We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a friendly place” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buuf

Buuf
Ranked #785 of 3,727 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not a friendly place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

The food was below par. It's basically sandwiches. The furniture is very old and fragile. I was sitting in a chair having brunch and the chair collapsed. I feel out of the chair and hurt my elbow. I am not a heavy person so I was really shocked. I was then told by the staff that it happens all the time and they were very nonchalant about it. Again, I was in shock to have been told that. They didn't even ask if I was ok. I definitely won't be going back. If you go find a metal chair to sit in.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TX_lala34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    47
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not really a restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is not really a restaurant but rather a student's cantine. There is no service, no reservation, no arrangements with tables. You need to order food at the counter and pick it up yourself. Portions are really small and very limited choice but cheap ...you don't have to wash dishes though :-) I won't recommend if you intend to have a nice dinner out. But if you are just starving and on budget that can be something ok for you. Probably is a ok place for Lunch or coffee.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danifloor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lekker! Would definitely come back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I don't usually do restaurant reviews but I have to make an exception for this place. It belies the Dutch tradition of boring food. A funky cafe complete with menus on TV screens a la MS-DOS/Space Invaders. Order at the counter and pick it up yourself when ready - keeps prices here down (and it is very reasonable). Strongly suggest the fish soup - I have had bouillabaisse that costs twice as much and tastes half as good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank viability
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious, excellent price quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Delicious burgers and sandwiches for lunch, limited evening menu but for less than 9 euros 6 choices that change every few days.... We will be back more often!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank reneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a fabulous meal. Fresh food and very friendly staff! Not at all annoyed by our lack of Dutch. We brought our kids along and they enjoyed the meal as well. Great prices!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeniffer715Jeniffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buuf also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Buuf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing