We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 day stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Ranked #55 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Falkland, United Kingdom
1 review
“4 day stay”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My stay was outstanding . Food ,service, accommodation first class. Could not fault it in any department. Staff were fantastic and could not do enough to help. The morning buffet breakfast was the best I have seen . I was unaware of noise from outside and inside the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,941
    1,465
    273
    88
    46
See reviews for
745
1,774
116
238
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were very happy with this hotel for the price we paid - staff were really friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast was very enjoyable. The hotel is right next to a large park and we enjoyed cycling through it. Only complaint - we had some trouble locating it so perhaps the directions on the hotel site could be more clear.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ckehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your nice words. With what kind of transportation did you come to the hotel? We can review our directions and adjust the information on our website. You can call us or sent it to info@goldentulipamsterdamwest.com, attention of management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

A decent hotel in a reasonable location. Only 10 minutes walk from Amsterdam Sloterdijk station or a 5 minute tram ride. The hotel was very clean and all the staff very pleasant. The hotel is a 15 minute tram ride into the centre of Amsterdam but it is about €50-60's cheaper per night to stay here than an equivalent hotel in the city centre. The bedroom was large with a decent sized Shower/Bath/WC attached. The room was also equipped with a flat screen TV and a Nespresso maker. My only slight criticism is the breakfast at €15 was a bit pricey but the quality was very good. There aren't many bars or restaurants in the area but Cafe Pistou, a 10 minute walk away is very good for a drink. I would certainly stay here again if visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rayraynewby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We selected the Golden Tulip hotel as a family of 4, with experience staying in a father away hotel to save costs. This satisfied our needs, but it is important to know that there is very little in the area in terms of restaurants (the most immediate Asian restaurant had terrible service and mediocre food). The hotel has a restaurant, but it is quite expensive for a family traveling.

The rooms were clean, well appointed, and quiet. Free computers and printing are also a bonus. Also, they host an exchange library. I left a book I that hope is enjoyed in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoutheastJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for mentioning our librairy and for leaving a book. I am sure a future guest will appreciate it. Hopefully you left some details inside the book, so they might be able to thank you.
A little bit further away from the hotel, about 600 meters, there are more restaurants with more variaty. I am sorry that we were not able to point them out to you during your stay....maybe next time?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

So there was much to like at the Golden Tulip. The bed was firm and good quality. The bathroom was beautiful. The front desk staff were hospitable, most of them. This review is about the little things that are different than American hotels.

First the room. There are no blackout shades. Mine was opening to a very bright street. Bring eyeshades. Also there is no face cloth or shampoo in the room..just some strange paper towel. Bring soap (if you want real soap), a face cloth and shampoo if you will need it. The pillows are these enormous thick squares. Bring you pillow unless you like sleeping with your head on a shelf. There is no clock in the room. Bring your own alarm. They do not offer a wakeup call.

There is no gym and no ice machine. You can't even get ice at the 15 euro breakfast. I was directed to use the ice that the dishes were sitting in on the buffet. Lots of juice but no ice water anywhere in the hotel including the restaurant. Same with fresh fruit. They serve dried fruit, and marinated fruit, not fresh fruit. The coffee was delicious and they had fresh squeezed orange juice. They do not believe in crispy bacon.

There is a very good Asian restaurant nearby with a small plates menu. Ask about the dinner special. Its that or the hotel breakfast or dinner buffet. The dinner buffet is about 30 euros. I did not see any other restaurants or other places to go.

The internet worked well for me, wireless only in the rooms.

Its a hike from the train station, maybe a half mile or so. The neighborhood was not fun to walk around. I was harassed by three young men when I walked to see a coworker at the Blue Hotel (stayed there because he could not get a reservation at the Golden Tulip).

My room was quiet, I slept well and I had come prepared with pillow, soap and shampoo. Its a 20 minute tram ride to the Central Station. You can buy a 24 hour tram ticket at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank okaycoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We like very detailed reviews, thank you. In aswer to some of your remarks the following. We are changing the shades. More guests had the same remark and you are right. We are a Green Key hotel and minimalise in guest supplies, but we do have shampoo in the rooms. In the shower cabine is a dispenser with hair and body soap. On the televion is a clock and in the guest directory we offer all our facilities, also a wake up call. Fresh fruit in the breakfast can be found opposite the fresh orange juice machine on your way out of the restaurant. You can always ask the reception for anything you would like to know or cannot find. No does not excist, we can find alternatives or try to make it a yes. Hopefully we can welcome you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falun, Dalarnas Län, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We checked in at Golden Tulip Hotel for a four-nights-stay for a week ago. The hotel is located in the western part, just outside of the city centre, so you might not take a walk from the railway station to the hotel but the public transports (and taxi) do work very well and are easy to travel with. (By the way, you can pick up an excellent line map for buses/trams/metro at the Central Station). Our large room had a luxury feeling, and it was very tidy and clean with a coffee maker. The buffet breakfast was most generously served and very tasty. The hotel restaurant also serve a buffet dinner at evenings, try it you'll like it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed for four nights as a city break in Amsterdam. Hotel is quite far (a couple of miles) from a center but tram service makes getting in and out very easy (trip advice: buy multi-day tram ticket) very friendly staff, very clean and very modern hotel with excellent wifi internet connection.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMC3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#40 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#143 of 367 in Amsterdam
4,980 reviews
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#104 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Property: Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Amsterdam West welcomes you in Amsterdam! It has a restaurant which is open for breakfast and dinner, and a nice non-alcohol bar for lunch, bites and refreshments. The hotel has a lounge and business centre, two meeting rooms and a parking garage underneath the hotel. Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk), and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min). Whether you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing