We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A few negatives but lots and lots of positives”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Ranked #50 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A few negatives but lots and lots of positives”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We found this to be a great hotel and, not being too keen on some of the rowdier inner city nightlife and cheap stag/hen-do type hotels, were happy to be a little further out of town.

TRAVEL
It's slightly in the middle of nowhere (by a busy junction and lots of offices - there's not exactly a corner shop you can pop to) but don't let that put you off as the transport links are really easy to get to grips with.
From the airport, just get a train directly to Slotterdijk (it's inbetween Schiphol and Amsterdam Centraal). The staff at the train station ticket office in the airport will guide you. From Slotterdijk station, apparenlty it's an easy 10 min walk to the hotel but we arrived at night in the freezing rain so took a No12 tram to to stop 'Harlemmweg' (just keep your eye out, you'll see the hotel on your right after 5 mins on the tram), which is just across the junction from the hotel.
There's a manned ticket desk in the middle of every tram and you can get a 1hr ticket (2.80euros) or a 24hour ticket (7.60ish) - get the 24hr one as you'll need it for your travels the next day too. We found it cheaper and easier to buy a 24hr ticket each day rather than one off the touristy 'IAMsterdam' passes.

TOP TIP: Bleep/swipe both when you get on AND off the tram. If you don't, your ticket won't work next time you try to use it and they won't replace it, it's just tough luck if you haven't bleeped on and off a tram.
ANOTHER TOP TIP: Tram or bus - get your ticket on it. Train - get your ticket BEFORE boarding (or risk a hefty fine).

To get from the hotel into central Amsterdam, either reverse the above journey and get the train one stop from Slotterdijk to Amsterdam Centraal or it takes about 20 mins (but an easy 20 mins) to get into town by tram.
The 12 takes you halway there, then change for the 13 or 14 to get into the centre of town.


THE HOTEL:
The staff are really helpful and friendly. They all have perfect English and are eager to offer advice, whether its about the hotel itself or about your trip to Amsterdam. If you can get breakfast included in you deal, brilliant as the spread is immense! You can fill yourself to the brim, meaning you don't necessarily need to buy lunch in town. Plus, it runs until 10.30am.
Dinner-wise, the hotel is pretty expensive (c.30euros) but it's an all you can eat buffet and would put the best cruise ships to shame. The selection is very impressive and although pricey is very much worth it.

Note, there's pretty much no other options around the hotel (there's one chinese restaurant relatively close) so we opted for the hotel buffet on 2 of our 3 nights.
The hotel could probably benefit from doing a few standard dishes a bit cheaper for the likes of room service (i.e. burger, club sandwich etc for 12 - 15 euros) but even the room service options were a bit fancy and from the buffet selection.

The rooms are really comfortable (the area around the coffee machine could have done with a wee dust, but that was the only tiny problem). The lounge and bar areas are relaxing and comfortable and the bar is reasonably priced (only 3 euros for a nice glass of house red).

I'd definitely stay there again - given the choice between being in the city centre in a grotty hostel or being a sort tram ride away in relative luxury, I know which I'd choose!

Room Tip: As the hotel was quiet (it's still relatively new), we were upgraded to a 'comfort' corn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lassycomehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,872
    1,406
    248
    73
    38
See reviews for
709
1,707
111
219
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel is brand new, lovely with all mod cons, the only moan would be the Mini bar does'nt work(didn't tell us) and the heating takes a while to warm up. The bar is open till 1am.It's to expensive to eat here and only a chinese resturant by the tram stop (lidl close)It's a 10 min walk of the train and a day pass on the tram(2min away) will take you to all the main places to visit, which is the cheaper option for sight seeing. The staff tell you where the stops are and give you a map, the tram drivers will tell you where to get of. Last tram is 12.15pm but there is a later train(didn't try bus) Dam square is best as there is loads to do and see there and lots of trams to get you around.It's out the way but once we sussed the travel options it was fine for our short break.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayne1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our family of four just spent 2 nights in a spacious room with two queen beds. The hotel has only been open for 6 months or so, so everything is fresh and clean and nicely appointed. We very much appreciated the firm position on smoking (2500 Euro fine for smoking in the room). Location isn't ideal for tourist areas, but the tram stop (#12) is 100 meters from the hotel and runs right into town in 15 minutes. The Sloterdijk train station is an 8 minute walk and there are frequent trains from Amsterdam Central station and Schiphol. Breakfast buffet was ample (though how about some jugs of water available along with the juices?). Parking lot underneath was very convenient and access to the motorway was very easy. Only two quibbles: location and liberal use of air freshener in one of the elevators making it unusable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LNDNEXPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went over for our anniversary on valentines weekend. As an Amsterdam novice, I made the mistake of both not thoroughly researching the location and more importantly, underestimating the transport links. These mistakes cost us 36€ in a cab for a 15minute drive rather than going straight from the plane to the train platform (in the airport terminal), paying around 7€ for two single tickets to Sloterdijk station where the hotel is a short walk from there. One to think about if you are on a budget.
The hotel itself is a very modern one, presented well with a friendly atmosphere. We didn't eat in the hotel as we wanted to experience what Amsterdam had to offer, though I managed to sneak into the restaurant and it all looked quick tasty. The room itself was a fair size with lovely bathroom. Word of warning here if you are going as a couple MAKE SURE you clarify that you room has a double beed in it. As a new hotel it seems as though (particularly owing to valentines weekend) there may be a shortage of double beds. This is what we discovered by booking through eBookers. As there was no fault by the hotel we got on with managing the two single beds in our double room. The beds themselves were quite comfortable and coffee machine was awesome. Bathroom stylish and well spaced.
The location may not suit everyone as it isn't set in the heart of Amsterdam, but what appears to be a business area and there doesn't seem to be much else about except a Lidl a few minutes away. But if you don't mind the commute and don't want to have to deal with the hustle and bustle of town, you can get a tram from almost outside the hotel directly into Amsterdam central. There is also a bus service and Sloterdijk train station is less than 10minutes walk away and only a stop (5mins) from Amsterdam central. If you don't mind the travel, definitely the way to go.
We did have a small issue with a communicative error but this was expeditiously, professionally and satisfactorily dealt with by the management.
All in all great time in a really nice, clean hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank 00dread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Hotel is situated quite far from any attraction/city centre, it will take 20 min by tram to get there. Room was very nice, also the bathroom. There was a little problem with the coffee machine, my wife had to spend some time to research how to use it. We had breakfast at hotel which was €30 (2 pers) and we haven`t been very delighted with as it was mediocre. Overall the hotel was nice and had a good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rudy_G33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We went to the Dam for my stag and all in this hotel was a good choice. We were in a room with four single beds, room was large clean and had the nespresso machine (worth its weight in gold after a drinking session). We did not do breakfast at the hotel as we would have never made it up in time, but we did do dinner and it is very good value for money (which is more than I can say for Amsterdam!). If you are staying at the hotel the nearest train station is Sloterdyke (well thats how we said it), catch the 12 tram from the station and its 2 stops down and you are there. Getting into town we got the 12 tram back to the station and got the 48 bus into town as it saved faffing about at different stops.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jockieluv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
149 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

A newish property in West Amsterdam about 15 minutes by tram from the centre. Rooms are large and well-lit, bathrooms also fairly spacious.The fact that it is "out of town" is undoubtedly a drawback, as there is not much to do around the hotel.However being new and not central the rates are very good value.
The reception staff are friendly and helpful. The cleaning, as with some many hotels, is a let down. The rooms are not vacuumed regularly and they constantly fail to replace laundry bags and lists, which is a nuisance.
The bar is ok and the restaurant large and buffet only, which I personally find a drawback as the food is rarely freshly cooked.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahungrybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
1.1 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
3.5 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.2 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
0.5 mi away
Mercure Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Property: Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Amsterdam West welcomes you in Amsterdam! It has a restaurant which is open for breakfast and dinner, and a nice non-alcohol bar for lunch, bites and refreshments. The hotel has a lounge and business centre, two meeting rooms and a parking garage underneath the hotel. Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk), and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min). Whether you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing