrooms have floor heating, different types of showers, and a hairdryer. The hotel has a lounge and business centre, two meeting rooms and a parking garage underneath the hotel. Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk), and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min). Whether you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your XO Hotels Park West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing