We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aran Irish Pub

Aran Irish Pub
Ranked #715 of 3,725 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

If you are looking for a "local" vibe, this probably isn't the place for you. it was average as far as pubs go, but we found the prices very expensive. Even more expensive than the Hard Rock cafe next door!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    205
    96
    43
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“English visitors and football”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Even though you are on vacation you cannot get away from the football if you are an Englishman/woman. The Aran has adequate coverage of the Premier League and other games on large TV screens. If you dont like watching that then the canal and bridge next to the pub with outside seating is an easier and quieter option.'An Irish breakfast at lunchtime is recommended and the place is ideal for a meeting point and feeding trough before expediting your exploration of this magnificent city.
A well run and organised pub, relaxed and buzzy at the same time. Again, it is what it is. use it as a base if your hotel is in the Leidseplein area.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SidSlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, TN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bad Service, Expensive - Finally, food was good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Went in on New Year's Eve and sat at the bar. It wasn't very crowded but I had to wait 10 minutes before the waitress acknowledged us. I asked the waitress if they had Corned Beef and Cabbage and she said "what?". I asked again if they had corned beef and cabbage and she replied "Order off of the menu, stupid". I was in shock. Then my girlfriend ordered for me in Dutch but she ordered the wrong item. We immediately (less than 30 seconds) told the waitress about the mistake and we were told that we had already ordered and there was nothing she could do about it. I said no problem but I wasn't paying for food that I didn't want. She got very angry and called a co-worker to talk to me at which point I explained the situation and he said he would take care of it. I finally did get the right food after a 45 minute wait. The food was good but each entrée was a minimum of 13 euros. Too many idiots working in this place and zero customer service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Not at all Irish???!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We visited here after having a meal in the nearby Wagamama and we were very disappointed with the place. Inside there was very little theme of anything being Irish, there was an English league football match playing on TV as we entered and the place was more like a bog standard London bar. We ordered some drinks and took a seat by the window, the view was quite good to the canal and it was nicely lit up at night. The match ended about 10 minutes after we were in the pub and we were hoping for perhaps some Irish themed music, instead we got some rock and regular radio music instead. We only stayed for one drink. If this pub did not advertise itself as an Irish pub it would pass as a simple quick stop in but if you're looking for a themed bar this is not it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank missannenoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good but expensive!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

6 euro for a pint of Guinness, that's a lot! They have great staff and the food looked good. Fantastic location with an outdoor chess board just outside. They put up the Christmas lights on Friday too and they were all chess oriented which is a lovely touch. Got a free drink on the back of being a repeat customer but for a night out there are cheaper places with better atmospheres.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EmmaH73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aran Irish Pub also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Aran Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing