We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Alarming!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Ranked #37 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Alarming!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

When we checked into the hotel, there was no washcloth inside the box as part of amenities in the bathroom and when I asked the front desk, I was told that it would be brought to the room instead. When we came back at night, it still wasn't in the bathroom. I had to call the front desk to inquire. I was told that it will be delivered to the room the next morning since the housekeeper has gone home already.
That same night at about 11:30, we were awakened by the fire alarm going off. We had to jump out of bed and go out of the room to check what was happening. Nobody reassured us that nothing was wrong. And it happened two more times past midnight!!! Our sleep was disrupted and troubled!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Miamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,493
    1,089
    175
    42
    23
See reviews for
521
1,326
86
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed four nights in August. One of the best hotels we've been to. Rooms huge and luxurious. Service great even down to the receptionist following me out of the hotel to give back some money I'd accidentally over paid. Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mardi989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights in September. The hotel is beautiful! Spotlessly clean and modern but warm, cosy and friendly at the same time.
The room was lovely. I loved the nespresso machine. The beds were very comfortable and the shower was heaven.
The hotel is an 8 minute walk from the train station where you can hop on a train which will bring you to central station in 6 minutes.
The reception staff are very friendly and helpful and there is a vast variety of brochures available. We didn't eat at the hotel so I cannot comment on the food but I would highly recommend this hotel for a city break.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Standish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed one night, got it on a deal, room and bathroom first class absolutely spotless. Staff pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was 15eu a bit pricey but you'll want for nothing .parking was 15eu per night and pint of Heineken in the bar was an eye watering 5.50 eu not sure I'd stay again as getting to the city centre is a bit off a chore and its 15 eu in a cab back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Spent 3 nights here in August, as a base for visiting the city. Arrived at 9.30am after very early flights, and were able to have breakfast and then check-in at 10am, which was a great bonus. Decor is lovely, rooms were very comfortable, staff were friendly and helpful, and breakfast was good with lots of choice. Would be happy to recommend to anyone. We used info from other reviews regarding trams and trains to navigate our way around from here into the city, and were quite glad to be able to get back to this quieter part of town after the crowds around the Dam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayfoster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed here with my parents from 6th September for almost a week.
Staff: The booking terms clearly mentioned that a deposit was not required. The reception staff was very rude/insulting with my father and made him pay a deposit. Some reception staff do not understand English. Housekeeping staff was very helpful.
Facilities: My mom fell at Amsterdam Airport after which she was confined to a wheelchair for the entire trip. The hotel does not have a wheelchair, does not have adequate first aid supplies. They don't know where the nearest doctor is. They gave us an address for a wheelchair rental which was more than 45 minutes away and quoted the daily rental which was 6 times more than what we finally got a wheelchair for. We had to run around the city looking for a wheelchair, pharmacy and doctor.
Location: It will take you 30-45 minutes to get to Central Amsterdam in a Tram. You will have to change 2 Trams to get there or walk to the nearest station (around 10 minutes away) and then take a train.
Room service: Slow. A bottle of water took more than half hour to arrive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NehaHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your review and I hope your mother is doing well now after her fall on the airport. The fact that we do not have wheelchairs is because we are not a suitable hotel for disabled people. However we do have a "hotel" docter. It is a local doctor who will come to the hotel when we call him. All together I am sorry that your stay was not what you expected of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel for just 2 nights, but it was so great! It was in close proximity to the Schipol airport so getting there was a breeze. When we arrived at the hotel the exterior was not all that welcoming. I believe they should change the colour of the hotel to a nicer colour. However, when we got inside it was like we entered a different world. The lobby was beautiful and there was adequate staff available for check-in. We were asked about breakfast during check-in ad paid it in our bill. One very great thing to note is that the staff's English was excellent!

Upon entering our room we realized just how massive the room was, as well as modern because it is a new hotel. The room was beautifully decorated and very quiet! The bathroom was also very great! The room had great storage and lots of lighting and there were a variety of TV channels available. I'm not even going to begin speaking about those heavenly beds!

When we got to dinner in the DREAM restaurant we were surprised at just how much food was there. There were all kinds of stations and the sushi seemed good! They got me at the chocolate fountain near the entrance with all kinds of dippers! Breakfast had a very great selection as well. I think I remember seeing as many as 8 different types of cereal as well as fresh fruits. There was milk, chocolate milk, pink grapefruit juice, apple juice, orange juice, fruit punch, coffee and so much more!

Great stay here! Do yourself a favour and check in here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PantonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.0 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
2.0 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
citizenM Amsterdam
citizenM Amsterdam
#35 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 4,106 reviews
3.5 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#46 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 735 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel De Hallen
Hotel De Hallen
#22 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Property: Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Amsterdam West has all the facilities you can expect of a 4 star hotel. It has a restaurant with more than 300 seats that is open for breakfast and dinner, a nice bar for lunch, bites and drinks, a lounge and business centre, three meeting rooms and a parking garage underneath the hotel. Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk), and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min). Whether you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing