We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great value near the city center” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Ranked #44 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great value near the city center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has many positive aspects that make it one of my favorite hotels I've been to in Europe. Pros include newly renovated rooms. Our room, 232, was very large. Similar in size to hotel rooms in America, a rarity in Europe. Modern decor and I loved the frameless shower stall with rain shower. Very relaxing, refreshing and a great way to start or end your busy day of sightseeing in Amsterdam. Wi-Fi is free. Fifteen minute ride to city center on Tram #12. Tram stop is steps away from hotel entrance. They have onsite underground parking but I did not use it and therefore cannot comment on it. The breakfast is outstanding!
Cons: Slow WiFi in rooms. No onsite gym but you can go to a nearbyprivate gym (Fitness4me) and pay ?0 for a day pass. No pool.








Helpful?
2 Thank Abel A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

3,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,734
    1,301
    214
    55
    31
See reviews for
649
1,557
102
196
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

When we arrived via KLM about 8AM in the hotel, the front desk personnel checked us in with our information and payment arrangements; however, they were apologetic to us they could not let us check in our assigned rooms, which we understand. We proceeded with our plans to go to Central Amsterdam and enjoy the sights. We left our luggage in their storage. Upon our return to the hotel after an enjoyable day exploring Amsterdam, our rooms were ready and we were given the keys. Our luggage were safe and there was no evidence of foul play. However, when we entered the room, to our surprise, we were given a small room on the 2nd floor that was just a little bigger than a walk-in closet. I spoke to the front desk personnel immediately and expressed my dissatisfaction, so they apologized and promised to transfer us to a bigger room on the 6th floor for the following day. Sure enough, since there were people checking out that day, they came through with their promise and moved us to a room that was two and half times bigger than our previous one. The rooms are clean and the bathroom is immaculate. Their buffet breakfast was excellent. We've traveled to several countries in Europe and stayed in equal number of hotels and by far, this hotel had the best breakfast with its hot and cold variety of breakfast items. The only drawback is this hotel is about a 20-min. and 2 tram ride to Central Amsterdam but if you don't mind a little sight seeing along the way, then this hotel is worth it. The tram stop is in front of the hotel, just crossing the street. The general area of the hotel is generally residential so it was quite safe to walk around even late at night and it was quiet. However, it was too quiet and far from the madding crowd that the restaurant district is a tram ride away. Be that as it may, we purchased multi-day tram passes that did not hurt our budget. The staff are also generally helpful, few were more helpful and pleasant than others. Despite this, the value of this hotel is excellent as its price compared to the other hotels closer to Central Amsterdam is very reasonable and affordable. I will not hesitate to check-in at Golden Tulip Amsterdam West during our next visit to amazing Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the higher floors because they are more spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ecbmdpsych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I booked this hotel for easy ring road access to the Amsterdam RAI for the ECCO show and because I wanted free wifi access and hotel parking. The hotel scored well on all of these points. It's very easy to drive to the RAI, the parking is €16 a day and although the wifi is free and easy to logon it was pretty slow. However this is the only negative point for the hotel. The rooms were classy, large and comfortable, the staff were friendly, helpful and very efficient. The hotel is in a good location if you have a car and is €20 by taxi from the City Centre or a long tram ride on the number 12 tram which stops outside the doors of the hotel. Overall, very good hotel and recommended for business people.

Room Tip: Just ask for the best room ad they will upgrade you if they can, we also checked in early with no ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed at the hotel in August 2013.
Room design is minimalist , functional and slightly small.
Room had no kettle though,but had a coffee machine looking like a 1960s science prop ,that frankly I could not figure how to get working
Bathroom was well sized and modern.
Breakfast was excellent,with the dining area large and spacious.
The spread and items on the menu were excellent.
The service was good,though on early arrival for breakfast,twice I could not get an omelette as the stove was said not to be hot enough.
Other than that the breakfast was the high light of the stay.

The hotel though is well away from the city center and it really is very quite and lonely at night.
So late night revelers do be aware.
There is a tram station very near to the hotel for easy access to the city center.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rajkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Loved this hotel! We were a little weary because it was so reasonably priced but so pleasantly surprised.The room was spotless and all the staff were so friendly. We got in early in the morning and after a very friendly greeting were allowed straight up to our room for a much needed shower. Our room had everything we needed, comfortable beds, plenty of room and a great bathroom. The Nespresso machine was a welcome touch. We hired comfy bikes from the hotel and it was a lovely, easy cycle through a park into the city centre. Such a nice way to explore Amsterdam. Back at the hotel the buffet dinner was fabulous, beats many 5 star hotels. Chef stations, sushi, great salads and soft drinks included. Breakfast the next morning was just as good.
Tram station right outside to get train to airport, or tram around Amsterdam. Will definitely stay here if back in Amsterdam again,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luciloo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, spacious, clean, 20min away cycling from city center(they have bikes to rent). Room was great, clean, many towels, minibar,a/c, very impressed with the bathroom. Amazing breakfast, many options, you can make very quickly your own fresh orange juice, fast seat and greet. Staff was helpful, but can be improved. Overall we had a nice experience in this place.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Florin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed in the Golden Tulip for 5 nights in late September very comfortable rooms but pricey for what you get because breakfast not included. Catering staff in the restaurant very good, that can't be said for the front of house staff at reception,one of the women at the desk in the evening was so rude it was unbelievable.We had run out of euros and ask if we could pay in sterling there is a sign at reception saying we except all currencies, she laughed in our face and said this not England we only take euros and when we enquired about if there was a train timetable for the station which is local to the hotel as we were leaving the next morning we were told in a very brisk manner no and if we wanted one we would have to go to the station as this was late at night and both my partner and I are over 60 it was totally inappropriate. That women not only let the rest of the staff down she let the hotel down.

Room Tip: Get a travel card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barcode333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
2.0 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.0 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#46 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
0.5 mi away
Urban Lodge Hotel
Urban Lodge Hotel
#47 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Property: Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Amsterdam West welcomes you in Amsterdam! It has a restaurant which is open for breakfast and dinner, and a nice non-alcohol bar for lunch, bites and refreshments. The hotel has a lounge and business centre, two meeting rooms and a parking garage underneath the hotel. Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk), and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min). Whether you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing